We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great agriturismo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo La Lucciolaia
Certificate of Excellence
San Gimignano, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great agriturismo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is all that you could wish for when staying in an agriturismo. Christina gave us a warm welcome when we arrived for a 3 nights stay. Lovely rooms, good service, great pool, great views on san gimignano and the wineyards and very tastefull breakfast and diner served with nice wines from the own winehouse. After our 3 nights we went to Palagetto di Sotto, really nice as well and the same words as above. Closer to san gimignano and a little bit more noise from the nearby road. Samantha gives a warm welcome aswell and we really loved staying in both houses. Ciao Bianca & Mike

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneeuwdude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    64
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
77
227
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We chose La Lucciolaia for the first 3 nights of our two weeks in Italy. We could not have chosen better as it set a standard which was never beaten on our trip. Cristina made all the arrangements for us faultlessly and, along with the rest of the small staff, could not have been more helpful. The room was clean and spacious with excellent (and necessary in July) air conditioning, but we spent most of our time there either at the pool side or on the terrace where our meals were served. The food was nothing short of excellent (with the chef receiving a deserved round of applause on our last night!) and was complemented by the Agriturismo's own superb selection of wines. We unreservedly recommend this venue which is ideally situated for visiting San Gimignano and other Tuscan hilltop towns as well as "Chianti Country". We certainly intend to return!

Room Tip: All rooms very good as far as we could tell but those with views towards San Gimignano are slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I visited for three nights in July and really loved staying at Argiturismo La Lucciolaia. It was exactly what we expected from their website photos. Even better!

We stayed for dinner all three nights and the food and company were great. The views of San Gimignano were wonderful.

Christina handled all the details for the booking with precision. Once we arrived, she always had a few suggestions on places to stop and see along the way.

We will certainly return!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of San Gimangno
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1HappyTravellerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Agriturismo La Lucciolaia for two days at the end of July. The view from the property and around it was postcard perfect. It was complicated to get there and we decided to eat there. The food was plentiful, and fresh and the service was delightful. We learned about the food and the wines of the region. The culture is inclusive and we met people from Europe and North America. We stayed in Fiordalsio, the room was comfortable and clean. It is not fancy.
Having the swimming pool accessible to us was wonderful. It was super hot! All in all it was a delightful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Let me start by saying - what a awesome place to stay. Getting here was an experience and being my 1st time driving in Europe - it was very stressful. The roads are narrow, hair pin turns and require all your senses, plus driving a manual after many years adds to a stressful trip. However once you drive down the narrow road and see the property sitting atop the hill - all is soon forgotten. The views are breath taking, rolling hills, grape vines adorn the hills and a small city is off in the distance.

The dinner was fantastic and the wine pairings worked out really well. The staff accommodated several individuals with vegetarian offerings. For the others we enjoyed a simple but elegant meal consisting of the following: starters were a antipasti plate paired with a white, the main meal was a Texas sized steak (see photo of them on the grill) which was split at the table, the potatoes, green beans and cabbage was fresh and tasty, the pickled tomatoes green beans and zucchini was very flavorful and was matched with a smooth red. Delicious!!!

Internet - not available in the rooms, only by the pool and outdoor common dining area.

My only complaint is the showers, very little water pressure and the temperature changes frequently, no middle temp. Probably related to the usage of all the guests trying to shower before bed.

The staff is amazing and courteous.

Well worth the $$$ and time to get here.
Make sure you bring a snack and water with you - after all you are in the country and nothing is close by...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saintsfan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at La Lucciola in July. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was very good and the evening was very good with a plentiful supply of wine. There was no choice for the evening meal but they catered for special requirements.
The location is perfect with a lovely pool overlooking the vineyards and San Gimignano in the distance, an enjoyable 40 minute walk or 10 minutes by car

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights but wish I could have stayed longer. The room is very comfortable, all the modern amenities but still maintaining the rustic charms. Great comfortable bed, clean and spacious bathroom. Sunlit in both bedroom and bathroom. The surrounding of the property is gorgeous. i don't have the view of San Giminano but the other rooms do, still I have the view of the vineyard and the rolling hills. it's what you imagine when you think of tuscany.

We reserved the dinner on the property and it's delicious. It was a full course meal with appetizer, entree, desserts, coffee and wine from the property. People here are very friendly, helpful. It definitely made the stay here memorable. It has a big swimming pool looking into the rolling hills.

The palce is not hard to find if you follow the direction from the staff (not the GPS). It's about 10 minute drive to San Gimignano old town.

We would love to come back and stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank willoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#6 of 111 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
3.3 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
1.3 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Lucciolaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Lucciolaia

Property: Agriturismo La Lucciolaia
Address: Loc. Casaglia, 30, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Agriturismo La Lucciolaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Lucciolaia San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing