We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great knowledge to take home”

Tuscan Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We teach you how to cook Tuscan-style, to discover a country and its traditions throught the taste and the smell of its cooking
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Reviewed June 5, 2014

First off, the area is just beautiful...Katia was kind enough to drive into town and lead us back to the location instead of giving directions. The background that was given and the general information on top of the techniques and recipes are invaluable. This was a wonderful experience and I would recommend it to anyone who would like to learn some true Italian cooking.

Thank littlesis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivicario, Proprietario at Tuscan Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Ciao and thank you for your review.

As i usually say, the food isn't only to feed your stomach; food in Italy is tradition, culture, history and I'm happy you bring home some more knowledge about Italy.

Ciao
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"il vicario"
in 24 reviews
"panzanella"
in 22 reviews
"pici"
in 13 reviews
"great teacher"
in 12 reviews
"bruschetta"
in 30 reviews
"fulvio and katia"
in 9 reviews
"at home"
in 30 reviews
"cooking skills"
in 3 reviews
"fun guy"
in 3 reviews
"from scratch"
in 7 reviews
"learned how"
in 7 reviews
"cooking course"
in 4 reviews
"recipe book"
in 4 reviews
"three kinds"
in 2 reviews
"white sauce"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful dishes"
in 2 reviews
"b b"
in 10 reviews
Filter

98 - 102 of 183 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

When we returned home to the US, we could not stop talking about our amazing, fun, interactive Tuscan cooking class. We really enjoyed our time, and learned how to cook a meal that I believe I will be able to replicate at home (we will see!)! Katia was a great teacher. We really loved talking with her and learning about Italy during our chit chat all day. We have such fond memories. It was hard to decide if we would do this or go see another place in Italy, but in the end, we found this day to be far more memorable.

Thank Karenmiller521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My travelling companion and I booked a cooking class at Il Vicario based on previous reviews on Trip Advisor and I can say we were not disappointed. We drove from San Gimignano and somehow managed to get lost. A phone call later, Fulvio drove out to find us and guide us to Il Vicario. There were only the 2 of us in the class so we had the full hands on treatment. We made delicious pastas and accompanying sauces, panzanella, saltimbocca, bruschetta, tiramisu and some delicious little cheese bites with honey, cinnamon and pine nuts. And then, we had the pleasure of eating all of this with a selection of delicious accompanying wines. Fulvio is a very knowlegable teacher who provided a wealth of information around the Tuscan philosophy of food and he was a large part of the enjoyment we both got from the afternoon Thanks you so much Fulvio for a day to remember . I would highly recommend Il Vicario to anyone who wants the hands on Tuscan experience.

2  Thank travlaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We really enjoyed the cooking class with a very friendly and lovely Katia, especially the homemade Pici pasta was great. We made some Bruschetta, a salad with Tuscan bread, two simple types of pasta sauces (tomato with garlic and beans with cheese) and Saltimbocca which is meat cooked in sweet wine. We learned a lot about the different ingredients and how they are used in the typical Tuscan cuisine. We enjoyed every bit of the meal, which really was a lot to eat, and can't wait making pasta ourselves at home. Special requests such as food allergies were met promptly. With the food we were served three different types of local wine and in the end we got a printed summary of the recipes we made that day so we didn't have to take notes while cooking.

If you think about taking a class, definitely do it here! Some further tipps from us:
1. Get there hungry! You will have antipasti, two types of pasta with sauce and meat and to be able to eat a bit from everything you should have an empty stomach!
2. Drink a lot of water during cooking because you will get several glasses of wine with the food. Especially the Tuscan heat and the heat from the stove may enhance the effects of alcohol. And you will have to drive to Sant'Andrea so drivers should be extra careful when they're having wine.
3. If you cook frequently and already have made Italian or Mediterranian meals, you might consider taking an advanced class. We thought most of the stuff we made wasn't much of a challenge and we cook every week, mostly recipes from all over the world so I guess we were a little to experienced for the beginners' class. But that was our fault and not Katias! Next time we're there, we'll take the advanced class!

Thanks a lot, Katia!

2  Thank Flo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivicario, Proprietario at Tuscan Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Ciao and thank ytou for your review.

I'm really happy you enjoyed and you learn somethin and I'll wait for you for the advanced or expert class!

Ciao
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We took the cooking class recently (2 couples) and it was a wonderful experience. We arrived early and Katia offered us coffee and cake while we waited for others to arrive. We learned some recipes that we will make at home. There was too much to eat, but all delicious. I would recommend this cooking class!

1  Thank Audubon137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivicario, Proprietario at Tuscan Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for the review,

coffee and cake is how the italian start the day......so it was a nice start to enter in italian style of life. Each time you'll cook italian remember of us.

Ciao
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Cooking Class also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 

Been to Tuscan Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing