We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really tasty!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria La Loggia

Trattoria La Loggia
Ranked #40 of 126 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our Restaurant is based on high quality products and typical Tuscan " excellence " mostly produced by local firm or directly by small organic farmers from the surroundings . We are specialized in 100 % organic " Bruschette " ,tuscan style pasta,soups,local sheep cheese,hams an salami ,tuscan meats,fresh salads and ancient varieties of thomatoes . Due to the limited tables availability clients (people) are kind recomended to reserve in advance (by phone or e-mail).
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Really tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a great time in this restaurant. Food is excellent and they use organic ingredients so you can just make the difference as flavors are amazing. I can say that we tasted the best bruschettas in the area and pasta is also worth trying. Portions were quite big and this is really appreciated considering there are lots of restaurants where they serve small portions... Staff is young and nice. Though it's a bit hard to find since is located outside the walls of San Gimignano near a Coop supermarket but I can say it's worth eating there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayJay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    112
    43
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nowhere, NJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I travel to Italy often and have been to San Gim several times but this was my 1st visit to La Loggia. It's not the easiest place to find but they do have signs posted to follow. It's UPhill, as most things in San Gim are. But the view was spectacular. The service was great and the food was absolutely delicious! I will most definitely return when I go back! For what we ate (and drank!) the bill was extremely reasonable. It was worth the trip! Lovely!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeLeeNowhere_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real italian experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

What an amazing experience! During our stay in San Gimignano, we ate here various times as it becomes extremely hard to beat!
The familial nature of the staff and the food outshines any other! The food was spectacular, particularly the antipasto platter which was served with this fabulous home-made marmalade by the waiter's mama out the back. The taste is unforgettable. Thanks for the memories!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank becsiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were introduced to this place by our host in San Gimignano. We were staying 3 weeks in the area and we are picky foodies. THIS PLACE ROCKED!! At our first visit sweet Fillippo attended to us and about every time after that as well. His mother does the cooking and boy is she talented! We had the very best meals in Tuscany right here! We loved the bruschetta pomadori , the pici with cheese and black pepper was the best and so was the ribolitta. And we tried these same typical Tusacan dishes at many a place....some much more expensive than La Loggia. Our last couple of times we enjoyed the rabbit with an incredible mustard rosemary sauce and the lovely side dishes of spinach and roasted potatoes. Don't be misled by the location...it is on the outside of the main village and may not have the best view in town, but the service is very friendly and Fillippo speaks very good English, but more importantly...it is the best food we experienced in San Gimignano and in other parts of Tuscany...better than Siena, Lucca, Volterra...THIS IS THE PLACE TO EAT!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect last night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Before leaving Italy we wanted a simple comfortable restaurant where we could just relax, eat good food and not feel we were surrounded by tourists.

Trattoria La Loggia hit the spot perfectly.

Great food; good wine; service that felt like you were in your living room with family (and i mean that as a huge compliment)! This was just what we were after and i would re-visit without a moments hesitation.

Also, if you go after 7pm, you can park in the co-op car-park for free. Just remember to dial up your parking time on your windscreen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenofthebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria La Loggia also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Trattoria La Loggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing