We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cantina Del Convento - CLOSED

La Cantina Del Convento
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Mexican, Wine Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Avoid it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

You will look at the entrance and see a menu with several tasty small eating things. And that includes the Tagliare Toscane that we had (which is not bad at all and huge sized).
The TRAP here is that you can only TASTE the wine that there is for sale. You CANT actually enjoy a bottle or even a regular glass of wine but just ULTRASMALL bits of OVERPRICED 30ml (ONE swallow) of wine. To have wine while eating that whole Tagliare we would have to spend tons of money and stand up at least 20 times to fill up the tasting glass on the tasting machine that charges a card the lady gave us.
A complete NONO!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tchello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    47
    16
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best wineselection !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

If you want to taste and buy good wine,go here!
The service is the best in town!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sidsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Having looked at the reviews for this place we thought we would give this a go. The place only had one other table of two who left soon after we arrived but other than the young waiter who took our food order, no one else made us feel welcome. The wine tasting is through a wine card and machine system, rather impersonal. A nice way to try little samples (30ml) ranging from 1 euro 40 to 8 euros - so quite expensive overall.

We had 3 antipasti dishes to go with the tasting - lentil soup (ordinary - my OH described it as Heinz like), olive oil on bread (oil quite nice) and a salami platter of wild boar which was nice.

Given that there was not a rush of people to serve I felt they could have taken some time to talk us through the wines and give more service. Shame really as we were looking to buy some bottles.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank pastainumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Wine and food tasting at its very best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Our customers from the Via Walking September tour felt Lorenzo's wine and food tasting was one of the highlights of their visit to San Gimignano. We will certainly include it on each of tours on 2012
Lorenzo has the genuine warmth and knowledge to advise yet not dominate with his very generous wine and Tuscan food tasting
The atmosphere either in the enoteca or the cellars below reflects the centuries old convent, worth a visit just for this experience

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViaWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

A wonderful place to stop in for wine tasting and lunch. The food was delicious. Lorenzo welcomed us with open arms, sharing with us his own wine and giving us a tour of the cellar.

Helpful?
Thank ElizabethandLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina Del Convento also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing