We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fattoria San Donato
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013. Nice large rooms, basic but everything there and clean. Lovely setting, beautiful old stone buildings and very close to the town of San G. Breakfast a typical Tuscan breakfast with breads, cheese and meats. The dinner the hosts arranged for us all was lovely and our first chance to taste authentic Tuscan food with wine from their winery. Our kids loved it here - it was really hot when we arrived and the pool was a fantastic chance to cool down. There is lots of space to run around and our kids loved the dog. Good value overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZFamilyTravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    87
    17
    5
    10
See reviews for
114
176
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 days here and it was lovely. Since it was late September when we were there, it was very clear this is a working farm. Harvesting and processing was going on all day and our charming hosts were definitely in their busiest time. This did not affect the warm welcome, or our enjoyment even though sometimes we had to wait a bit to do the administrative things (like check in and out).

The fact that this is a working farm was definitely part of the experience. We had one dinner there with the other guests with all food from the farm (the amazing veggies, wine and olive oil) or from close by and with the hosts encouraging us to enjoy and eat, eat! before they collapsed deservedly in their beds.

We had a one bedroom apartment. A very good size, with kitchen, living room and a large, comfy bedroom. We enjoyed a glass of wine each evening on the grounds by the pool overlooking the valley surrounded by lavender and rosemary bushes.

San Gimignano is a few minutes drive away and we went there for two of our dinners - it is much quieter there at night than in the day, and a beautiful town. There is a large grocery store in Poggibonsi on the way to the farm for all you need. But get your wine at the farm - it's good. I brought their organic olive oil home - yum.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I felt incredibly safe here as a solo female traveler. It was well advertised and the photos represent the property very well. The food and wine were delicious. My only suggestion is for the propritors to post a schedule of available dinners / tastings online so that travelers will know when to expect to go out for dinner and or cook for themselves and when they can enjoy services from San Donato.
The owners / proporitors welcomed me with such kindness and even picked me up / took me into San Gimignano on some of their errands to save me the taxi fare. The grounds were beautifull and made fully available to me for walking and exploring, which is what i wanted out of an Agritourismo. The one wine tasting / dinner I attended was such a lovely intimate event that I will never forget as I enjoyed wine and food with people from all over the world.
The apartment I stayed in was clean, the bed was not that comfey, but the charm of the place outweighed that. I had plenty of covers and personal space.
Two other improvements that could be made: add an electric fan and some screening for the windows for cooling. As there is no cooling, warmer nights can be difficult as with open windows, mosquitos and flies can come in.
Other than that, I happily made my own dinner from market goods and drank San Donato wine by my bouquets of wildflowers that I picked on my daily walks.
Another very special day was had when I was allowed to participate in the grape harvest. I will never forget the experience!
I fell in love with this place!

Room Tip: Choose an apartment and ensure you have a 2nd floor. as the buildings are charming, rustic, and old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Pros:
- Great location - a few minutes drive to San Gimignano, potential hikes from the fattoria, one hour drive to Sienna.
- Beautiful stone buildings
- Also serves as a wine/olive oil tasting place (we didn't get to try it).
- Breakfast was good and relatively rich (for an Italian breakfast).
- There's a nice outdoors pool.

Cons:
- We didn't have any wifi reception from our room and had to walk out at night to get it.
- The attitude was friendly, but we expected a more personal attitude.
- The room felt a bit "dusty" / unused, no view from the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeTravel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Umberto and Frederica operate a busy winery / olive oil business as well as a bustling agriturismo only 5 km from the stunning walled village of San Gimignano. A beautiful, well run establishment makes guests comfortable and allows one to feel at home.

This area is a highlight of Tuscany, and this farm-stay is a little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnomeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I really can't say enough about this place. Sure there are things to suggest on improving but this easily gets an Excellent rating from me because what it does well it does at a memorable level.

We stayed here for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom 2 bath room. There was a decent living space and cooking area which allowed us to save some money during the trip. The pool was great for the kids. The grounds were interesting to walk around. But this stay was mostly about the owner (Frederica).

While here we sampled all of the wines, champagne, and olive oil made on the property. We had wonderful breakfasts and possibly the best dinner of our 3 week trip. None of it was overpriced. All was great. Frederica made certain we loved everything but also went out of her way to make certain our Tuscany visitation plans were prioritized correctly. In each city she had great advice. Honestly her knowledge of Italy as a whole is amazing and helpful.

And we loved the "we'll see what the garden gives us today" attitude towards cooking.

As for location, I think it is hard to top this place. You are under 5KM outside of downtown San Gimignano on the road to Volterra. From here we were able to visit Florence, Volterra, Sienna, Monteriggioni and of course San Gimignano. None were more than an hour away and the drives were mostly pretty. We found it quite useful to get up early and spend full days in these cities but return to Fattoria San Donato for some pool time at the end of the day and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family recently spent 2 nights in Tuscany. We didn't have enough time to go too far from Florence but by staying at this vineyard just outside San Gimignano we had an opportunity to experience country living at its best, without the hordes of tourists at this time of year. The vineyard is so picturesque, complete with colourful bougainvillea spilling over walls and dogs lounging in the road. The owners were most welcoming and the dinner that night was a most delicious and satisfying one, with all of the ingredients grown locally. They don't serve dinner every night so make sure to find out when they do and don't miss it! Our stay on this farm ranks as one of the highlights of our trip to Italy.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank charka-lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
1.8 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
5.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria San Donato

Property: Fattoria San Donato
Address: Localita San Donato 6, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fattoria San Donato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bio agriturismo (farmhouse ) in the medioeval village, center of the Farm, lead by the Fenzi's family.In the green landscape of Tuscany with gardens, swimming pool, park games and tuscan food, for a real vacation in the nature but next to the principal cities of art. There are elegantly restructured rooms and apartments in the respect of the native architectures with furniture ancient and great fireplaces. Restaurant with local products, visit of the vineyards and cellars and wine tasting ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fattoria San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria San Donato Hotel San Gimignano
Fattoria San Donato San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing