We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect from start to finish”
other travelers have booked this property
Casa Florio - a beautifully tasteful restored ancient farm building with shared swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Florio - a beautifully tasteful restored ancient farm building with shared swimming pool
The magnificent pool area with open views of the countryside The spacious lounge area, tastefully furnished with open hearth fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Casa Florio - a beautifully tasteful restored ancient farm building with shared swimming pool
The magnificent pool area with open views of the countryside
The spacious lounge area, tastefully furnished with open hearth fireplace
The master bedroom with four poster bed
The light and airy twin bedroom
The fully fitted kitchen with modern appliances and beamed ceilings
The beautiful pool area
The private garden with ancient (sealed) well feature
Seating area with table and views of the open countryside to the west
The bathroom with shower, wc, bidet, handbasin and automatic washing machine
Casa Florio private garden
The dining area of the lounge with comfortable leather chairs
A stunning sunset over the pool
One of the magnificent views from the swimming pool
The fabulous view from the garden
The private garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ChiefCake...
Mold
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect from start to finish”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a perfect find! The apartment is perfectly located between the main areas I wanted to visit [Florence, Pisa and Siena].
The apartment was spotlessly clean and well appointed with all that my friend and I needed for our stay; it was refreshing to find a cooker which consisted of more than two hobs [which is what you tend to find in many rental properties] and a good sized fridge. The bedrooms were again spotlessly clean and the bed was so comfortable that I could have happily hibernated until summer!
I can't 'wax lyrical' enough about the customer service, too; Steve, the owner was so helpful, providing us with information to help us to make the most of our trip. He even recommended a wine tasting location where we spent the afternoon [and had discount to boot!]. It was absolutely perfect; thank you, Steve.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the apartment met your expectations, especially the cleanliness and standards of equipment. These are very important aspects of your holiday accommodation and I work hard to maintain the highest standards. The wine tasting is new this year and I hope to enjoy a visit myself soon. You will always be very welcome at Casa Florio.
Best Wishes
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Isolated sunset heaven”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As we sit in Rome airport with a 2 and half hour delay, we can only wish we were back here watching the stupendous sunset again at this great location. Apartment was well equipped with all the basics to self cater. Steve the manager gave us excellent directions which you will need to find this off the beaten track retreat(approx. 20 minutes from Volterra and San Gimignano). All other information he provided was excellent. Pool area was lovely with stunning views of surrounding countryside. If splendid isolation is on your tick list this is for you. Word of warning the unmade road to the complex of about 12 apartments is very rutted so don't hire a low wheel based car! And have to mention once again sunsets from this location will take your breath away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, of your stay at Casa Florio. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed those wonderful views. The apartment is off the beaten track but you describe the benefits of the views wonderfully. Since your visit there has been some maintenance on the road to fill the holes and more comprehensive maintenance of the gravel surface will take place in the spring next year. You will be very welcome should you wish to return in the future.
Best Wishes
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocolatec...
Nr Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Florio is a small 2 bed apartment ideal for 2 people.
It is in a stunning location if you can cope with the 2kms of unmade pot holed track from the main road!
The apartment is really well equipped. The pool area is as described.
For us the big drawback was that it was in a block of 4 apartments. Located on the 1st floor with another on the same level and 2 below. All were in use whilst we were there. The ground floor apartments outdoor seating areas are located directly below Casa Florio's bedroom windows. It was very hot whilst we were there and as there is no air conditioning this meant the windows needed to be open resulting in some noisy evenings, with other guests often still outside below our windows well past midnight. Even though they were talking in normal tones it was as if they were in our room. Again not a problem if you to like to sit outside until the small hours but it is a problem if you want to try to sleep. Had we realised this we would have looked elsewhere.
Steve, the accommodation manager was very helpful and responded quickly and efficiently to any enquiry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
Thank you for your review and I know that we have exchanged e-mails since your return. I was sorry to hear about the noise disruption and wish you had contacted me during your stay so that I could have taken immediate action to deal with it. You have commented positively about the speed of my responses and I would have welcomed the opportunity to make your stay more peaceful. I do recognise that you may have assumed that this was a detached property and will update the website to clarify that it is in a building with adjacent apartments.
Best Wishes
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay W
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place to explore Tuscany”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Casa Florio is a beautiful apartment in the heart of Tuscany and a perfect place to explore the area. There is a private and pretty garden with two seating areas to enjoy the views across miles of countryside.
The apartment is well-appointed, spotless and comfortable with everything you are likely to need and we found the whole place very peaceful and relaxing.
From your arrival at the airport right throughout your holiday there are helpful instructions and tips from the right roads to take, to the best restaurants and cafes. Steve the property manager could not have done more to make our holiday first class.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: I liked it all
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Thank you for your great review about Casa Florio and the lovely comments about the support I provide to my guests. It's important for me that that you are not left 'guessing' about anything so that when you arrive you are already 'familiar' with the house and area. Your comments are very much appreciated. It was also a great pleasure to meet you and your family for the few days that we were staying in our own apartment on site. I hope you will decide to come back at some time and explore more of the beautiful Tuscan countryside.

Warm Regards

Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatjoeNz
nz
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Tuscan retreat”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A beautiful spot. Views and pool amazing. The house is well equipped with good quality furnishings and linen. Local towns are delightful, and trips to major cities well within reach. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the house and that you would recommend Casa Florio. I hope that you will be able to return at some time in the future - you will always be very welcome.

Warm Regards

Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen K
Gananoque
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Tuscany retreat”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The pictures and description were extremely accurate. We travelled to Cinque Terre from here and did day trips to nearby towns. The views are stunning and each night you are blessed with a different gorgeous sunset.
Also dealing with Steve made everything a breeze.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location, views & sunsets
Liked least: dirt entrance road
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found Casa Florio met your expectations. The views are one of the best aspects of the site so I am glad to hear you enjoyed the way these change with the light conditions. By way of an update the access road has now been repaired and whilst it is still gravel (a requirement of this type of road) the bumps and holes and now been filled and leveled to make it easier to use. I look forward to welcoming you back to Casa Florio in the future. Best Wishes.
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren W
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered !!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely apartment and fantastic location - my family and I have had a super week at casa florio. The two bed appartment was clean and well equipped, can't fault it , it had everything we need for a weeks stay . The views from the first floor and sunsets are simply breath taking . Nothing was better than sitting down at the end of the day watching the sunset with a nice glass of chanti!
The area itself is stunning , with the local medieval towns of volterra and San Gimgi are just a simply delight to eat out or explore - this is our 2nd to the area - lets just say it won't be our last . If you love italy, rolling hills , beautiful vistas and the sunshine - you will not go far wrong coming to casa florio .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and apartment
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing