We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food, away from the crowds”
Review of Echoes

Echoes
Ranked #11 of 130 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent food, away from the crowds”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A pleasant and friendly place to eat, a short walk away from the crowded and pricey tourist streets.
5 of us ate there and all happy with food, relaxed atmosphere and owners special cocktails and artisan beers

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twoflower67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    207
    34
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice & large bruchettes”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Very nice quiet bruschetteria, pub, wine bar for eating delicious and large bruschettes. Owner is a bit shy but very friendly.
A Pink Floyd lover as well. Small but cosy place with good food & drinks. Far away from the touristic area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warm, Inviting, Friendly & Delicious!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We wandered down the less trodden paths in the hope of finding a quiet cozy place to eat WITHOUT the mass of tourists that are usually swarming the main streets. And we came across ECHOES. What a warm cozy nook with no annoying crowds. We were given a table and promptly served. The choice of brushettas(61 in total) will easily please anyones tastes! All 3 of us were so pleased with our meals, the flavours of the tomatos and sausage (authentic Italian sausage NOT crusty supermarket garbage) was to die for. The owner Pierre recommended a particular wine that was perfect to accompany our meal. We struck up conversation with him & also another young coupe that came in after us & it was just pleasant & fun experience. Grazie mille Pierre!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaver82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bruschetta & Vernaccia Oh Yeah”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The host was fantastic he pointed us to a great bottle of Vernaccia when I asked for a bottle of Vernaccia Reserva and he was clean out of Reserva but he was right it was a great bottle of wine, it complimented the to different bruscetta that the wife and I ordered. The decor and background music was great. The food was fresh and tasty as we have come to expect the food industry in Italy.Can't compliment the host enough he was fantastic this establishment is tucked away in one of the back allys of San Gimignano hunt it out or ask a local where to find ECHOES it is worth the trouble.FANATASTICO
Bud & Ann (NZ)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank budgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heartbreaking... ci ha rotto il cuore {e non solo}.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

E' ovvio che il propretario tiene tanto di Pink Floyd, e' un peccato che non si interessa proprio di cibo toscano. Il giorno che siamo venuti faceva tanto freddo... volevo solo un piatto caldo e sostanzioso. Oltre la bruschetta (e antipasti) hanno solo 4 piatti-- tutte zuppe. Volevo tanto la ribollita; non c'era. Volevo la zuppa dei ceci, non c'era. Ho chiesto poi la zuppa di pici e anatra, ancora niente. L'unico piatto disponibile era la zuppa di farro: ovviamente l'abbiamo preso tutti perche era l'unica rimasta.

Il propretario ci ha parlato tanto- e' un personaggio. Ha parlato di quanto buona e' la ribollita (pesante considerando che avevamo fame e non c'era di mangiare), di quanto e' difficile tenere tanti porzioni perche a volte vanno sprecati e che lui voleva "concentrarsi" sulla bruschetta. Certamente la tradizione fiorentina ha tanto da offrire, la bistecca fiorentina, ecc. Un piatto buono non deve essere di lusso, pero avevo la sensazione che voleva "concentrarsi" sulla bruschetta perche si tratta solo di mettere un condimento sul un po' di pane senza tanta fatica. Ho capito che la ribollita e' "complicata", ma quando un cliente paga 8 eur per una zuppa credo che il ristorante si incassa 7 eur... e' un furto. Quel poco che fanno potevano fare bene.

Volevo il tiramisu, pero c'erano solo 2 porzioni rimasti, ed eravamo in 4... (Abbiamo mangiato 1/2 tiramisu a testa, era ottimo.)

Abbiamo chiesto poi 4 caffe'... guarda caso la macchinetta si e' rotta ieri. Insomma dopo un viaggio di 3 ore della citta nostra, siamo venuti a San Gimignano affamati, e siamo andati affamati. Nel fra tempo abbiamo speso circa 50 euro.
_____

It's obvious that the owner loves Pink Floyd, it's too bad he doesn't care as much about about Florentine food. I've read the other posts here. I live in Italy, and I'm telling you that all Italian restaurants offer solid vegetarian options, have have owners that speak passable English, and have a quiet environment. San Gimignano IS lovely, but that's not at all related to the sad state of this restaurant.

We came on a very cold day, and just wanted a warm plate of food. Other than bruschetta and cold cuts there are only 4 dishes offered- all soups. The ribollita (a traditional dish) was sold out, so was the pici soup with duck. The chick pea soup was also sold out, leaving us with just the barley soup. (Think retirement home cafeteria) The owner talked a long time about how difficult it is to own a restaurant, but honestly considering that the margin of profit on an $9 bowl of soup is about $8, how badly should one feel? If you want food that doesn't involve any effort on the part of the people making it (the cold cut platter was good, as well as the wine and cookies at the end)... this is the place for you. As far as dessert goes I have to say that they had 2 portions of tiramisu left, which we divided in 4. The coffee machine was broken, so we skipped that as well...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Echoes also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Echoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing