We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation, Fresh Air and Location, location...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room Dining area with extending dining table that seats six
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Living room
Dining area with extending dining table that seats six
Fully furnished kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom with door to the garden
Bedroom with two single beds and door to the garden
Upstairs bedroom
Bathroom #1 with large shower
Covered patio with table for six
Front patio
Panoramic view from front patio
View from garden and sun lounging area
Sunset at Azzurra
View from swimming pool with covered patio area, looking out toward Pisa
View from swimming pool, looking out towards Volterra
San Gimignano only 20 minutes drive
Volterra only 20 minutes drive
Siena only 50 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
TurtleTra...
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxation, Fresh Air and Location, location, location!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

I stayed at Azzura for one month, and I loved it! I was able to relax, work (I know that sounds contradictory, but I needed to write, and I was able to clear a serious writer's block), exercise, learn about historic villages, cook fantastic fresh food, eat at quaint restaurants, and meet lovely people.

Azzura is in the country, so do expect a few animals, which I enjoyed, from cows to phesants.

Weather is unpredictable, at least in the fall when I was there. It was a great reminder of that mother nature is large and in charge. It was fun to sit inside during a storm with candles or a fire lit, cooking mushroom risotto, while having a fantastic glass of local red wine.

A great day included, a morning walk or yoga (a swim would be great in warmer weather), a trip to San Gimignana or Volterra (both are under thirty minute drives) for lunch, tours and shopping. Pick up fresh veggies and local meats for a home cooked dinner.

Siena is so close, and a very easy drive. I took many day trips because I love the museums, concerts, theatre, clothe shopping and restaurants there. The drive is less than an hour.

Close the gate to the parking area, as is requested by the owner. The cows and deer are very inquisitive, and sometimes make it inside the property parameters even when the gate is closed.

Note that Wifi is available, but it is limited. It along with television access is at times unavailable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful surrounding landscape, proximaty to neighboring villages and Siena, very pleasant interior
Liked least: Strong wind during storms
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatnKris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay at Azzura was absolutely perfect!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My mother, aunt and I stayed there for 2 weeks in mid-September and couldn't have been happier with our experience! The house is just as it's pictured...cozy and serene, with an attention to every detail. Beautiful views of the Tuscan countryside all around! We loved everything about it...cooking in the Tuscan kitchen, coffee and breakfast on the outdoor patios, the pool, the cozy bedrooms. Many wonderful memories were made there!! A great place to be close to explore the surrounding area and easy access to the towns, but still have a quiet place to go home to at the end of the day! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!! We look forward to returning again! Ciao! Kathy, Sharon, and Karen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charming house, the views!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsekeep...
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Serene location and an excellent apartment”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Everyone comments on the views, and justifiably so. From the west-facing gable end wall you can relax and watch the sun set well away from any slight noises other apartments might theoretically get from the poolside, with only the drone of bees feeding on the extensive lavender planting. Inside, next to an outdoor dining area with lots of herb bushes, you enter a good sized-room with a 3-4 seat sofa and large footstool, open-plan kitchen and well-stocked larder, 2 shower rooms and 2 of the bedrooms (one double, one twin). Upstairs is a double bedroom which slopes into the roof - it can be hot up here but there is a portable aircon which has some effect, and I gather there may possibly be aircon installed for 2014. Furniture is rustic painted wood, well-suited to the building which is finished to a high standard; large good quality paintings of Tuscan scenes make this feel like someone's home, and not the bare basics often provided in holiday lettings. It's 20' by car to Volterra and Sam Gimignano, an hour to places like Siena & Vinci (or Florence by train), 2h to Montepulciano & the Garfagnana. Mary Ann is a concerned and considerate host from the moment you book to the day you leave. Worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The wasps
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasonethe...
1 review
“Wonderful villa, great location within reach of most major cities in Tuscany”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We enjoyed a truly wonderful week here with three generations of our family in August 2013. Our boys (aged 2 and 5 years) loved the pool which has spectacular views.

The villa is spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could need for your stay. We enjoyed day trips to San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena, Pisa, Florence, all of which are within an hour or so of the villa.

Most notably, Mary Ann was hugely attentive when we had a medical incident and needed her help in organising the delivery of a wheelchair. She organised a local liaison to speak with the courier company and couldn't have been more helpful.

Also worth noting is the fact that the Mosquitos were almost non existant here in comparison with Rome, possibly due to the hilltop breeze that you enjoy whilst at Azzurra.

We loved our sundowners overlooking the wonderful views across the hills whilst enjoying the lovely wildlife in the gorgeous lavender border - butterflies, geckos, spectacular hummingbird moths, bees, crickets and lots more.

We hope to visit again and would love to spend longer here next time as there was plenty more to explore.

Thank you Mary Ann for a wonderful and memorable week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasha H
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Beautiful villa with lovely views of Tuscany!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Azzurra is a beautiful villa set in the heart of Tuscany, situated only 20 minutes from San Gimignano and Volterra. Perfect for a family holiday, the villa was immaculate and well-presented retaining traditional Tuscan charm and comfort. Mary Ann, the owner, was extremely helpful in providing information, and the villa's quiet and remote location offered a relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K8Yates
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly relaxful Tuscan villa”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is a great place to stay if you're looking for a real getaway in Tuscany. The villa, as other guests have said, is an amazing place to stay and very well presented - extremely comfy beds, a well stocked kitchen, wifi and amazing views. Mary Ann, the owner, sent us lots of really helpful information beforehand making it easy to find supermarkets, restaurants and of course the villa, which feels like its in the middle of nowhere but is perfectly positioned at the end of a dirt track halfway between the beautiful hilltop towns of San Gimignano and Volterra.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rina P
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to relax with girlfriends!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

My 3 best friends and I travelled here in September and still think about it EVERYDAY! That is actually what brought me back to this site ....and I realized I hadnt left a review. Azzurra was the best part of our stay in Italy and has us day dreaming about it weekly over email. We had the chance to stay through the recommendation of a good friend. He told us we would love it more than anything, and we did. We spend our days there and did not leave because of the stunning views and amazing kitchen. We had all the dishes, pots, utensils we could need....and cooked the best meals we had in Italy. The owner provided us with such comprehensive details there was really NOTHING left out from where we could buy essentials to where we should eat in town. The directions and instructions were also perfect. I really cannot describe the relaxation you get here with words...we enjoyed a sunset daily with wines and cheese. The pool was great...! The sheets smelled like perfection...! ahhh...I want to go back, NOW!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything:-)
Liked least: We loved everything!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing