We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Can there be a best among the best?”
Review of Gelateria Dondoli

Gelateria Dondoli
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wow! Can there be a best among the best?”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Italy has excellent gelato in many regions. And we've tried gelato at so many locations. But this could rate among the best that we've had! Excellent texture, excellent choice, freshly made -- no artificial taste among the flavours we tried. Excellent!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BM_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,753
    854
    278
    45
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hands down, the best gelato in Italy!

(Also, most flavors are gluten-free, and GF cones are available!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

You'll find this gelateria in the central square of San Gimignano -- no trouble spotting it, as the queue usually extends outside the shop onto the square. With a sign "best ice cream of the world" (and world cup signs to prove it), you know that you're getting something special.
A word of advice: ignore the pressure of the queue behind you and look at all the different flavors available before deciding. You will find some unexpected gems here.
Overall excellent choices -- and if you're lucky to meet the owner in front, strike a conversation!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zee_vee_ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best icecream ever...”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Best icecream we ever had in a place hard to forget, got to it walking by and it was totally worth it... would totally recommend it to anyone...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jahd1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
269 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best Gelato I ever had”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent a week all over Tuscany and the Dolomites (we had been there before) and I hate to admit it, but I had Gelato every single day, and most days twice. The Gelato at Dondoli WAS the best I had, without a doubt. I tried many different flavors and was never disappointed. It was all good. It was the best I ever had. It is easy to get to in the Square of San Gim. I can easily see how they have won so many awards for their Gelato. My only question is, why can't someone in the U.S. produce and develop such good Gelato in our country? They could make a mint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bandmanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Dondoli also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Gelateria Dondoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing