We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Absolutely Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Az. Agr. La Ripa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Az. Agr. La Ripa
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent a week at La Ripa and wish we could have stayed much longer. Il Fienile was perfect for the two of us with everything we needed inside plus a lovely little garden and terrace. The apartment itself was very clean and homely, which we loved. The pool was fantastic - really close to the house and always seemingly in the sun. Located so close to San Gimignano but also within easy distance of Florence and Siena, we found it the perfect launch pad for exploring the area, but at the same time far enough removed that we were able to relax in peace too. Duccio was a wonderful host. We are already planning our next visit and really can't wait! Can't recommend La Ripa enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenevraBvA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Duisburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

It was our forth time in Tuscany, but for sure the most comfortable, clean and beautiful house we have had so far. The garden was very nice and the pool was quite large, very clean and perfectly equipped.
The owners spent much effort to make their house special and individual. They were very friendly and gave a lot of helpful advice.
Besides La Ripa is an ideal starting point to go to the most important towns in Tuscany as it is located in the heart of the region.
In summary: we perfectly recovered and very much enjoyed our stay in La Ripa. For sure we will come back and recommend the house to our friends

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived at La Ripa near the end of a fast-passed three week tour of Italy. We were welcomed by a very helpful host, a quaint apartment, private terrace with an amazing view of San Gimingnano, inviting pool and friendly canines. This was much appreciated by weary travelers. Duccio and his parents were gracious hosts. The olive oil and wine were a nice touch. We can understand how many guests would return to La Ripa year after year; given the chance we will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spend six nights at apartment Il Fienile (tree adult and one child 11-years-old). That apartment was very suitable for us. There were everything that you need to self-catering (even filter-coffee- machine 8D) Garden and swimming pool area were very well kept and clean+comfortable too. Hosts were extremely friendly and professional (helpful etc.)
Location is excellent, if you want to explore Tuscany or just lay low and relax. Don't miss the best ice-cream in the world (you can find it in San Gimignano)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktjnvlnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our party of 2 couples spent delightful days at this pleasent appartment facing San Gimignano!
The appartment is very functional and centrally located to visit the principal cities of Tuscany.The garden and the swimming pool are delicious and smelt good too.
Duccio, as his parents ,were always there to help us with any needs.
We just would suggest a map that could help us to get there, as we spent some time trying to find the place.
We strongly recommend this place and would return.
Maria Luiza, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LUIZA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent an excellent week at La Ripa during May. It is an ideal location ... close to many things in Tuscany including Sienna, Florence and Chianti. After a long day of seeing the Tuscan countryside and towns, it was nice to come back to the apartment which had everything we needed including a lovely swimming pool nestled in an olive grove and our own patio where we could take in the view of San Gimignano and the glorious Tuscan countryside while we enjoyed the cheeses, meats, pastas and wines of the region. But what stood out the most was the warm, friendly feeling you get being part of the La Ripa extended family. Alex, Margarite and Duccio made you feel like you were coming home every night. They went out of their way to make sure we were getting the most out of our vacation. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the apartments look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Had a great week at apartment Padronale. Our toddler was made really welcome and the apartment and terrace suited him really well. Don't think that the photos on the website really do the apartment justice - it was really spacious and well equipt - great kitchen with everything that you need and lovely views over the garden. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here in this beautiful and peaceful part of tuscany.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank celicadriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo Cesani
Agriturismo Cesani
#13 of 108 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
2.2 mi away
Il Rosolaccio
Il Rosolaccio
#20 of 108 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Coltro
Il Coltro
#32 of 108 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo La Piazzetta
Agriturismo La Piazzetta
#14 of 108 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
1.5 mi away
Podere Vigna del Sole
Podere Vigna del Sole
#56 of 108 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
2.8 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Az. Agr. La Ripa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Az. Agr. La Ripa

Property: Az. Agr. La Ripa
Address: Loc. Santa Maria, 70, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 108 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ripa is a farmhouse with an old fashioned taste. Four apartments that look like they grew up one on the other along the centuries without a precise project, they have given birth to an interesting and unique structure.To embellish the whole structure, a deep green, scented crown: our garden. And a shining blue pearl: our swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Az. Agr. La Ripa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Az. Agr. La Ripa San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing