We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Toscana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Toscana”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel is in excellent position, close to San Gimigano, 5 min walk. Rooms (std with a view is a best buy) are clean and comfortable. Professional and helpful staff, excellent breakfast.
We stayed for 7 nights traveling around and returning every day for a pleasant dip in the pool. Parking available and free just on the side of the hotel. If you drive Ferrari you wont mind paying 13 euros a night for the front parking. WiFi is 3 euros for the whole stay and working fine on all property.
Quiet place to rest after a long day around.
We shall return for shure

Room Tip: On the side towards pool and with view (which is a must) you have small rooms with huge terraces and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branislav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    199
    56
    16
    11
See reviews for
79
418
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful holiday in Italy including 3 nights at Relais Santa Chiara. The hotel staff are extremely welcoming and helpful, advice on how to find the hotel on arrival by bus and help pre-booking a special meal for my birthday. The smaller room was a little 'tight' and got a wee bit warm after a hot day (especially for those of us from less sunny climes) so if you do have the means, maybe choose an upgraded room. However it was clean and the bed was very comfy and we did have a balcony with the most wonderful view of the beautiful countryside and the pool area. The hotel is perfectly situated in easy walking distance to the town, a welcome stroll after a delicious meal on an evening with great views. Breakfast was tasty and enjoyable on the outside terrace in the perfectly maintained gardens and pool area. Thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing retreat and would certainly return in the future. Big thanks to the lovely hotel staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Perfect location with short walking distance to San Gimignano. Make sure to get a room with a view of the countryside, it is fantastic! After 3 nights in Rome we rented a car and drove north. We spent 6 nights in Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, and the location was perfect for exploring Toscana in all directions. Lovely to start the day with a nice hotel breakfast outdoors before setting off sightseeing Toscana. After a busy day sightseeing it was nice to be able to return to the hotel in the late afternoon and relax in the hotel gardens by the pool before trying out one of the recommended restaurants in San Gimignano.
The hotel staff were very friendly and the reception gave us good recommendations for places to visit, and things to do. One day was spent on a hike in one of the Nature Reserves, and it was time well spent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Can't wait to go back. This is not about the room itself, which is quite pleasant, but very basic. Firm beds, shallow pillows, sparse furnishings. Bathroom is bigger than what is common in Europe, and just fine. It's about the location. An easy and very pretty ten minute walk to town. A perch above a Tuscan valley. A mockingbird nesting in the evergreens in front of the small balcony, doves cooing in the evening. So peaceful. We go to Hawaii yearly, and this may sound nuts, but this place reminded me of Hawaii. That same incredibly relaxing vibe in the midst of stunning natural beauty. Most relaxing part of a remarkably relaxing European vacation. We've been to Europe several times, and while it is always an awesome adventure, it is not usually relaxing in the way Hawaii is. Back to the hotel: Neatly manicured grounds. Pleasant staff. We got caught in the rain on checkout day and they gave us an extra hour with no problem. Really loved the whole experience. Little dings: There was a hint of a sewage smell in the public areas headed to the second floor, but absolutely nothing of it in the room. Not a big deal. And the breakfast was just OK. But at the price and considering the location, I'd go back in a heartbeat.
--

Room Tip: A view is definitely worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relais S, Responsabile reception at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dearest Guest,
We thank you for your appreciation and for describing so nicely your experience in our Hotel. We are glad that many of our guests really appreciate our efforts to make your holiday in Tuscany an unforgettable and unique experience. The relaxing and peaceful atmosphere, the closeness to San Gimignano and to the most beautiful towns in Tuscany, our staff always helpful and friendly, are all to create a best holiday for you! But to be compared with Hawaii… that is really special!
We are sorry if you had a little inconvenience with a smell, that we have soon taken steps to eliminate.
We really can’t wait to welcome you again for a new pleasant holiday!
Kindest regards
Dania and the Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have been to many hotels around the world and this was definitely one of the best in terms of cleanliness, helpful staff and stunning views. I stayed for 5nts and thought our room was of a reasonable size, the balcony was quite small but the view was amazing! Their are well kept gardens and pool which are great to relax by. The staff were always happy to help with planning trips and local info. Breakfast had a good choice. The location is great to walk into town in the evening for dinner where you have a fantastic selection of restaurants to suit everyone's tastes and budget. I can see why the hotel has so many repeat guests, I hope to return 1 day to explore the Tuscan countryside further :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relais S, Responsabile reception at Relais Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for your kind remarks which make us feel good and proud of our service and location. The breathtaking views from some of the rooms and the communal areas give a taste of the natural beauty of Tuscany. We keep our gardens and pool as much as possible in tune with the surrounding!
We have many repeat guests that love to immerse themselves in our peaceful atmosphere and we always love to see them time after time, as we have developed a real friendships over the years. We look forward to welcoming you again to enjoy San Gimignano, a relaxing and lovely location with all the modern comforts and services of our Hotel.
Warm regards
Dania and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Another stay at the Relais Santa Chiara, San Gimignano, Tuscany. As wonderful as ever.
The situation is perfect, just a three minute walk to the old town itself but in a peaceful locality. Views across the Tuscan valley just perfect.
The staff are extremely friendly, efficient and knowledeable. Erika, on the front desk is exceptionally helpful and seems to know all there is to know about the near and distant surroundings.
Fully recommend it to anyone considering a visit to Chiantishire.
Book directly with the hotel and request a small room with balcony overlooking the valley.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent our last holiday in San Gimignano, Toscana, and we spent three nights in Santa Chiara hotel. Our stay there was great - the hotel is well located 5 minutes walk from the south gate of San Gimignano, and close to other places of interest in the region. The service is outstanding, the place is always clean and a rich breakfast is served daily for a very reasonable price.

It is highly recommended to come with a rented car in order to travel around Toscana - it's 35 minutes drive from Siena, 50 minutes drive from Florence and 1:20 hours from Pisa.

The rooms are small but functional - so if you want to spend some time in the room this is not the place - however there is a superb balcony and pool at the entrance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,194 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 30 in San Gimignano
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 30 in San Gimignano
612 reviews
1.3 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#19 of 30 in San Gimignano
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 30 in San Gimignano
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Chiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Chiara Hotel

Property: Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Address: Via Giacomo Matteotti 15, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Santa Chiara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Santa Chiara is a charming and elegant hotel located in the heart of the rolling hills of Tuscany, between Florence and Sienna. The hotel looks over the splendid, peaceful countryside towards Volterra and is situated just 400 mt. below the city walls of San Gimignano, a town of fairy tales with its 14 medieval towers that testify to a fascinating past. In addition, the strategic location allows one to make day trips to all the major cultural and artistic sites of the surrounding area. The hotel offers 40 rooms, made up of 4 different room types either facing the rear garden or facing the splendid Tuscan countryside. Many rooms have beautiful balconies and our superior rooms have bath with hydromassage. All rooms have air-conditioning, digital TV with international channels, hair dryers and mini-bar. Other services include private parking, a meeting room with a capacity up to 60 persons, Mediterranean garden filled with olive and cypress trees that encompass the swimming pool, which includes a separate, heated mini pool with hydro massage and an inviting and well stocked bar serving an array of beverages and a variety of snacks and light meals. The breakfast is a complete buffet that will certainly satisfy the biggest morning appetite. In the summer breakfast and bar service are available outside on the terrace. Particular attention has been given to the hotel’s furnishings. Some of the most prestige materials make up the guest rooms, such as brier wood and national oak. The public areas breath an atmosphere that’s classic Tuscany. Florentine terracotta covers the lobby which is integrated with a colorful pastel marble mosaic. The famous Serena gray stone is another dominate element found throughout the hotel, like the reception desk and the grand fireplace. Activities available nearby are: walking itineraries departing from the hotel, guided tours of the historic centre, scooter rental, wine tasting (come with light lunch), cooking classes, tennis, horse riding and a 27 hole golf course 18 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Santa Chiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Santa Chiara
Relais Santa Chiara San Gimignano
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing