We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Casale del Cotone
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Relais Cappuccina(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Collegiata(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Michele(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villasanpaolo(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Tortoli(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Fattoria di Fugnano(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Belvedere(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Pino(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
325
61
21
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
61
21
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshost alessandrob bcourse mealbeautiful placeduring summervineyards and olive treestuscan hillslovely poolsmall hotela wonderful stayyogurtmartellituscanyviewswinecookingfeast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 417 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Everything we could imagine for our first visit to Tuscany. This wonderful quiet bed and breakfast is located amongst the vineyards just outside of San Gimignano. The family owned estate has been lovingly restored by general manager/owner, Alessandro. He worked tirelessly to make our 5 night stay memorable. Alessandro prepares dinner several nights a week for an additional cost. Both of the dinners we had were truly memorable in the excellent food, presentation, and great conversation with other hotel guests - be prepared to linger and savor each course. As far as accommodations: our room was bright, comfortable and clean. We could open our shuttered windows to let in the Tuscan sun and views. It was great to cool off in the pool on the hot July afternoons. We enjoyed the included breakfast on the patio. Our decision to stay at Il Casale del Cortone was based on prior Tripadvisor comments and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had again a very relaxing holiday at the Casale del Cotone.
The large pool is always very nice to have a swim after a warm day.
There was the interim bartender, Tim, who had always a joke ready and poured very large glasses of wine, beer and cocktails...
Alessandro was very helpful and attentive.
One day I wasn't feeling so good and he immediately brought some medicine and checked upon me on a regular basis.
Every two days Alessandro cooks for the guests. It is very good value for money and above all a lovely evening.
Our holiday in Tuscany was perfect and we would like very much to come again next year.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LucianoBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Il Casale del Cotone is a fantastic place we can highly recommend the hotel has plenty of romantic Italian charm. The breakfast is delicious.
Evenings with barbecue with Italinesk food are fantastic, it brings people from different countries together with their stories and laughter.
I will never forget Alessandro who initially had not seen our engagement, and came suddenly out with champagne and said that some birds have told him that we were engaged just a few minutes ago here at his hotel Il Casale del Cotone and that we wanted to get married soon. Alessandro says that he has been married twice and the second time is the best ... '' SO ARE YOU SURE? If you are sure, then get on your knees again I will see that again :-)
Thanks to everyone who shared this Speciel evening with us. We will always remember you and hope to see you again. And to Mike and Terese thanks for being the two birds, hope we meet you again.
We would like to thank Alessandro and his nice staff for a really good holiday. See you again soon :-)
Warm regards,
Jack & Irina

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

You cannot fault the views and location they are amazing. The Place is very well cared for and maintained.
We stayed for 8 nights and what let us down was the service or more to the point lack of people to serve. We had Carla who served us a very good continental breakfast and she also doubled up as a cleaner and did a good job of cleaning our room. However that was it really. We found Allessandro to be elusive and a bit miserable. He looked shattered and did not seem to be able to cope. He had John who did not seem to be around much and that was it. His wife is away. The pool bar opened 3 times the whole time we were there and then for a couple of hours maximum.
We found it upsetting that their dog is locked up in a large enclosure all the time and not taken for a walk.
The evening meals however when he cooked were fab.
If you want to go to Florence and not drive get a train from Certardo and it is very easy. The station is in the centre of Florence.
When you land in Florence do not hire a car from Goldcar. It took 2.5 hours to register and pick up the keys. There is apparently a way you can pay for a speedy register. They charged for a full tank of petrol and if you hire fore more than 3 days you do not get a refund. They also wanted an extra €120 to ensure did not pay the excess of €1200!!!.
Having said all this I would recommend Tuscany, don't stay in San Gimignano for more than 3nights.

Room Tip: Room 1has the terrace in the annexe. I would recommend to stay in main house.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HellWSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bimboSanGimignano, Proprietario at Il Casale del Cotone, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013
Google Translation

Spett.le Trip Advisor, con questa e-mail chiedo gentilmente la rimozione della recenzione
sopra riportata , in quanto pur essendo buona ha causato e sta' tuttora causando problemi
all'interno nel mio nucleo familiare, poiché il giudizio espresso, va oltre alla valutazione della
nostra struttura,bensi' entra nell'ambito della mia famiglia,causando disagi nei miei confronti
e di mia moglie.Le citazioni sul mio stato di salute fisica e della presenza accanto alla mia persona di mia moglie,non puo fare parte di un giudizio che deve essere prettamente relativo
alla struttura ed ai servizi offerti
Ringraziando Anticipatamente
Cordiali Saluti.
Alessandro Martelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Imagine a lingering picnic with bread, cheese, sliced meats and wine while sitting in the middle of a lush vineyard overlooking Tuscan hillsides. Truly a dream come true! Overlay a beautiful, clean B & B experience with amazing service. Then top it off with a six course gourmet dinner prepared by your host, Alessandro. Our three-night stay was the highlight of a three-week European trip filled with many wonderful highlights. We cannot wait to return for an even longer stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews