We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If heaven has gelato, I know where it must come from!”
Review of Gelateria Dondoli

Gelateria Dondoli
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Ipswich, Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“If heaven has gelato, I know where it must come from!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I admit it freely, I adore ice cream! When I seen the long line of anxious ice cream lovers, it told me I'd come to the right place. The ice cream is out of this world.

I guarantee you won't be disappointed by Gelateria Dondoli and enjoying your treat while sitting at the nearby well. It just don't get no better...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSgt_Fury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,761
    854
    279
    45
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent gelato”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It is easy to see why this place has won world competitions for gelato. A few chairs and tables in the piazza would be a helpful touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“WOW !”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

During our 4 day stay we had an ice cream from here every afternoon, it was soo good.
We loved the banana flavour..but the saffron and pine nut flavour was amazing.
Staff lovely

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hergiswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great gelato”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had many gelato's all around Italy. This is absolutely one of the best. They have very much tastes, many of them i never had before.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rfr_public
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It lives up to its name of being the world's best!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the long lines, they have lots of servers & line moves quickly. You definitely have to try it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonino20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Dondoli also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Gelateria Dondoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing