We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel with Incredible Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pescille

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pescille
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Incredible Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

In this hotel you have a choice of a Garden or Tuscany view or for 10 more Euro you can have a fantastic view of San Gimignano. The room we had was very spacious and had a very large bathroom and patio. The bathroom had a hair dryer and the room had a frig. Although we stayed here for two nights in October, we walked the grounds and they are wonderful. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very, very good. This hotel has a very large free parking area and free internet. In the evening while we were there you could buy a glass of wine and sit outside and enjoy the great view of the Tuscan Hillside and San Gimignano. The hotel is a short distance, perhaps 4 KM to San Gimignano. One will also enjoy walking around the interior of the hotel and along the way to breakfast as there are many historical and old items from the early days when this hotel was no doubt a large farm building that perhaps housed several families. Their restaurant was not open, but they recommended another place quite close to eat. I would most definitely stay here again. Great place and great people working there.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of San Gimignano are fantastic as are the garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GooseSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    135
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
49
202
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our stay at the Hotel Pescile was wonderful. The hotel sits on a hillside overlooking the city of San Gimignano, Italy. The views of the Tuscan hillside were better than anything we could have imagined. We stayed for four days and enjoyed an very good breakfast each morning. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The only issue we had was with the swimming pool. After a day of touring hill towns, or Florence, or Cinque Terre we were hot and tired and we would have loved to take a dip in the pool. The only problem was that the pool closes around the dusk. All in all, I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved this place – highly recommended. We were actually only booked for one night, but asked to stay another, we were so impressed.

We spent a lot of time on the balcony. It had a small table and two chairs, and a view to kill for, overlooking San Gimignano and the vineyards below, like something out of a movie. It's just some of the best scenery we saw on our trip. We sat with a few bottles of wine bought directly from the little bodega downstairs (they do tastings too), and a few tasty nibbles bought from the town in the day.

The buildings and gardens are immaculate and every angle is photo worthy. Also check out the lounge areas and their art / antique collection at ground level, some very cool stuff there.

Parking was easy, and there was even a pull up area at the door that made loading and unloading luggage really convenient.

I saw that a few people weren't happy with the rooms – yes, the rooms are very basic, but they are clean, safe, the bed is comfy, there's plenty of hot water, and there's even a little chair and a mini fridge – you have everything you need. Yes, it could do with a little refurbishment, but it's not worth complaining about. I've definitely paid more to stay in much worse.

Also, I noticed a few people complaining that there was no food service – San Gimignano is an easy 3km drive away, with a bevy of amazing restaurants. Yes, you park outside and walk in, but it's a matter of a 1 minute flat walk, if that, from the car park to the gate, and it's very safe. We ate twice, at around 11.00pm at a gorgeous little place called Trattoria Chiribiri, that's open until midnight, just inside and to the left of the entranceway, that was amazing (wild boar stew, and rabbit - some of the food highlights of our Tuscan trip).

We didn't use the pool or spa while we were there, but they looked very clean and had it been warmer, we'd have been in there like a shot.

Breakfast was generous and had a little bit of everything – pastries, juice, eggs, cereals, tea, coffee, etc.

Stay here, and book a lovely balcony room - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights as we had planned to travel in the area and wanted to come back to the same hotel. We had a very nice time, the restaurant has a great menu and the food is excellent. I had the best bruschetta ever. The room was very nice and very spacious. The views out the windows were none other than the Tuscant hills. Picture perfect.
The hotel is very close to downtown San Gimignano, a mediaval town which we adored. The staff is nice and was very please to find someone that spoke french. It was very appreciated. The location is great if you want to go to Pise, Lucca, Modena and Bologne where we enjoyed visiting the museum of Lamborghini and Ferrari.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascouche, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent 4 days, this place is wonderful. The view at night front the front deck of Sam Gimignano is one of the best I have seen. The breakfast are good but not a lot of variety especially when you spend 4 days. The infiniti pool is great but the SPA was broken and according to an employee, the owner did not want to repair it.Staff is great and helped us with excellent suggestions. Try and get a room that has the view of Sam Gimi....., the other side is OK and quiet but not as nice. Rooms are big and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thig3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely views of town from this rural Tuscan setting. Five minute drive or nice 45 minute walk into
San Gimignano. Good art one the walls, excellent collection of old agricultural tools, excellent
breakfast, good sized room and bath, private outside terrace, nice hotel grounds, pleasant and
helpful staff. Best three star hotel in Italy perhaps.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have been staying at this delightful and peaceful haven near San Gimignano for the last fifteen years or so. Located among vineyards and olive trees, this elegant yet simple hotel will fulfill your needs for peace, friendliness and very decent food, only three kilometers from bustling San Gimignano. The location is perfect, the view of San Gimignano in the distance breathtaking, the family staff who owns and operates it feels just like family, and the wine bar is a delight.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gimignano
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
1.2 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pescille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pescille

Property: Hotel Pescille
Address: Strada Statale 47 | Località Pescille, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pescille 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pescille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pescille Hotel San Gimignano
Pescille San Gimignano
Hotel Pescille San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing