We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel was by far the highlight of our trip to Tuscany. San Gimignano was our first stop and we felt completely spoilt in this charming rustic Italian accomodation. The room was absolutely gorgeous (triple room) and overlooked the main Piazza. We felt like we had the place to ourselves as there are few rooms with little else apart from a small reception area. This did not matter one bit as we just wanted somewhere relaxing to stay in the heart of town to have as a base. We only stayed 3 nights and I think we could have happily stayed a week there. Even though the Piazza is buzzing all day to early evening the shutters are sound proofed so you hear absolutely nothing. Once morning we open the windows to realise a whole market had been set up and we hadn't heard a thing!
I can't wait to go back here, it was a dream.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tripple room as the price was not that different to the double and well worth the v...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissMidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you very much for such amazing review and for sharing your experience with us with Tripadvisor!

It brings us great pleasure to read that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us and you have found L'Antico Pozzo to be a perfect and relaxing base in the heart of town.

Our location enables us to offer the convenience to live our beautiful city at best, as well as enjoying an ample variety of restaurants, cafes, art galleries and nice shops.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience, we hope to welcome you back again soon at L'Antico Pozzo!

Emanuele Marro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 765 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had a great stay here for 2 nights in May. The room was very, very quiet at the back of the building and spotlessly clean. Comfortable bed and mattress and good shower. Extremely helpful staff, nothing was a problem and they gave us a couple of great suggestions for dinner, which turned out to be excellent. Beautiful breakfast. Lovely being in the centre of everything and being able to come back to this quiet haven. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara_Sydney056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for providing us with such a fantastic review!

I am thrilled to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and it has been a real pleasure to share your lovely comments with all our team

We really appreciate you taking the time to suggest L'Antico Pozzo for a great stay in San Gimignano!

We look forward to welcome you soon

Warmest regards

Emanuele Marro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The L'Antico Pozzo is a delightful, family run hotel. Located on the Main Street in San Gimignano, this wonderful hotel is close to lots of shopping and restaurants. The staff were faultlessly friendly and helpful, arranging a cooking class for us, a wine tour and recommending excellent restaurants. The room was just as advertised, large, with high ceilings and windows that open. The building dates back to the 13th century, so there are some steps but there is also a lift, a clean modern bathroom, very comfortable bed, and wireless internet. The breakfast is included offering cereal, fruits, yogurt, pastries, meat and cheese plus delicious cappuccino!

We would happily go back to visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha-John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Martha,
thank you for your wonderful review and for recommending L'Antico Pozzo on Trip Advisor,
we are thrilled to know that you had a memorable stay with us!

Thank you for being our guest, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to San Gimignano

warmest regards

Emanuele Marro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Small Hotel in San Gimignano, very well located, with excellent staff. Rooms are adequate size with a nice bathroom. Maintenance is excellent. Will come back anytime. Recommendations by
Staff were sharp and helpful. Located inside near a north east entrance to the city, while the bus station is outside at the southwest area. If you are strong and young you can carry your luggage to the hotel. Distance is not far away, but there are hills and many tourists around. So you can take a taxi or a city bus, specially if you have big, heavy luggage. San Gimignano is a small and very beautiful city and you can walk around the whole city in a few hours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Ruben27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Ruben,
thank you very much for writing such a lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at L'Antico Pozzo! It is also wonderful to hear that you have received a great service from our staff and appreciate the excellent maintenance.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards
Emanuele Marro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

It was worth every penny!
An excellent hotel, inside the city, near of everything. A very confortable room and bathroom
( the shower should be better, but nothing to harm the experience). Perfect staff treatment and excellent breakfast. If you need to park the car, make a reservantion in advance. It has an extra cost but it is the best solution.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Nickacost,
it is a real pleasure to hear your had a memorable stay at L'Antico Pozzo and I thank you for sharing your positive comments about our staff and the excellent breakfast.
I also thank you for your useful feedback, we will do our best to always assure the best shower performance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to L'Antico Pozzo

Warmest regards

Emanuele Marro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel. The staff was wonderful and always willing to help. The best help was the you tube video they sent us on how to get to the hotel by car.
We stayed in a Dante room. It was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel is located in an easy location to walk the town, and quiet. Other hotels in the main square may be noisy due to tourists, traffic and the Thursday market.... this hotel was quiet.
The hotel recommended restaurants for us each night, and every restaurant was perfect. Please try to eat local food for this town.... delicious!
Traveling outside San Gimignano is easy... we drove to Chianti two days. Try to get up early and tour San Gimignano, then travel outside the town while the bus tours are there. Return late afternoon, and enjoy a glass of wine on the patio. Roam the town in the evenings and enjoy the local food while the bus groups have left.
The hotel serves a breakfast.... it is not an "American Breakfast," don't be disappointed to see a light fare. This is the way the Italians eat breakfast. They had cereal, toast, cold meats, cheese, sweets, coffee, juice and tea. The food was really nice and plenty to start the day!
We would definitely go back and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a Dante room... large, beautiful and each room is decorated differently. Room city taxe...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Julie,
thanks so much for the great review and kind words. I'm so glad we were able to assist, and that you enjoyed so much your stay and time in San Gimignano.
Thank you for mentioning our video, available on our website, to be a good help to drive to the hotel, we hope all our Guest have the possibility to view it.
San Gimignano is indeed a great base to explore the lovely surrounding areas and come back late evening to live its magic charm.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with our future Guest

Look forward to see you soon with us again

Emanuele Marro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were very happy with our stay at this hotel. It was good value, the room was clean and comfortable and they serve a lovely continental breakfast. The location was wonderful, in the midst of the shops and eateries.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Murray64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
901 reviews
0.6 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
650 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
357 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Antico Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Address: Via San Matteo 87, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#5 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: $130 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Pozzo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish hotel in San Gimignano. Located in a superbly renovated historic building within the ancient walls of the medieval town, L’Antico Pozzo is the perfect backdrop for art lovers and travelers looking for sober and refined elegance. The peaceful and inspiring atmosphere of the hotel reflects the incomparable charm of the town that surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany
l Antico Pozzo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing