We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freaking Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelateria Dondoli

Gelateria Dondoli
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Cash Only, Takeout
1 review
“Freaking Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our local tour guide recommended this gelateria. I got the chocolate with Grand Marnier and orange. Absolutely delicious! We went all over Italy and this was the best. Who would've thought you would find the best gelato in a medieval hilltop village named San Gimignano?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nurse20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,526
    799
    259
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plakias, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was really great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

First of all the village itself deserves a long visit, it is amazing how atmospheric it is...
As for the ice cream we decided to taste it not because of the sign over the entrance, which from our experience looks mostly as a tourist trap, but because of a couple that were just coming out and literaly shout "go try it" as we were standing outside.
So, if you visit San Gimignano go try it, it worths it. It has a great variety of flavours that I hadn't tried before and the employees can suggest nice combinations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EleniGoumenaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I live in northern Italy and have traveled all over and had lots of gelato and this is by far the best! Ive been to San Gimignano twice and the first time I didnt try this place bc of the line but the second time the line was short and Im glad we went! Every flavor you can imagine!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kellogs1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gelato World Cup Winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Can't even describe how good the gelato is! Probably the best we had in Italy, and trust me we ate a lot of gelato. The lines can be long, but if you wait until after all the tourist buses leave it calms down a bit and is more reasonable. It is obvious they take great pride in the ingredients and thus their gelato, not a one that was tried was bad. If in San Gimignano, skip dessert at your restaurant and come here instead!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferday8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I sceam for Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wonderful gelato but be prepared to queue. Every flavour you can imagine. Only had time to try two (more's the pity).
Give this a try if you're a gelato lover.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingcole315948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Dondoli also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Gelateria Dondoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing