We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Icecream heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelateria Dondoli

Gelateria Dondoli
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Cash Only, Takeout
Halen, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Icecream heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

very good icecream en al lot of different tastes. For example orange, rasberry, martini, vernaca, saffron, grand marnier and so on.

In 2009 the gelateria was world champion icecream making.

they have a website with recepies for icecream:
www.gelateriadipiazza.com

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jochen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,519
    798
    259
    41
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best we've had so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited here as part of a tour of Tuscan, the tour guild told us it was the best spot for gelato, and he was not wrong. The place was packed and we just got in on time as a que down the street started to form. The Gelato was amazing, try the raspberry and rosemary, was so different but so nice!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McIntyre87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

One of the best gelaterias I visited during my stay in Italy. This is the only place I've seen saffron gelato, it was absolutely amazing. Definitely recommend visiting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyci12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Before tasting this one, I repeated: best ice cream in Italy is in Perugia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is true, for several years I was persuading my friends the best gelateria in Italy is in Perugia. It is not. I am a bit careful when I see : The wholenational No. 1, Winner of a contest.
But THIS IS IT
With friend we tasted more than 35 different ice creams variants in this trip including excellent persian specialities in Florence. But Dondoli was the best, home made, full taste, creamy, refreshing, not too sweeet, not too sour, in fantastic balance.
Champelmo = Pink grapefruit and sparkling wine was excellent, I preferred marrons glacées and cinnamon, my wife enjoyed lemon sorbet. Highly recommended .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivantomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Unusual Flavors, excellent gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The number and kind of flavors that offers this gelateria are impressive. From traditional italian flavors to local creations that recover traditional ingredients such as the vernaccia grape and gorgonzola cheese. I tried both flavors gorgonzola with nuts and vernaccia sorbet and they were really good. My sister tried the lavender one and it was excellent. What would make the experience better is if there would be a board on the outside wall of the gelateria where all the available flavors would be displayed and you could read and choose while you are in the line, as when you arrive to the counter they are so many flavors that it is impossible to read carefully.
The price of a tree flavor cup if I remember correctly was 4.5 euros. If you go to San Gimminiano you should try these gelati.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lugasalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Dondoli also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Gelateria Dondoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing