We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casolare di Libbiano
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$118
$104
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leon Bianco(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo(San Gimignano)
$117
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Collegiata(San Gimignano)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sovestro(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$133
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pescille(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
$93
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villasanpaolo(San Gimignano)
$279
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ristorante da Graziano(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Colline(San Gimignano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
310
39
9
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
39
9
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostscooking classcourse mealevery eveningherb gardenold churchgravel roadcooking lessonamazing mealsprivate terracefour coursesensuite bathroomfruit treestuscan cuisinenature reservedriving aroundother guests
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 370 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

From the wonderful welcome by Andrea to the farewell (very sad) two weeks later our stay was everything we could hope for. Il Casolare is located about 2.5 kms from the main road only 10 minutes from San Gimignano. It is the ideal location to explore the vineyards, olive groves and hilltop towns of Tuscany. It is situated about 1 1/2 hrs from Florence, Siena or Pisa. Perfect for a day trip.

Our room was very clean and beyond quiet! With no tv and limited technology access anywhere it is the perfect sanctuary to unwind and recharge the batteries. Over the two weeks we enjoyed sumptuous dinners one would be hard pressed to find in so called 5 star hotels. The wine selection from the house wine to excellent Brunellos will not disappoint.

We took a cooking lesson with chef Carlo and Berta which not only was great fun but opened our eyes to how to prepare pasta and sauces to die for. "Cooking with Carlo and Berta" is a must.

It became very clear Berta and Andrea love what they do. They are very warm hosts.

I had not been to Italy since 1960 and had wonderful memories. The stay with Berta and Andrea confirmed all I remembered.

We are already trying decide what time of year to return

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jowordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just returned from what turned out to be a whirlwind tour of Italy stretching from Venice to Sorrento. Unfortunately we had only budgeted two days in Tuscany. We loved Il Casolare di Libbiano. We wished we could have stayed at least a week and have vowed to do so in the near future.
I couldn't understand how anyone could write a negative review of this B&B but in reading them I realize that the "negatives" reported were definite positives for my wife and I: Quiet, off the beaten track, no TV, a perfect place to park it and just relax.
The B&B is a little challenging to find but as far as I'm concerned that is part of the adventure in travel. Somehow we always managed to find our way back "home".
Our room, the "Junior Suite Studio", was the absolute nicest room of our trip; large, nicely furnished, private patio, en suite bathroom...even though we spent very little time in the room other than to sleep.
The meals were fantastic. Again the best of our trip. Way beyond our expectations-Compliments to the chef! Plus we thoroughly enjoyed Andrea's "Special Reserve Chiante"
The location of the casolare is perfetto! Once you get the lay of the land it is a perfect home base for days you might choose to explore the back roads of Tuscany. As far as the safety of the gravel road, if their headlights work, don't know why anyone would think the road unsafe at night!
I have always loved the pictures of Tuscany with the rolling hills of vinyards with the farmhouse nestled in some trees and dreamed of how it would be to live there. At Il Casolare di Libbiano we lived the dream for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredO764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, Propietario at Casolare di Libbiano, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are really happy to know that you have good memories of your
stay, dinners, quiet, staff of "IL Casolare di Libbiano". We wait you here. Will be really a pleasure to see you both again. Our best wishes. Berta, Andrea & staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a great time in this wonderful B&B! Spacious rooms, freshly prepared dinners, a large beautiful garden with swimming pool, quietly located in the beautiful surroundings of San Gimignano. The hosts Berta & Andrea are wonderful people who are sincerely attentive and want to make your stay in their B&B unforgettable. We celebrated a 70th birthday and the stay with our family in this marvelous B&B couldn't be better thanks to the great hospitality of Berta, Andrea and their team. Certainly a place to recommend and to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Returning after 16 years, we found Il Casolare just as delightful and owners Andrea and Berta even more welcoming and helpful as they served lovely breakfasts and sensational four-course dinners worthy of many a fine-dining restaurant. Example starter: Asparagus alla Bismarck - asparagus tips and purée with a deconstructed hard-boiled egg - the yolk crumbled and sweetened and the white chopped and drizzled with herby oil. Example dessert: sliced pears poached in sweet white wine with ice cream balls rolled in chopped pistachios. In between, some lovely pasta dishes and mains such as succulent guinea-fowl and roasted shin of pork. A couple of beers in the afternoon, dinner for two with a bottle of Andrea's own very-acceptable white wine and Italian cognac to finish cost around £75 or €88. The dining-room art, which some reviewers have described as 'disturbing' and 'strange,' comprised paintings by Alfredo Beghè (1926-2001) who lived and worked in San Gimignano and was a personal friend of Andrea and Berta. 'Austere' might be a kinder description - see example photo attached. Communal rooms are nicely furnished but bedrooms are rather more 'rustic.' Free wi-fi, no air/con. A car is essential.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyurq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, Propietario at Casolare di Libbiano, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

We are very pleased because after 16 years, that you have visited us the first time, you have decided to return to "IL Casolare di Libbiano" for your holidays in Tuscany, that means that you haven't forget it and that you have good memories. Is really a big present for us to see again our guests. Many, many thanks. You are always welcome. Warm regards to you both. Berta & Andrea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Bertha & Andrea keep an excellent B&B in a splendid location in Tuscany. Accommodation is great but you need a car or other means of transport to get the best out of the area. Hosts were extremely helpful and accommodating. The bedroom and lounge areas were spotless and comfortable. The food (breakfast and dinners, if chosen, were of the highest quality and were served with charm and humour ( in several languages). Definitely a 5 star experience, and one to be repeated.

Room Tip: Some rooms require a short walk outside the main building to get to the lounges and dining room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, Propietario at Casolare di Libbiano, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your review, is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay, the dinners, accommodation and hospitality at "IL Casolare di Libbiano" and we hope to see you again here.
Our best wishes. Berta, Andrea & Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews