We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Tuscany”
Review of Az. Agr. La Ripa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Az. Agr. La Ripa
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at La Ripa with another couple the 1st week in May-what a fabulous base to explore Tuscany from. You stay in a beautifully restored villa in the middle of vine yards and olive orchards with a view across the hills to the towers of San Gimignano. You are truly in the Tuscan countryside-quiet,warm breezes, views of the hills -and still you are convenient to all the Tuscan sites. Our 2 BR apartment was well equipped-very modern kitchen and bathrooms, gas fire places and original art work on the walls. Our favorite part of the stay was sitting out on the large stone porch at the end of the day, soaking in the views of surrounding gardens and vineyards. A supermarket is a bout a 10 minute drive, and small bakery and market are just a few minutes drive. You definitely need a car to get here -and to enjoy the sites-Thank you Alex,your lovely wife Margarite ,( and your 2 sweet dogs ) for a wonderful week in Tuscany

Room Tip: very private and quiet 2 BR apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandHLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 97 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a fantastic week at La Ripa, staying in the Il Padronale apartment. The apartment has plenty of space, clean and great cooking facilities. The owner, Duccio, is always on hand if you need any help.

The location of the Villa is central to many of the picturesque Tuscany cities and about a 10 minutes drive to a large supermarket. I would definitely recommend La Ripa if you are looking for a relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickC_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The farmhouse is beautiful inside and out, we immediately felt at home. Our small children had the best of times here, playing in the gardens or splashing in the pool. It's a quiet and peaceful place, you hardly notice there are other visitors staying in the farmhouse. We had the pool to ourselves a lot of the time. Location is just perfect for exploring Tuscany with S.Gimignano at just a few kms distance and Siena at half an hour drive. Lots of pretty villages just around the corner and wherever you look the views are simply stunning. The service was excellent, thanks to our host Duccio who was always there to help or advise. We had a memorable stay at La Ripa and will surely come back!

Room Tip: Il Padronale is a large appartment on the ground floor with a huge patio and lovely garden full of f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaletS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned home after a week's stay at the beautiful La Ripa. So much to say about this wonderful villa. We arrived on 05/07/13 along with our 2 children ages 8 and 13, and were greeted warmly by Duccio. Our villa was just beautiful and suited our needs and more to make our holiday in Tuscany comfortable, relaxing and very enjoyable. Our children loved the pool as did my husband and I. The villa is set in some of the most beautiful gardens I have ever seen, so we took plenty of pictures and plan to put one on a canvas. It really was a great base to explore Tuscany and very serene. We used the very reliable train service in Poggibonsi, about 5 miles from La Ripa, to visit Pisa and Florence (train also available to Venice) If we ever return to Tuscany we would not dream of staying anywhere but La Ripa. Thank you Duccio for the wonderful oil and wine tour which we all loved.

Room Tip: We stayed in the la Fenile, a 1st floor 2 bedroom apartment which was perfect for 2 adults and 2 chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We found La Ripa not by looking for a suitable establishment in the village/city we wanted to stay in, but by looking at the highest-scoring agriturismos in Tuscany. Sorting by highest scores first, La Ripa was the first we found that had an apartment with two bedrooms and was available during our holiday period, i.e. the first half of June 2013.
The only apartement available was Padronale, also the one with the highest price. We read on the website of La Ripa that it was also the biggest apartment, hence the higher price. On a weekday night I phoned La Ripa and was directed to Duccio, the son of the owners who spoke better English and could help us further. A reservation was quickly arranged and awaited our arrival.
At our initial arrival, we had some difficulty finding the agriturismo, which more visitors experienced as can be read. The trick is finding the entrance to the road up the hill in Ulignano, at the start of the final bend just before leaving the village again, when northbound.
The gravel road up the hill was not difficult as we read earlier, at least for us. The final part is a bit steep, but has tarmac.
The arrival proved to set the standard for our stay at La Ripa. The estate is stunningly beautiful, with a nice garden and swimming pool outside of the "main garden". We were welcomed most friendly, and Duccio gave us a tour of our appartment. The Padronale apartment is located on the ground floor, and has a private patio overlooking the garden. This alone justifies the higher price, let alone the larger rooms and 2 (!) bathrooms.
Usually pictures of the establishment look better than reality, but in this case reality is much better. We only spent one lazy evening in the living room with the TV on (it was raining outside), the rest was spent under the roofed comfort of the private patio. The kitchen is large by any standard, and contained all the luxuries you can think of including washing machine.
The main garden is privately located and closed with small doors, due to the two sweet dogs Didi and Pimpa. Our 3 year old daughter loved them, and due to the small doors our daughter could play freely in the garden as well. The swimming pool is located outside the main garden, privately located on the slope with a few steps to take. The pool is larger than we thought compared to the pictures, and we usually had the pool to ourselves. Having a small girl around playing, she couldn't bother anyone else which eased our parenting duties a bit.
La Ripa is located just fine; San Gimignano (albeit a bit too touristic for our tastes) is 7km away and can be seen from La Ripa, and groceries can be done in various stores in Poggibonsi, also around 7km away. Florence and Siena can be reached just fine as well (45 minutes each) en Pisa is a 1.5 hour drive. We planned to visit Florence, Siena and Pisa, but were so relaxed at La Ripa that most of our drives were short to restaurants in the area.
Our daughter enjoyed the stay incredibly much, with the pool, dogs and most friendly owners.
The owners Alessandro and Margherita deserve praise, we felt most welcome. They are truly nice people. Their son Duccio deserves special mention. He did even more to make us feel welcome, by helping us around, making recommendations for restaurants and activities and the occasional chat. He also organized a wine tasting tour, where we looked around the vineyards as well and bought too many bottles of delicous wine, olive oil and even honey.
Eventhough were normally not the "staying around" type of traveller, and we certainly never visit the same place twice... We are 99% sure we will visit La Ripa again next year.

Room Tip: The only reason I can think of NOT to recommend the Padronale apartment, is that you would book prio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We are a married couple travelling with our friend.
After a 6 hour drive to La Ripa - Tuscany - It took us a extra 1 hour to find the villa driving down a narrow bumpy dirt road, this was not expected but never the less we did find it and were really living the italian culture, the landscape is one of the most beautiful undulating places we have ever seen. Everywhere you look are vineyards, olive groves, old buildings and a world of all shades of green colour, most positions of the area offers the most spectacular views.
We can reach in 1 hour driving to the seaside, Florence, Pisa, Sienna and many small villages. 7k from our villa is San Gimigano beautiful place to visit, it is a medi evil stone walled village with 7 towers.
Our villa was very comfortable and home-like with 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms so our friend was comfy too, we can cook, sit on the terrace, play with the 2 dogs, swim in lovely clean pool.
Our hosts Alex, Margarite and their lovely son Duccio are a typical italian family made you feel very welcome with a nice bottle of sparkling wine, nothing was too much trouble and when you walk around the farm there is a breathtaking atmosphere.
Thank you for making our 10 days so pleasant and relaxing.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PaulinaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

La Ripa is a lovely property and our apartment was the perfect villa for our Tuscan vacation. Looking out our kitchen french doors to the Tuscan garden was a perfect way to start our day. Located mid-distance between Florence and Siena surrounded by hilltop, walled medieval cities, it is the perfect home base for exploring the Tuscan landscape. The owners are wonderful people and were very helpful. We'd recommend La Ripa to everyone and if we're ever in Tuscany again, we know where we'd stay.

Room Tip: Great kitchens to try all the Italian recipes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NM_travelers47018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
263 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
809 reviews
6.6 mi away
Villa Dini
Villa Dini
#1 of 2 in Castel San Gimignano
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Az. Agr. La Ripa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Az. Agr. La Ripa

Address: Via Santa Maria 70, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 108 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $104 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ripa is a farmhouse with an old fashioned taste. Four apartments that look like they grew up one on the other along the centuries without a precise project, they have given birth to an interesting and unique structure.To embellish the whole structure, a deep green, scented crown: our garden. And a shining blue pearl: our swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Az. Agr. La Ripa San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing