We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful place and food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Casale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Antico Casale to your Saves list
Antico Casale
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Localita Pian di Sala, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 65 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I'm currently staying at B&B Antico Casale with my husband and my parents and I had to compliment the the owners and the facilities right away. The place is beautiful! Located in a natural reserve, on a medieval road between San Gimignano and Volterra. Surrounded by forest and mountains, it's so peaceful and quiet - the perfect escape from the busy everyday life. The staff and owners are amazing - so nice and welcoming. The chef Irina astounds us every morning with the most delicious freshly baked goods for breakfast and, in the evening, the dining room transforms into a romantic restaurant where the Tuscan famed bisteca a-la Fiorentina and grilled pork are served with red wine and crustini with tomatoes. The meat is cooked by the owner himself - a former military pilot! The food is so good, I don't remember the last time I tasted meat so fine! The rooms are spacious and beautiful, the showers are great with really strong water pressure, the best shower I've experienced in a long while! There's a pool and an outdoor jacuzzi and an inner sauna+jacuzzi, private, great for a candle lit romantic evening - we've tried! Highly recommended, it made our Italian vacation even more wonderful than I could imagine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supermayka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    30
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
97
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hey ! I've been here for 2 weeks, it was totally awesome, i've got many good memories from this hotel. I've like to recommend the restaurant, food was very good. I reccomend this hotel for sure !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wojciech S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have just come back from Antico Casale and I truly recommand this place to everyone who want to visit the Toscany and taste italian culture. Very good food, nice personnel and beautifull views. If you like calm and nature its one of the best place to stay and have a rest. I would really like to go back there as soon as possibile.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AllaUkraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Thanks a lot to Alberto! Tasty meal with pleasant service in the ancient castle. This is that I hoped to get in Italy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Thanks 4 a wonderful holiday, Alberto) U r amazing!
My husband and I r very bored at home, we want to back to San Gimignano!!!! The trip turned wonderful!
photos r perfect! we'll advise all your hotel, because........................it's the best!! Keep it up!!!! Waiting 4 us again!)))

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vovan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The hotel is simply the best, our dream, paradise! Entering the territory of the hotel the first impression was woooow!! in other words, castle! Most of all I remember is that there are not only nice staff but kind-hearted owner.
The hotel 4****!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anicetacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have just returned from our stay at Antico Casale (august 2011). Stayed for three nights. Quiet, very nice place, new, great pool, beautiful grounds and fabulous food! .The Casolare is a totally relaxing experience. All rooms with air conditioning, wifi internet connection.
.It is in the middle of a natural park , so you need a car . We had a sat nav to help us find it but it didn't take us to the right place, so make sure that you use a map too! They dont' accept credit cards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.7 mi away
Antico Borgo il Cardino
Antico Borgo il Cardino
#12 of 65 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
3.7 mi away
B&B Ponte a Nappo
B&B Ponte a Nappo
#21 of 65 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Il Castagnolo
Il Castagnolo
#32 of 65 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casale Gregoriano
Casale Gregoriano
#26 of 65 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Fontaccia
La Fontaccia
#1 of 3 in Castel San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
4.8 mi away
Il Borgo di Mariano
Il Borgo di Mariano
#39 of 65 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Casale

Property: Antico Casale
Address: Localita Pian di Sala, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antico Casale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Antico Casale The property takes its name from the road that runs along it, the Salaria, an important route for communication with Pisa and the sea and the salt trade. Originally born as a staging post for changing horses it is documented since Roman times. Although today nothing remains of the original structure Antico Casale offers relax and tranquility immersing the guest in a romantic atmosphere and familiar at the same time, the proximity to the nature reserve of Castelvecchio and the short distance from Sangimignano makes it strategic and ideal for those who want to visit and experience the real Tuscany. The magic of silence...The flavors of the past...An emotional atmosphere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Antico Casale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Casale San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing