We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnifico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Casale del Cotone
Ranked #11 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Branford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnifico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our stay at II Casale del Cotone was such a wonderful experience. The hosts Alexandro & Isabella were great. The accomodations were excellent also. We have always done a tour before & we were a little skeptical since we didn't know what to expect. We have to say it was even more than we expected, great views from our window.beautiful ambiance .The eight course meals he served were the best we have ever had by far. Stayed five nights in October 2012 two brothers & wives & we would definitely return. What a great place. The only one negative would be not being able to get a cup of coffee or tea or water late at night when returning to the inn. It would be nice if there were a Kurig Coffee maker or bottle iced water available before retiring for the evening.

Room Tip: Smaller room overlooking the Tuscan Hills & Patio have a beautiful view. One of the larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AutumnNorthBranford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    58
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
74
224
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Nothing more to say, wonderful hosts, food and setting. Please don't tell too many people :-) Travelled from Pisa with my two daughters and stayed for around seven days. Execellent food prepared by our hosts, with great service, an all round excellent trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xavielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We first stayed at this wonderful place in 2009 and went back in 9/2012. Both times we had a fantastic time. The location is perfect, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are very clean, the grounds are spectacular and the food is DELICIOUS!!! We had the 7 course meal prepared by Allessandro and it was by far the BEST meal we have ever eaten. Breakfast is equally good as well. It is a must stay if you are in San Gimignano!! Also, Allessandro looks just like George Clooney!!! :)
We can't wait to go back again and again!!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichPier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a beautiful and charming inn and hosts. We spent a week here as our base , and explored the whole region. I would stay and never leave, if I could. Amazing food prepared by our host, lovely rooms, wonderfully breakfast. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is by far the most beautiful and relaxing place that I have stayed at in all of my travels! Fantastic pool, great rooms, lovely staff. Our luggage was lost while we were traveling to Il Casale del Cotone and the staff did anything they could to help us with the problem. We were able to use their phone to make any arrangements we needed. It is very close to the city itself but not directly inside which was great. The rooms are clean and cozy for a romantic vacation, a reunion with friends, or even the whole family

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTBungalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonald, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My family fell in love with this Inn. Everything about it was charming. The 7 course meal prepared by the owner was out of this world. The setting and scenery made us feel like we were in a movie.
The rooms were spacious, clean and had outside access to a lovely setting. Even the dog made the stay more special. We hated to leave and one of us (me) cried.

Room Tip: We thought we were getting twin beds, but I don't think they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The reviews for Casale del Cotone inspired us to stay here and we were definitley not let down by the location. It really is beautiful, very relaxing, stunning views, lovely pool (although to be completely truthful it could do with being cleaned!) and has loads of charisma. The surrounding countryside was also truly beautiful and everything you envisage Tuscany to be! Il casale is too far from SanGimignano town to walk though so keep that in mind when you're booking. The rooms were a good size, very comfortable and spotlessly clean, with huge bathrooms and always nice fresh towels! One slight negative was that we thought the breakfast was poor, with a limited choice and not very tasty. Alessandro's legendary bbq nights are amazing though - beautiful food and soooooo much of it - if anything too much. If you plan to attend, make sure you're absolutely famished! It really was so lovely to sit out on the patio area on a fabulous summer's evening eating gorgeous food and drinking delicious wine! A lovely way to relax when you spend the rest of the year working hard and racing around!! Most days we drove to a little deli on the outskirts of town and bought delicious fresh food for lunch and ate it by the little pool bar or outside our room.
Overall it's a little bit pricey but we had a very nice stay, made all the better by the presence of Balu the beautiful, playful lab puppy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CeireGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Casale del Cotone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casale del Cotone

Property: Il Casale del Cotone
Address: Localita Cellole Il Cotone 59, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Casale del Cotone 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farmhouses are located no more than 2,5 km from the medieval town of San Gimignano in the district of Siena. The "Casale del Cotone" as well the "Rocca degli Olivi" are surrounded by 70 acres of vinyards and olive trees. They were erected in the 17th century at the bottom of the hill where is located the ancient Roman church "Pieve di Cellole" which inspired Giacomo Puccini to compose the opera "Suor Angelica". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Il Casale del Cotone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casale Del Cotone Hotel San Gimignano
Il Casale Del Cotone San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing