We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tuscan Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Casale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antico Casale
Ranked #29 of 64 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tuscan Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have just returned from our stay at Antico Casale (august 2011). Stayed for three nights. Quiet, very nice place, new, great pool, beautiful grounds and fabulous food! .The Casolare is a totally relaxing experience. All rooms with air conditioning, wifi internet connection.
.It is in the middle of a natural park , so you need a car . We had a sat nav to help us find it but it didn't take us to the right place, so make sure that you use a map too! They dont' accept credit cards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    35
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
17
103
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Great to be back. Everything as wonderful as ever with a few new twists: new furniture in the lounge and more choice in the restaurant. Staff always helpful and the rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. Splendidly relaxing in stunning surroundings. Thank you for all your hard work it is much appreciated and we will for sure be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff_f6383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The old farmhouse has been well restored, the staff are helpful, the food is good & the surrounding national park is lovely.........BUT the hotel is chaotic and not ready for guests. We had 1 problem after another during our stay (no sheets, no hot water, dirty towels, swimming pool in the middle of a ploughed area because the grass hasn't grown etc).
The staff are trying really hard to sort out these issues & keep people happy, but 'Romantic Tuscany' need to show more consideration towards their clients. We only booked a week before our stay - but there was no mention of the fact that it had only just opened. (The March review below is completely misleading as it relates to another property altogther.) Antico Casale has the makings of a lovely place to stay - but Romantic Tuscany need to get their act together first.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

After a trip through an unpaved road (you must have a car, preferably a 4 wheel drive) for 5 km without any sign or indication we arrived in the middle of nowhere in this "antico casale" but actually the whole property looks recently built. There is no internet connection in the hotel whatever they say on the website. There is not even a cell phone sign available, so you're really disconnected from the outside world. There are no bikes for rent, no wellness center. The rooms look hastily decorated with no eye for details (not fitting curtains, no chair etc). There are problems with electricity and plumbing: no hot water, leakage in the shower, dirty yellow brown water running from the tap after a rainstorm. Not enough deck chairs around the pool, a cheerless restaurant. Unprofessional staff with a very disorderly administration: all the data of the guests including their creditcardnumber with verificationcode lay scattered on the desk in the "office" visible to everyone's eye! There was no registration procedure on arrival. On departure you had to pay cash and received not even a bill: this was promised to be sent by email, but has not arrived thus far!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamJaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on a recent trip to Italy. I have never complained about a hotel before in my life, but this is the exception.We actually left early, as did other guests!

Firstly the website of the hotel simply lies. http://www.romantic-tuscany.com/en/Rooms/
- The pictures are fake. There is no grass around the pool, it resembles a building site still
- 'Room equiped with mini bar'.... False
- 'Mountain bike rental'..... False
- 'SPA 'Panoramic outdoor Jacuzzi'.... False! (Not even a spa on the premises!)
- 'coffee Bar'....False

Ontop of the misleading leading website the hotel has some fundamental flaws
- When it rains water comes in under the door
- The towel heater doesnt work
- The room next to us had yellow water coming out of the pipes in it's bathroom
- The entire place had a damp feel about it.
- The 'restaurant' didn't even have menus, which would have been fine if the girl serving us was 'multi lingual' as also promised on the website.

This hotel has the potential to be fantastic, and maybe it will be once it's been open for a couple of months, but there is no way that this hotel is ready to be open yet and it's not fair on guests to have to 'test' the place and be expected to pay for it.

One other thing worth mentioning is that the positive review already on Trip Advisor is very clearly written by the owners, so don't get sucked in by that one.

Of the positive things to say
- The host, Samantha, was brilliant. She could not have tried harder, or been nicer to deal with. It's very unfair on her to be left in the position that the owners have placed her in. The fact that there were clearly lots of problems and many guests complaining I thought it very poor form that the owner did not come accross from her other Hotel to sort out the issues personally.
- The area that the Hotel is in is lovely quiet forest of Tusany. Fantastic walking tracks around.

We ended up leaving early and got a discount, but that's beside the point. we came to Tuscany to experience a wonderful time, and unfortauntely this Hotel let us down, thankfully we still had a brilliant trip with everything else the area had to offer.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

If you are looking for a place to really relax and get away from your very hectic life then Antico Casale is the place to go. The location is very settling being in the country down a long dirt road away from all the noise of civilization. The grounds are beautifil and kept in a natural venue with olive trees, vinyards and flowers covering the hilly countryside. The atmosphere is enhanced by the host and hostess who provide the outstanding service you would expect to receive in the best of hotels . We were welcomed by Alberto. The rooms are beautifull
and decorated in tuscan style.
every morning we would wake up and take a morning walk thru the trees listning to nature enjoying the peacefull serroundings.
during the day we drove to serounding cities s.gimignano,lucca,siena,pisa,voltera and of course florance.
we had a truly relaxing vacation , made new friends and enjoyed great food and company , best vacation ever

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark4588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.3 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
#23 of 110 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
7.4 mi away
Antico Borgo il Cardino
Antico Borgo il Cardino
#14 of 64 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
4.6 mi away
B&B Ponte a Nappo
B&B Ponte a Nappo
#22 of 64 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo I Pini
Agriturismo I Pini
#30 of 64 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
2.2 mi away
Il Castagnolo
Il Castagnolo
#32 of 64 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
2.5 mi away
Il Casale del Cotone
Il Casale del Cotone
#11 of 64 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Casale

Property: Antico Casale
Address: Localita Pian di Sala, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antico Casale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Antico Casale The property takes its name from the road that runs along it, the Salaria, an important route for communication with Pisa and the sea and the salt trade. Originally born as a staging post for changing horses it is documented since Roman times. Although today nothing remains of the original structure Antico Casale offers relax and tranquility immersing the guest in a romantic atmosphere and familiar at the same time, the proximity to the nature reserve of Castelvecchio and the short distance from Sangimignano makes it strategic and ideal for those who want to visit and experience the real Tuscany. The magic of silence...The flavors of the past...An emotional atmosphere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Antico Casale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Casale San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing