We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fattoria San Donato
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pescille(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bel Soggiorno(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Colline(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Cisterna Hotel(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Leon Bianco(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fattoria di Fugnano(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
326
90
18
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
90
18
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat wine and olive oillarge assortmentworking farmbiscottiwine tastingbeginning of junetuscan experienceold villagebeautiful placeother guestsdelicious lunchneighboring townsreal tuscanylovely agriturismoprosciuttostayed here for three nightstuscan farm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 450 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family recently spent 2 nights in Tuscany. We didn't have enough time to go too far from Florence but by staying at this vineyard just outside San Gimignano we had an opportunity to experience country living at its best, without the hordes of tourists at this time of year. The vineyard is so picturesque, complete with colourful bougainvillea spilling over walls and dogs lounging in the road. The owners were most welcoming and the dinner that night was a most delicious and satisfying one, with all of the ingredients grown locally. They don't serve dinner every night so make sure to find out when they do and don't miss it! Our stay on this farm ranks as one of the highlights of our trip to Italy.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank charka-lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first trip to Tuscany and our first experience with a wine tour & tasting in Italy. The grounds of San Donato were absolutely beautiful and this wife-husband pair really know their stuff!! While the husband was off with potential clients, his wife gave us the full history of the vineyard, the Italian approach to wine making, and the general philosophy to wine in Italy (wine IS food). We were then led upstairs to a private room filled to the brim with locally sourced produce, meats, cheeses and two liters of wine. Probably the most memorable and delicious food experience in Tuscany!!! We'd recommend this lovely vineyard (and its even lovelier owners) to anyone interested in a true Tuscan experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Andra581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We actually stayed next door (Antica Dimora) but visited for dinner and had both a wonderful meal and fun time...

First up, for dinner, make sure you book ahead - call or pop in. They speak excellent English and probably even other languages too...

Dinner is a set menu of local fare with ingredients all locally sourced (or from their farm) and I believe also fully organic. It also includes the table wine (both white and red as well as dessert wine and grappa). The hosts are happy to share wine pairings advice for their other wines too and also just chat about farm life in Tuscany.

A wonderful experience and a must-visit place just near the overwhelming tourist haven of San Gimignano.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddogaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

After taking a Tuscan cooking lesson at Il Vicario where we were served San Donato's wine, we drove there on our last day to check out their store. Their wine is well-priced and fantastic; have already polished off the first bottle back at home. We also purchased cans of their olio for gifts and a salami for ourselves. We've also dug into the salami and it is delicious. Well worth it! We wished we had stayed either here or at Il Vicario instead of the traditional hotel where we stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ChacaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great base for exploring Tuscany. The owners went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The property was stunning and it was nice to have our own little apartment. The room was clean, spacious, and cozy. And then of course there's the wine, olive oils, honey, etc. Breakfast was good and we heard lots of good things about the dinner, although we didn't have a chance to try it for ourselves. The only slight downfall was that the mattress was too firm for us. But that certainly won't stop us from going back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews