We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing place tucked away in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fattoria San Donato
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing place tucked away in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I traveled with 3 other couples we were all lucky that one of our travel mates found this place online. It was an amazing location. We had driven from Venice to San Donato and were extremely happy to realize how easy the trip was. Even if there were some moments of scary driving.

We arrived in San Donato in the early evening just before the sun went down. We were greeted by Umberto and he was so warm and informative. He recommended a restaurant in San Gimignano, which was delicious. We had rented two apartments that were very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was plentiful and also delicious. There were options of fresh fruit, breads, hard boiled eggs, cereal and yogurt (I hope I didn't forget anything). The backdrop was an amazing hillside vineyard, with mystical buildings serving as the rooms and the breakfast area.

We bought several bottles of their organic wine and are now big fans of San Donato wine. We highly recommend this for anyone traveling in the area. As a big group it was nice to be able to come back to the apartment and congregate and rehash the many funny stories of the day over several delicious glasses of wine.

Room Tip: Ask how to best start up the fireplace. We tried our best but were unsuccessful...that would have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    87
    17
    5
    10
See reviews for
114
176
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We just happened by this enchanting place. Rustic, beautiful and authentic. the hosts were very friendly. we stayed in a cottage -very roomy an comfortable. A great place to tour the country side from. close to Sn gimigano and Volterra and a nice refuge from the tourist scene. Food and wine were great. Highly recommend for the non five star crowd|

Room Tip: the cottage was really nice and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonyplaintravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We have been to San Gimignano 3 times, and know the place well. The last time we stayed at Fattoria San Donato, and it was absolutely wonderful! Our kids loved to play with the dogs and feed the animals (pig, goats, chickens...) The swimmingpool was nice, and Frederica and Umberto were the most friendly and helpful hosts I've ever had.

Every day Frederica asked us what kind of food we wanted for our children, and the meals (and wine) was the best I've ever tasted in Italy!

What will you get at San Donato? Extremely friendly hosts, extraordinary meals, authentic atmosphere, peace of mind.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn_Ove_Thue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We were staying in a neighboring Agriturismo but wanted an authentic wine tasting experience. Being from California, we have had the pleasure of going to many tasting rooms but FATTORIA SAN DONATO was beyond our expectations!
We called and the same day were greeted like long lost family and felt so welcomed. We were amazed to walk down the steps into a cellar set up for the most scrumptious wine tasting lunch with breads, cheeses, vegetables, olives, wines and marmalades! The presentation was beautiful but EVEN more wonderful were the explanations from Frederika and Umberto and their charming oldest daughter. They all have personality PLUS! After a tour of the wine making process, we went back down into the cellar for some yummy cappuchinos and biscotti. What a great experience. We hope to go back SOMEDAY.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sydneymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I found Fattoria San Donato at the last minute, but we were pleasantly surprised and definitely recommend this place.

We were shown to a clean and large apartment in Tuscan country style with free, strong WIFI in the rooms (something we've specified in bookings before only to be disappointed). We did have to move rooms as there was a problem with the drains, but the second apartment we were shown to was bigger and just as nice. We thought the rates were reasonable, and they included a large and delicious breakfast.

The farm has incredible views of the surrounding countryside and San Gimignano. We really felt like we were in a Tuscan idyll. It's not a 5 star sort of place, it is more rustic than that, but that's why we loved it, it's comfortable, romantic and uniquely italian rather than having all the mod cons. The apartments have kitchenettes, and all was clean and well presented.

The hosts are warm, helpful and relaxed and we felt like part of their large family including staff, guests, rescue pets and Lavander the pig! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, either of San Gimignano or the rolling, vine clad hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingstar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We visited San Donato one evening for a tour of the winery, a wine tasting, and dinner in the agritourismo. Wow! We had a fantastic tour, a crash course in wines, and a fantastic buffet dinner. The owner and operator was most kind and he took time to explain wines in basic terminology, show us his factory, sample the wines, and even photograph us. Dinner was especially delicious with a full buffet spread. The buffet included cured meats, cheeses, olives, vegetables, various mushrooms, farro, fruits, pork, rosotto, & even a delicious saffron pasta. I have to admit... I put in a request for the saffron pasta... and it was wonderful! For dessert, we had wonderful cantucci. Of course the meal included house wines, vin santo, and grappa. I wouldn't hesitate to reccomend a visit to this winery, a dinner, or both!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWJ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This year we stayed at FSD for the third time. In 2009 we got married there, and we come back every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary at that magic, beautiful place!
We were welcomed back as if we were family (and it sure feels like that) and "our" apartment Vallabagni was ready for us. Our home away from home.... Vallibagni is a charming apartment, with a separate kitchen/livingroom. FSD is the best place if you want to explore Tuscany, with Siena, Florence, Volterra, Lucca, and other beautiful cities within reach. The fattoria offers B&B, but several times a week you can have dinner there as well, which we can highly recommend! Those evenings are very nice. You get to meet nice people, and the food is extraordinary. We were so very lucky Federica cooked the pork in Vernaccia, which we had as our wedding meal as well. Delicious! All the food and wines are of very high quality. We are looking forward staying at Fattoria San Donato again in september next year... Can't wait!!!

Room Tip: All apartments are charming and have lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingveertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
1.8 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
5.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria San Donato

Property: Fattoria San Donato
Address: Localita San Donato 6, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fattoria San Donato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bio agriturismo (farmhouse ) in the medioeval village, center of the Farm, lead by the Fenzi's family.In the green landscape of Tuscany with gardens, swimming pool, park games and tuscan food, for a real vacation in the nature but next to the principal cities of art. There are elegantly restructured rooms and apartments in the respect of the native architectures with furniture ancient and great fireplaces. Restaurant with local products, visit of the vineyards and cellars and wine tasting ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fattoria San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria San Donato Hotel San Gimignano
Fattoria San Donato San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing