We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscan Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pescille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pescille
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tuscan Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

We just spent five nights here - it was our second time staying at the Hotel Pescille. It was just as good as the first time and I would return again. The service is excellent, food is lovely, prices for various sundries (drinks, snacks) are very reasonable. The grounds are immaculately kept as is the pool and pool deck. There were several families with young children here but they did not overtake the area as the hotel has rules about running at the pool, diving etc. which we really appreciated. Lovely place to explore Tuscany from. Be sure to bring home some olive oil and balsamic vinegar sold on site!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    137
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
51
206
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ and NY, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

It took us about 5 minutes from checking into the hotel to know we wanted to stay longer. The wonderful staff kindly cancelled a night at our hotel in Rome and accommodated us for an extra night... and we didn't regret it! Hotel Pescille was our favorite place to stay during our trip to Italy. Located in a renovated farmhouse in the hills outside SanGimgnano it offers indescribable views, great service, beautiful pool/ lounges/ hammocks outside, and amazing food and wine three times a day so you never even have to leave the grounds! Our time at the hotel was the most relaxing, pleasant, and delicious we had in Europe. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momanddaughter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

My husband and I spent three nights at Hotel Pescille and we were delighted by the surrounding beauty of the landscape and views. Our stay at Hotel Pescille was a nice start to our trip to Italy. The hotel provided a restful and tranquil visit to San Gimi. The hotel provided many beautiful places to just relax in a lounge chair or hammock overlooking the vineyards. If you are looking for a place to relax and breathe in the natural beauty, Hotel Pescille will meet your needs.

The staff were very helpful to provide suggestions to any day trips or any local resturants in the area. They were friendly,courteous and responsive to our needs.

San Gimi center is a quick 5 minute drive from the hotel and we found plenty of free parking outside of the city walls with only a 5 minute walk. If you don't mind paying a few euros there are closer parking lots to the center.

The breakfast was fair in quality, but I was impressed that some of the fruit was picked daily from the lush surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessa1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

stayed in room 96 corner view to san gimignano breath taking.
very relaxing with helpfull staff,
try restaurants recommended by staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennismeggerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

We loved our stay in room 96--a corner balcony room on the ground floor, with a stunning view of San Gimignano. The room is small but made to feel airy by the large doors and windows, the crisp white bedding, and the simply-styled furniture. It's absolutely worth the few extra dollars for the mesmerizing view. Though San Gimignano is about 4k by road, it's much closer as the crow flies and we loved sitting on the balcony looking at the patchwork of olive trees and grapevines leading up to the towers of the town--you'll feel like you're in a painting!

The hotel is larger than I expected but very quiet. The ground floor has interesting nooks and crannies decorated with old farming implements and the like. The gardens don't face San Gimignano but do overlook beautiful countryside. There's plenty of outdoor furniture in numerous groupings so that you can relax in peace. There are no other buildings in close proximity.

The parking area was conveniently sized and located a short way down the drive from the reception area. If you need, you can drive up to drop your bags at the door. Driving into town was easy. We parked at lot #1, the least expensive at 1 euro per hour and just a brief uphill walk into the center.

Breakfast was the one area that let us down just a bit. The food was fine, typical Italian: yogurt, cereal, cold cuts, croissants, cake. We were disappointed to see that coffee came out of a serve-yourself machine, and though better than machines in America, it wasn't as good as a hand-made cappuccino. The dining tables also seemed out of place, rather tinny and ugly in what was otherwise a very tasteful hotel. Neither of these small disappointments should stop you from enjoying a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

Former farmhouse with an interior updated to hotel standards. Very nice grounds for sunning, pool, outdoor areas to read or write those postcards and close to San Gimignano, less than 3 miles. Ask for a corner balcony with view of the "skyline" of San Gimignano...well worth it. Staff very pleasant and good English, especially on the part of the young woman. Rooms not large but very fresh, good bedding and crisp sheets. Free parking. Internet at a cost. This seems especially for those wanting to try a bed and breakfast feel but with the perks of a hotel and staff. Breakfast good and we ate outside due to very good weather.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

Loved our recent visit to Hotel Pescille, we arrived on opening day for the hotel, so we were some of the first guests. The grounds are beautiful and overlook the valley, the town of San Gimignano (charming too) and the vineyards. The staff was gracious and helpful and we appreciated their advice on sights to see, we also visited Volterra which was a beautiful town nearby with panoramic views. A great stay in Tuscanny, which we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mec456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.2 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pescille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pescille

Property: Hotel Pescille
Address: Strada Statale 47 | Località Pescille, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pescille 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pescille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pescille Hotel San Gimignano
Pescille San Gimignano
Hotel Pescille San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing