We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairytale in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fattoria San Donato
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I decided to stop here for a night at the start of July. The staff were very welcoming right from the word go and helped us with travel arrangements.

We loved the structure of an old farm village in Tuscany. The houses/apartments have a wonderful spacious and rustic feel, the pool was well positioned with a view of the hills of Tuscany and we loved how the food could be seen growing.

Two particular mentions: the owners were fantastic and really made us feel at home, from the sampling of wine upon welcome to the lift back to San Gimignano (n.b. Fattoria San donato is not actually in San Gimignano but a five minute drive away by car/taxi). Secondly, the food. We had a wonderful sit down meal with all the guests at a delicious Tuscan dinner. The selection was exceptional (even for vegetarians) and the owners kept coming through to talk with the guests. This is no 'we just care about your money' establishment but a very people friendly place. Breakfast outside in the farm was also nice.

If you get a chance, this place is worth every penny!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank garbianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 442 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

A very charming place, probably quite old. Middle ages? The room has old stone walls, the bathroom fully equipped and with an excellent shower. The evening of our arrival we had a great buffet, cold buffet dinner. All guests, approx. 30, were seated at one large table. The food was excellent, the house wine quite good. The ambiance great. Very hospitable staff.
No air conditioning, of course, so the room can become warm. Nice swimming pool with beautiful views on the surroundings. However, close to main road, somewhat noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoukdeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this Agriturismo for 2 nights, and I must say that immediately I felt in love with this place!
The day we arrived, we also had dinner in the farm; although the restaurant was closed we were served with a delightful homemade dinner (yummy!!)
The room was clean and orderly, in typical farm style. So...if you are looking for a room with all conforts like in a 4 stars hotel, then this is not the right place for you.
Everything is exactly like in the description, the pool is nice and has a great view, the position is great, as you can reach San Gimignano with the car or by walk (3km through the vineyards like in the movies!)
We also managed to visit the wine cellare and to a wine tasting...I would really reccomed this place to everybody who is looking for a real farm in Tuscany

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svivila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 great days in Fattoria San Donato. The place is beautiful and peaceful.The rooms are rustic but authentic. The location is great because you are ten minutes from the magnificent and romantic San Gimignano.
Umberto and Frederica are the nicest people you will ever meet and most helpful with everything especially with tips and advice on the area.
The pool is located in enchanted garden, one of the nicest I have ever seen.
Breakfast was sufficient, although there is room for improvement.
If you can, don't miss the dinner which is held twice a week. All the guest eat at a large table, and it is both delicious and a unique experience.
I highly recommend for couple and for families alike.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uri36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Last summer we spent 2 weeks with our whole family (6 kids, grandchild and dogs ) at San Donato .
If you enjoy nature, sunrises , good wine and breakfast talks, this relaxing and friendly family run home on the door step of San Gimignano , is the place to go.

the food is all natural ( they have their own vegetable garden ) and simply wonderful !
We will come back again,
Pieter and Maaike

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick555milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here as part of our Italian driving holiday and we were looking for an authentic farm house experience. We enjoyed our stay with the added bonus of the high quality of the wines, olives etc. While we did not have dinner, the breakfast was great. If you are looking for a quiet stay in a Tuscan farm house, with great views of the country side (we could see San Gimignano in the distance from the kitchen window) then I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendsgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Such an interesting place and experience.
The family which run this are great and friendly.
The food is fab - the breakfast goes on for ages and was the best we had in Italy. The evening meal (if you can have one) is out of this world and comes with endless wine. The wild boar salami is amazing.
The wine made here is excellent and good value - we only had a couple of better wines anywhere in Tuscany.
The sprawling estate is so picturesque if a little rustic (in the rooms).
We were two adults and a 4 year old and they put us in a 3 bed apartments (guess we were upgraded).
It is really good value - they don't hit you with any extras (didn't even charge for our little one's food).
No A/C, but heat doesn't bother me.
One night it did pour with rain and the electrics shorted out while we were cooking. I managed to find the owner who rigged up an extension lead. The place could be world-class with some investment, but I doubt they'd see their money back and it would put it out of our price range and lose its charm.
The pool and facilities in general are great.
We stayed away from the main entrance so were not bothered by wandering coach tourists.
I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: we were the other side of the road from the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebbieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
367 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
5.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Far...
#10 of 108 in San Gimignano
791 reviews
3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria San Donato

Address: Localita San Donato 6, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 108 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $98 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fattoria San Donato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bio agriturismo (farmhouse ) in the medioeval village, center of the Farm, lead by the Fenzi's family.In the green landscape of Tuscany with gardens, swimming pool, park games and tuscan food, for a real vacation in the nature but next to the principal cities of art. There are elegantly restructured rooms and apartments in the respect of the native architectures with furniture ancient and great fireplaces. Restaurant with local products, visit of the vineyards and cellars and wine tasting ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fattoria San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria San Donato Hotel San Gimignano
Fattoria San Donato San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing