We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service - great area -” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service - great area -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Great people that excell at customer service. Any request by any one of our group was completed quickly and with absolute perfection. What a wonderful hotel in a medieval village!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver206110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review and sharing the magic of San Gimignano out of the crowd, I do agree with you about morning walk,which is also perfect for taking amazing pictures!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at L'Antico Pozzo
Emanuele Marro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    230
    50
    13
    4
See reviews for
112
401
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The perfect place to stay in San Gimignano. The staff is great, the rooms very comfortable, and a nice breakfast to start your day. This is a great place to call home base while enjoying the Tuscany region. It is also a short drive to both Florence and Siena for day trips. San Gimignano should not be missed especially at night after the tour groups leave for the day. Great places to dine and the town is very quite and relaxing in the evening and early morning hours. When we have a chance to return to Italy, San Gimignano and Hotel L'Antico Pozzo will be part of our itinerary.
Bob & Michelle Hall

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Bob and Michelle,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your lovely review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay;our hotel is family run and we are delighted to read you had a homely feel at L'Antico Pozzo! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Emanuele Marro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel is very good at pre-empting the needs of its visitors. Firstly the web site has a very clear set of directions to the hotel including a series of step-by-step photos leading you from the approach to the town to the hotel's front door. These proved extremely useful. The reception also gave us details of nearby restaurants plus a pre-prepared map and directions to Pisa. The hotel is very charming, retaining the original features but also offering mod cons. It is best to explore the town first thing in the morning and during the evening. It is quite a tourist trap during the day but worth a visit when it is quiet. If you are in the area try not to miss the town of Volterra with remains of a Roman amphitheatre and baths as well as atmospheric streets and squares [about 30 mins drive going west].

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kippur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
222 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Service is wonderful, Breakfast is very good, the room is clean and fresh but
the shower could be better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajantte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you very much for your review, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our service; I have tried to track any issue about showers occurred on october ; we had infact to replace a spray shower head to a room on third floor after the first night stay. We do apologize if this happened to you and for not having better checked before.We hope that we can welcome you back again soon at L'Antico Pozzo and send you our warmest regards

Emanuele Marro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is such an excellent place to stay. Really nice room with a unique shape following the street curve. There was eve a day bed, which was great to simply relax on for a few minutes here and there. San Gimignano really needs to be experienced at night when it's quiet and the day trippers leave. The place takes on a very different air after dark and early in the morning. Do yourself a favor- stay here and take a morning walk to some of the higher points of town and look out over Tuscany as the sun rises. Stupendous. Then go back to Hotel L'Antico Pozzo for a great breakfast in their inner courtyard.

Room Tip: Upper floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great location in the main street of San Gimignano. Problem: no parking inside the town! Typical italian breakfest! Personnel very kind and helpful working as a family in an ancient building!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Having returned to L'Antico Pozzo after a prior visit, I was not disapointed in the quality of the hotel. The staff was most accomodating. The hotel was charming and well maintained. This hotel remains a quality establishment in the beautiful city of S. Gimignano.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWJ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emanuele-sang, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you very much for returning to L'Antico Pozzo, we are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in your next trip to San Gimignano!

Elisabetta Marro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Antico Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Pozzo

Property: Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Address: Via San Matteo 87, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#5 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Pozzo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish hotel in San Gimignano. Located in a superbly renovated historic building within the ancient walls of the medieval town, L’Antico Pozzo is the perfect backdrop for art lovers and travelers looking for sober and refined elegance. The peaceful and inspiring atmosphere of the hotel reflects the incomparable charm of the town that surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany
l Antico Pozzo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing