We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and warm hospitality in a splendid context!”
Review of Hotel le Volpaie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Volpaie
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We came with my wife to this CHARMING and BEAUTIFUL HOTEL, where we experienced a truly relaxing stay thanks to the beautiful location and the genuine hospitality of Anna and Luca, celebrated every morning by a magnificent breakfast with genuine Tuscan specialities.
Excellent starting point for excursions (with car) in the Siena region, as well as a relaxing environment if one wants to relax by the side of the swimming pool or in the lovely hotel garden. Luca can provide you with useful insights on beautiful, well-hidden treasures of the region. And as cherry on the cake, if you are a musician, you might be lucky enough to play with Luca's piano accompaniment. Truly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincenzo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 177 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms at this hotel in July 2012.
The rooms were fine - nothing special and they did make sure they got a room appropriate for our teenage boys. We picked the location as a base for visiting a variety of places and hoped that the little town the hotel was in had some things to do and some character. Truth is, it was a hotel by the highway and the town was devoid of character.
Breakfast was a bit better than average Italian with some meats and cheeses and very well done soft boiled eggs.
The pool was reasonably sized and a good break from the summer heat. Lots of chairs and umbrellas around the pool to let you relax.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Being on the side of a road, road noise kicks in at about 06:00 so you don't want a room on the road side unless you like getting up early.
The price was right and the location allowed us to visit a number of different attractions from one base, but the town could use some character.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the main road side - noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WithFamilyWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Having read the very good reviews of this hotel I booked for three nights with them. I would agree that they provide an excellent breakfast of fresh meats, cheeses, fruits, delicious yoghurts and home made pastries and breads - also the tea is excellent. The people who serve in the mornings are gay and friendly with good discreet service. Shame the person who was on duty at the desk on our arrival was a miserable grim person - I would have to say the only one I personally have come across in Italy. Our enquiries were met with single words and grunts. very unwelcoming. The room was a huge disappointment. It was stiflingly hot and stale smelling and had not been opened up for us or had the air conditioning put on. The bed was okay but filled the small room. The bathroom whilst adequate had the most ridiculous shower I have ever seen. It was so small it was an effort to close the doors. The shower had plenty of hot water but no cold water. It was so hot all I wanted was a cold shower but no chance. If you want to wash your feet you have to open the shower doors as it is too small to bend over. And no I am quite thin heaven help anyone of more ample proportions. The air conditioning machine barely worked. The man who met us on arrival showed us he had strapped a metal cooking tray under it as it dripped water - lovely. It did in fact drip water just didn't put out any cold. In this age of portable air conditioning units it is totally unacceptable to have a hotel room with this quality of conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

As long as you have a car the hotel its self is perfectly located to visit Volterra, San Gimignano and as we did to visit Lajatico and watch Andrea Bocelli in concert. It took us about 80 or 90 minutes to drive from Pisa. Set in the Tuscan hills the hotel provides a tranquil and peaceful setting in which to kick back, relax and soak up the views.

Our stay at the Hotel Le Volpaie turned out to be a slightly mixed experience, we would personally wanted to have given it a 3.5 out of 5:

The positives: The hotel and room was spacious enough, very clean and fairly priced; the shower was always hot and fresh towels were provided daily; the breakfast was excellent and the pool is perfect for a lazy day of relaxing and topping up your tan. The hotel bar provides excellent local wines at very reasonable prices, the bar food menu was small but ample in terms choices but excellent in terms of quality, although on one occasion the male staff didn’t seem too keen to prepare food from it!

The negatives: The beds in the standard double we stayed in were very very hard and uncomfortable making it hard to sleep well some nights. Some of the staff could be a little more welcoming and be a little happier when you ask for food or drinks from the bar, however all the other services staff provided were good.

On reflection we would definitely stay again as long as the Hotel would provide us with a comfy bed.

If you do choose to stay make sure you eat at the local restaurant 'Tre Archi', simply amazing food, wines and services....you won't regret eating there, but you'll regret not..!!! I personally want to go back for cooking lessons!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is very inexpensive, however I enjoyed it more than some five star hotels.
Location is very good, although you need a car. It is very close to Sienna and San Gimignano.
The hotel is very cosy and superior rooms are spacious. Book a room with a view from the balcony.
Breakfast is a very nice experience, excellent breakfast rooms with glass doors and high ceilings; food is also fantastic. Nice garden and swimming pool.
here is a nice restaurant few minutes walk from the hotel; have their homemade pasta.
The owners are charming and helpful!

Room Tip: Room with a balcony, on the top floor ( superior room )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your review, you are very kind.
We hope to see you again in Tuscany
greetings from Volpaie staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Homely, comfortable rooms with personnel keen to please and offer good advice on tours and where to eat. The breakfast was amazing, all very fresh and offered professionally.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Giancarlo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We chose this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend, which I owe a big thank you for it. The hotel is located on a hill near the main road from Colle Val D'Elsa to Volterra, about 15 minutes drive from each. It’s about 30 minutes drive to Siena and 10 minutes to San Gimignano. The room was specious and had air condition which we didn’t use because there was a nice cool breeze blowing. The hotel has a decent size pool and provides free Wi-Fi. The highlight of the stay was the breakfast. Big variety of tasty item prepare mostly by the family that own the place. We enjoyed our stay and we wish we had time to stay more days there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,262 reviews
4.1 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
659 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
512 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
665 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Volpaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Volpaie

Address: Via Nuova 9 | Castel San Gimignano, 53030, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: $81 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Volpaie 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel le Volpaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Volpaie Hotel
Le Volpaie San Gimignano
Hotel Le Volpaie San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing