We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Gelato Champion!!!”
Review of Gelateria Dondoli

Gelateria Dondoli
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
“World Gelato Champion!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I came all the way from NJ to try this gelato and it is out of this world!!! Waited approx 10 minutes, no big deal, to try Bilberry and Mandorla (Almond) and Champage. This gelato is by far the creamiest, tastiest, melt in your mouth wonder.

Sergio, you are the official Master of Gelato! We would love you to open a shop in NJ!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EscapeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,869
    869
    292
    47
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully it was not so busy when we visited San Gimignano, and we could buy the ice cream without waiting. The ice cream is incredibly good, full of flavor, soft and creamy. We ate our ice cream on the piazza where the gelateria is located, which proved an atmospheric location. Your visit to San Gimignano is not complete without trying this first-class ice cream!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Serge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Gorgonzola gelato!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

If someone can make a ice cream with Gorgonzola that actually tastes good ( and tastes like a gelato ) it really deserves its titles. I have tried 6 flavors and only one wasn't superb ( the wild berry was a bit too sweet), the Gorgonzola was a pleasant surprise!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobGoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Gelato in a Nation of Great Gelatos”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our sustenance in Italy included at least one serving of gelato daily during a 14-day trip. Never had a bad gelato, anywhere. Dondoli was far and away the best gelato we ever had. We spent 6 nights in Tuscany and only missed this place on our last night. But we made up this oversight by having a gelato at Dondoli the next morning to help wash down our breakfast. Best time to avoid the crowds is after 10 pm and before noon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You don't get the title "Worlds best gelato" for nothing.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

All the gelato I've tasted in Italy has been delicious, but this was the best without a doubt. It's hard to describe the flavour and texture in any way other than perfect. Well deserving of the best gelato in the world title. Despite a long queue, we were serve in no time by the crow of friendly staff that kept things moving quickly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozgyptian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Dondoli also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Gelateria Dondoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing