We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The most incredible gelato” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelateria Dondoli

Gelateria Dondoli
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Cash Only, Takeout
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most incredible gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We easily got gelato from here four times in our 24 hours in San Gimignano -- the flavours are so amazing and inventive! I recommend the fior di latte, raspberry and rosemary and blueberry and lavender. Down the street to the right as you walk out is an alleyway leading to a viewpoint, which is a great place to go eat your gelato on a sunny day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJessMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,430
    774
    253
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Best icecream in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Simply the best. Try the Amedei chocolate and ask them for recommendation. Every taste is great! Prices are very fair also... Great location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ratko_Vranes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just came back from a trip around Italy where I religiously hunt for the best gelato in each city. Dondoli in by far the best among those I have tried. The flavour is there and the texture is very smooth. The only regret was not ordering my second cup!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MS86SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

You have a great amount of flavors to choose from. I loved the lemon gelato and the chocolate. Word champions on different occasions. Open until late.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alvaro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Freaking Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our local tour guide recommended this gelateria. I got the chocolate with Grand Marnier and orange. Absolutely delicious! We went all over Italy and this was the best. Who would've thought you would find the best gelato in a medieval hilltop village named San Gimignano?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nurse20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Dondoli also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Gelateria Dondoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing