We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Il Pino(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Leon Bianco(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Cisterna Hotel(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Vecchie Mura(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bel Soggiorno(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Villa Belvedere(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Michele(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveler rating
507
266
56
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
266
56
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelyour luggagewithin the wallsancient buildinghotel is locatedperfect locationthird floorpark the carrestaurant recommendationsloved this hoteltop floortown wallsexcellent breakfasttour busessan gbeautiful townroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 847 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

AMAZING EXPERIENCE !! location is fantastic ! williness to accomodate and assist from hotel family owned staff is to leave you speachless ! Breakfast was well served and complete, good bed and linens, ample bathroom. priced extremely well for what you get and only gets better once the tour groups are gone ! will be back with the family !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkroeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Mkroeff,
thank you so much for taking the time to review L'Antico Pozzo, we strive to provide a familiar personalized service in the heart of the city and I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay!
Our sincere hope is to be able to welcome you back soon in San Gimignano

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com
+39 0577 942014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great hotel right in the middle of San Gimignano. Although parking is not available - you need to park in one of the carparks on the edge of town and then work your way in. Very convenient for when the tour groups leave in the evening. Helpful owners. Good breakfast. Inexpensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Sevenoaks,

thank you very much for recommending L'Antico Pozzo , it a real pleasure to know you had a great overall stay and we do really hope to welcome you in the very near future!
Warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com
+39 0577 942014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel last week for four nights--Saturday check-in, departure on Wednesday. First, the owners staff the front desk continually except for the graveyard shift. They are very helpful. The hotel is is in an excellent location. It is away from the main square so it is always quiet once you step inside the entrance.
If you arrive by car, you can skillfully drive in the rear gate of the San Gimi and unload at the front door of the hotel. We had driven from Milan so that information was very well received. (Note to wives--pack as light as possible.)
We checked in very late on Saturday, 12:30 AM Sunday actually, into a very hot room on the 3rd floor. Unfortunately, the small AC unit in the room had not been turned on nor was it powerful enough to deal with the August Tuscany heat from the oversized window (beautiful view of the hills) and the roof. After two nights of baking in our room at night, they allowed us to move to Room 21 on the second floor. It had a smaller window with a less of a view, but it was much cooler.
Breakfast is good. The typical spread of cold foods and cereal, but you can request eggs to order. The hotel has an elevator, but there is an extra set of three steps up and down to get to your room.
The hotel bar area is under utilized. We enjoy a lively bar where you can meet other guests, but I only saw two couples playing cards in this area once during our stay.
We were referred to an excellent restaurant, Cum Quibus, by the owners that is just around the corner from our hotel.
The value received, location, and service received are excellent.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms can be very hot based on the weather, but have the best views. Some rooms are larger than others at the same price point. The higher priced rooms are much larger. The area is quiet as it is away from the main square.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at L'Antico Pozzo! I regret for the discomfort you experienced in your first room, if we had been aware of the problem we would have offered the room change earlier. The large glass window provides a great view all year round, however when the air temperature goes higher than 90-95°F the heat might create some discomfort inside the room: we have already scheduled to add an extra cooling system to assure best comfort also in this room during the hottest days.
I agree with you about the bar area, it is always a great pleasure for us to spend more time with our Guests. However, since the Hotel is located right in the center of town, they usually prefer to sit at the many outdoor coffee-bars.

We hope to welcome you soon again at L'Antico Pozzo!

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com
+390577942014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having visited many hilltop Tuscan towns as daytrippers, the idea of actually staying in the old centre of one was appealing. This hotel was perfectly positioned and had modern facilities, friendly staff and excellent breakfasts.
Walking around the town after the daytime tourists had departed was really enjoyable and having the time to walk the town extensively rather than feeling rushed was a bonus.
While parking the car outside the town was not ideal the instructions from the hotel on arriving to drop luggage off at the hotel and then where to park and how to get back to the hotel from the parking were detailed and easy to follow.
We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you very much for recommending L'Antico Pozzo as a perfect stay inside the old center of San Gimignano, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and the quality of our breakfast. Thank you very much for your comment about directions, we invite all our Guests to visit our official website and get detailed driving informations which are not shown by the online travel agencies.
Warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I visited San Gimignano in July 2013 and stayed at the Hotel l'Antico Pozzo (the old/ancient well). We attended Andrea Bocelli's 2013 Theatre of Silence performance in Lajatico on Saturday night. San Gimignano is a good base to travel throughout Toscana. The hotel is outstanding! It is very close, inside the San Matteo gate and it is quiet. Beautiful courtyard for breakfast, included. The staff were VERY helpful and have a good command of the English language. The hotel and the well have a facinating history that you should explore yourself, rather than my telling it to you. BE SURE to visit the lower part of the well and the wine cellar, open to guests. You will truly appreciate the historic property and the events it witnessed! Again, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Room 20 overlooks the rear courtyard! VERY NICE AND LARGE! Fireplace!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis3851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are truly grateful for your high recommendation of the hotel and the staff! We are thrilled that you had a great stay and appreciated the historic charm of L'Antico Pozzo. Thank you also for mentioning the well and the wine cellar, two of the features that give our Hotel its distinctive character and that we are proud of striving to preserve. Room 20 has indeed a particular charm and is one of our most requested room. We certainly can’t wait to see you next time you visit San Gimignano!

Emanuele Marro
info@anticopozzo.com
+390577942014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews