We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to slow down and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fattoria San Donato
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Upper Valley, NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice place to slow down and relax”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversay by hiking in Tuscany (Lonely Planet Medieval Hills trek) and we spent one night in an apartment here. It spacious with a lovely view of the countryside. It had a range and small refrigerator and there is a laundry facility on site. It even had a fireplace! Our hosts were especially helpful and welcoming, too. When we come back, it will be for a longer stay :o)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    89
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
116
188
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you want to experience living in the country as guests of a lovely Italian family this is the place for you. The warmth of the hospitality is beyond words. Having meals with the parents and children and guests in the evening is a special treat. If you haven't sampled grappa after dinner now is your chance. Our room was spacious and comfortable and took you back to what living in the Italian countryside must be like. A new and unique experience for us. We loved this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddhouston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I were on a 26th wedding anniversary trip through Europe during the last two weeks of October, 2012 and the middle of the trip involved three nights with the Fenzis at Fattoria San Donato. We arrived in the early evening with no real idea for dinner and although Umberto and Federica were putting on a pre-arranged meal for friends and family they invited and included us in on this wonderful feast. We were the only non-native Italian speakers in the room. This story exemplifies the care, comfort and welcoming environment of this "agriturismo" accommodation. Throughout our stay, directions, help, recommendations were all provided with great patience and each tip was better than the last! When we left for our next stop (Venice) Umberto was helping a group of four women deal with the loss of a wallet in Florence by one member of their party.

The room was very nice and had all the comforts any casual traveler would require. If you are looking for Mandarin Oriental, you will be disappointed! The daily breakfast was wonderful and generous. Federica's mother was in town and she made me great fresh scrambled eggs even though neither of us communicated in the other's language!

We purchased plenty of their home grown products and the wine is terrific, as good as any of the other producers we visited in Tuscany and better priced.

I cannot recommend a stay here more highly!! You will feel like you have REALLY visited Italy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJHirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely traditional atmosphere, and directly opposite is a huge nature reserve where the family had a great time going along the path to the Castelvecchio. Good views, delicious food and wine, and a great location for exploring Florence and Sienna. Very helpful directions and suggestions of activities from the hosts too. The friendly dog and table football kept the children entertained for the holiday. Thank you for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I went there on a family trip in September 2012 and had a great time: the place is rustic and seems authentic, it's very comfortable and peaceful and the hosts are amazing. They sell some very good vines and other Tuscan products.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana_bad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Fattoria San Donato in September, 2012 and had a wonderful experience there. So close to San Gimignano and yet a world apart from the throngs of tourists. The owners and their family were so gracious and made us feel very welcome indeed. The views from the Fattoria are marvelous, the food delicious, the wine excellent and the Fattoria itself is a real jewel, a little village of ancient buildings in itself. San Donato is a unique experience and one we will always remember. We also ordered a case of wine shipped home from there...so we'll think of Fattoria San Donato every time we open their wine.

Room Tip: We had a small cottage, plenty of room and outdoor seating area...all for a very reasonable price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Fattoria San Donato for 4 unforgettable days. Fattoria San Donato is located about 10 minutes from the main town of San Gimignano in the heart of vineyards and olive groves. We were greeted by the most hospitable owners, the Fenzis and were treated as part of the family the entire time. We had the most delightful time meeting other guests, the Fenzis daughters and even Umberto's mother in law who sounded just like Julia Child.

Our room was a spacious, rustic 2 bedroom apartment with a full kitchenette. Breakfast was served every morning until noon and was a nice spread of homemade jams, bread, cheese and meat slices. Every morsel was tasty. Unfortunately, dinner was not served every night but we had the pleasure of enjoying the fantastic country meal one night. It was about 25 Euros and was absolutely delicious, each dish drenched in homemade olive oil and full of earthy goodness. There were probably about 20 plates of food total with unlimited house wine. It was the best meal I had throughout my entire trip.

The only reason I gave the place 4 stars rather than 5 was location. There is no bus stop near by and requires taxi service to and from the main town. I highly recommend renting a car or scooter while you are here. The Fenzis however, graciously took us to town while taking his daughters to school in the morning. This was the kind of hospitably we received while we were there.

I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for the agriturismo experience. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayanakwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
599 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,260 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pescille
Hotel Pescille
#11 of 31 in San Gimignano
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria San Donato

Property: Fattoria San Donato
Address: Localita San Donato 6, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fattoria San Donato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bio agriturismo (farmhouse ) in the medioeval village, center of the Farm, lead by the Fenzi's family.In the green landscape of Tuscany with gardens, swimming pool, park games and tuscan food, for a real vacation in the nature but next to the principal cities of art. There are elegantly restructured rooms and apartments in the respect of the native architectures with furniture ancient and great fireplaces. Restaurant with local products, visit of the vineyards and cellars and wine tasting ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Fattoria San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria San Donato Hotel San Gimignano
Fattoria San Donato San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing