We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Buonaccorsi(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$82
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$136
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bel Soggiorno(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$88
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$110
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Leon Bianco(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$102
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Collegiata(San Gimignano)
$253
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villasanpaolo(San Gimignano)
$257
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
327
42
9
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
42
9
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostscooking classcourse mealherb gardenevery eveningcooking lessongravel roadhomely atmospheretypical tuscan foodensuite bathroomfruit treesother guestsnature reservecome homedriving aroundcommon areastuscan retreat
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 391 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2016

My children stayed at Il Casolare for 5 days. (My husband and I were staying at Berta and Andrea's apartment La Roccaia...also top notch) The rooms were beautiful and Berta's evening meals were outstanding! The location is so peaceful and beautiful. And both Berta and Andrea are the best hosts. I would definitely recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: This property is a B&B....not a hotel. Would recommend any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, Proprietario at Casolare di Libbiano, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2016

Dear Ruth,
thank you so much for your lovely review. It's always a pleasure to host people that understand our hard work and enjoy our landscape and peaceful place. We hope to host you again in future.
All the best.
Berta & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed.
Your hosts Berta and Andrea are gorgeous warm and welcoming nothing is too much trouble.
Berta's food is devine "made with love "

We love this place
Pip, Tom and Charlie

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Pip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, Proprietario at Casolare di Libbiano, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Dear Tom & Charlie,
thank you for this wonderful review. We love our job and and good review make us proud of our hard work. We hope to host you again. All the best.
Berta & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016

My parents and I stayed at Il Casolare for 3 nights in mid August 2016 and had a great time. The property is lovely, with beautiful gardens, a swimming pool and lounges for lazy, relaxing afternoons. The hosts Berta and Andrea are really genuine, lovely people who cant do enough for you and the 4 course meals every evening are absolutely delicious - it was so special to be out in the countryside eating restaurant quality food, just beautiful. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Tuscany!

Room Tip: 'Studio' suite was lovely and had a nice terrace. Would be perfect for two people but a little too small for three people.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AmieHOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, Proprietario at Casolare di Libbiano, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Dear guests,
we thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our b&b and that you have appreciated our food. We wish you all the best and we hope to host you again.
Berta & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016

This was our third trip to Il Casolare and we feel like part of the family. Berta and Andrea are the most welcoming hosts, the Suite Canonica where we stayed for 10 days was extremely comfortable and quiet.

Andrea greeted us cheerfully every morning at breakfast as he made us our capuccino. We looked forward to the posting of the evening menu and anxiously awaited another magnificent meal created by Berta. The most amazing Tuscan food accompanied by their own wine. We have more pictures of food from Il Casolare than anything else.

And then there is the cooking class. Berta is so knowledgeable and so very patient as she guided 3 of us through the steps of making a zucchini appetizer which we had been served at dinner previously, the steps of making an excellent pasta, a tomato sauce which required no cooking, pollo supremo, a potato roasted with a bay leaf between the halves, and finally the art of the tiramisu. A long morning which flew by as we worked on the techniques and finally sat down to the luncheon of all that we had created.

Andrea is a storehouse of information about the area and guided us to some wonderful venues which were quiet and uncrowded. The town of Vinci with its museum dedicated to Leonardo is well worth the visit. The view across the valley toward Florence is one of the best in Tuscany.

He also had sent us to the town of Montelupo-Fiorentino on a previous trip where we connected with a ceramics business from which we now have many custom made pieces.

We felt so pampered after our 10 days, we did not want to leave.

Room Tip: The two large suites, Canonica and Dependence, in the separate building are our favorites.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, Proprietario at Casolare di Libbiano, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Dear Guest,
we thank you for your kind review. We are proud that you have passed a wonderful stay in our Suite Canonica room and that you have enjoyed our food as well.
We wish you all the best and we hope to host you onece again.
Berta & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016

We had a wonderful vacation at Casolare di Libbiano. We stayed for a week in September and really enjoyed our days. Andrea and Berta are perfect and warm-hearted hosts. Each night we had an amazing diner with fresh and homemade dishes. The food was truly superb and during our week we ate different meals every day. We stayed in two different rooms (La Rossa and Canonica) which were both comfortable and had al necessary amenities. In addition to the wonderful meals, we got a lot of useful and interesting tips for sightseeing from Andrea and Berta. They have a lot of knowledge and are happy to share it with their guests. As said, Casolare di Libbiano has a great location. Day trips are easy to make, but poolside relaxation in the beautiful garden is also a great possibility at Casolare di Libbiano. All in all it was a very nice week with wonderful hosts and even better diners. Tuscan paradise!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have Wifi. "Canonica" room is a great suite but has no Wifi. "La Rossa" room is a standard room and has free Wifi.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe_and_Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, Proprietario at Casolare di Libbiano, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Dear Joe & Sophie,
thank you so much for your wonderful review. The result of our hard work has happy and satisfied guests such as you. We are proud that you enjoy your stay.
We hope to host you again and we wish you all teh best.
Berta & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews