We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect view, beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Pescille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pescille
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed for one night only. The weather was pretty kold and we could not enjoy the outside pool, but we loved the architecture of the hotel, friendly staff, cleanness, countryside...
The room is nothing special, but the very atmosphere of the hotel and the country and especially the view at San Gimignano makes you feel really wonderful!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MarijaNBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pescille
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 360 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Pros: Absolutely lovely location, peacefull, the view and perfect diner. Yes our room might need some TLC but still its heaven with pool, trees...
Cons: Breakfast its pity cause the diner was to die for.
We stayed there in July 2012 just upgrading my travel status :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katarina_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here from September 20-25 for our honeymoon. This hotel is everything you want in to have when staying in Tuscany. From the moment we booked it, this was the part of the honeymoon we were looking forward to the most. Hotel Pescille did not disappoint. We had a beautiful HUGE room overlooking San Gimignano. It was a corner room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms (one shower) and a great size balcony with a table and chairs. It is charming, homey and overall lovely. The staff go out of their way to help their guests and give great suggestions on what to do, see and even where to eat. We usually ended up talking with a gentleman names Vito, who was AMAZING. He always had great advice and a great story or two. We truly loved talking with him - he was fabulous. My husband and I usually ended our evenings with a bottle of wine (either by them or one we bought on our trips into town) outside in the front overlooking San Gimignano or on our balcony overlooking the same view (!!!!!!). The wifi is great, the best signal is in the lobby/sitting area. If you were lucky, you sometimes caught a signal in your room too :) We did not use the pool, as we were doing a lot of traveling around Tuscany. Their breakfast is okay... I did find it a bit lacking BUT the at the same time, I was too busy enjoying the grounds while sipping my coffee to care more than that.

Overall - I have NO complaints about this hotel. I WILL recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone. Please do not stop doing what you are doing, Hotel Pescille. We promise we will be back on next trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The grounds of this ex-farm house are a picture-perfect tribute to Tuscany - beautiful, serene and, while a bit stylized, capture your heart with their grape wines, pomegranate trees and views of Ethruvian hills. This is our second stay and while we were still enamoured with its charm, we couldn’t help but notice that the rooms are in dire need of some TLC: the big gap in the ceiling above a bathtub, with panels dinging dangerously over your head; the bathtub itself, with almost no corking around and black mold forming in places where corking should be; the peeling paint in a very non-rustic, but un-kept way…etc.
The staff – we were luckier than last time with the night attendant, who was nice and attentive. Not so lucky with the front desk clerk the next day, she kept us waiting with our keys in hand to check out for whooping 20 min., while she was on the phone with a contractor. Also, the hotel tried to charge 6 euro for hot water that we’ve asked for to make a cup of tea at night (our tea bags, their hot water).

Would we stay here again? Maybe, but I would certainly check other similar properties in the area first.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianTraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in an "Elite Room overlooking San Gimignano"

The hotel is built within an ancient farmhouse that has had 2 extensions, one in the 1800's and another in the 1950's. The grounds and outdoor living spaces are simply charming - with lovely old stone walls, green lawns overlooking vineyards and seating areas under vine covered pergolas. It was too cool to swim for us but the pool looked very inviting and had an attractive water feature.

Our room was on the top ( second) floor and we had a balcony with a stunning view across the fields to San Gimignano. On one evening we bought a bottle of wine from the small wine bar in the hotel and had a picnic dinner on our balcony with antipasti that we had purchased that day. It was wonderful to sit and watch the sun go down and the lights come out on in the town .

There was no restaurant functioning in the evening when we were there ( I think there is one during the summer?) On the other evening we asked for recommendations for local restaurants and the desk clerk reserved a room for us at a restaurant in the town ( which turned out to be an excellent choice)

There is no lift for guests but there is a small bag lift that they use to take your bags up for you ( handy on the top floor)

The room itself was pretty spartan. The bed was comfortable enough but the bedspread looked rather tired. The room is furnished with very simple , painted wooden tables and a wardrobe. The bathroom is small with no bench space at all but included a bath, it was very clean.

The lighting in the room was very dim and the hair dryer was hopeless, you really need to bring your own. We also had a problem here with the plugs - we had electric plug adapters to use with our electric appliances but the wall socket holes in the room were fractionally narrower than the plug so that the only place our adapter would work was in the bathroom wall socket. We have used these adapters without problems throughout Europe, the only time we've had this problem was in a couple of hotels in Italy.

The breakfast is served in the oldest part of the house. The indoor eating areas are underwhelming but if the weather is fine it is lovely to eat outdoors in the courtyard near the pool. Breakfast had croissants, cold meats and cheeses, no fruit salad on apples, bananas and grapes. There was a coffee machine but you could order coffee at the bar if you preferred.

being in a countryside location the area is very quiet and we slept very well.

If I was only rating the room, I'd have given the hotel 3 stars but the location, views and grounds lifted it to 4 stars.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room overlooking San Gimignano
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is a converted farmhouse and is just south of San Gimignano and sits on a hill overlooking the town. It is surrounded by its own vineyards which produce excellent red and white wines which are served in its small bar. The grounds are beautiful! The pool and hot tub also wonderful. We stayed 4 nights and wish we had 10. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and it was all fairly priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USNDALLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Pescille in September 2013. We stayed for just a night, but we really loved the place and wished we had spent a couple more days. The staff were very friendly and courteous. We had an amazing view of San Gimignano from our bedroom balcony. The room was very clean and well kept. The agrarian decor was interesting.

The breakfast was excellent. We had a very elaborate spread of breakfast items including pastries, omelettes, cheese, juices and fresh fresh figs from their orchard and they were delicious. After the breakfast we walked around the garden which had grape vines and fruit trees and many of them were bearing fruit. It was very relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Select the rooms with the view of San Gimignano. It is worth it,
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ram_Kudukoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,239 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
764 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pescille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pescille

Address: Strada Statale 47 | Località Pescille, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: $118 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pescille 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pescille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pescille Hotel San Gimignano
Pescille San Gimignano
Hotel Pescille San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing