We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views from our balcony”
Review of La Cisterna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cisterna Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2014

If you want a room with a view, then this is the hotel for you. We asked to be booked into a room looking out over the valley and weren't disappointed.
Hotel itself, was nice enough, rooms what you would expect, clean and comfortable.
One thing to disappoint was breakfast, there was a buffet which was fine, but then if you wanted eggs, bacon, or fresh juices you had to pay for them. It would have been better if they added a bit to the room price and included a decent breakfast or didn't offer anything hot at all - I've never been to a hotel before with breakfast included and then been expected to pay extra for a hot breakfast. bit weird???

Room Tip: one at the back with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristiana58, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Cisterna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Julie C,
thank you very much for your review.
It's a pleasure to know you enjoyed the room and the view over the valley. We are pleased to know cleaning, comfortable and staff was up to your expectations. Our traditional Breakfast, as you find in lots of Italian Hotels, is a "Continental Breakfast". It's a free big Buffet with pastries, croissant, cakes, different kind of bread, cereals, yogurt, ham, salami, cheese, soft, and hard boiled eggs, butter, marmalade, jam, honey and and chocolate cream, coffee, milk, tea, cappuccino and fruit juice and hot chocolate. But of course we also have a Breakfast menu with some of the most popular dishes of the "Full Intercontinental Breakfast" like scrambled eggs, sausages, omelettes and other dishes that we prepare at the time. For the moment, we prefer not to raise prices but continue to serve the traditional "Continental Breakfast". But thanks in any case for the suggestions. We hope to see in your next trip to San Gimignano, we send you all our best regards
Sincerely La Cisterna family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 778 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed here 15 years ago and loved it, and returned this year to find the same amazing views, the same terrific and filling breakfast, the same friendly service. Driving up through the city streets to drop off luggage feels very strange since so few cars are allowed into the village streets, but glad we could do it.
We were kindly upgraded, without even asking for it, from a single room for our family of four, to two adjacent rooms that opened onto a common terrace with the Tuscan countryside view you see in postcards.
We hope to return, but not have to wait another 15 years!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWtraveler969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristiana58, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Cisterna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear NWtraveler969,
thank you for you wonderful review.
Our greatest success is to have loyal customers as well as you that return to visit us! Thank you for mentioned the quality of our Breakfast, our service and our rooms. We tell you something: it's great for us to work in a place beautiful as a postcard and it's even better that we can share it with you! Thank you for choosing again La Cisterna Hotel for your stay and taking the time to review our property.
We hope to see you soon again,
all our best regards La Cisterna family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

A wonderful hotel in a magnificent town. We had a balcony room overlooking the Piazza for my birthday. Room was very comfortable and clean and an excellent breakfast in the dinning room with views over the Tuscan countryside .
We arrived by car, parking and finding the hotel was made easy by a phone call to the hotel. You can drive up into the town and park outside the hotel while you check in and unload. Parking is then available at a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Could not fault Hotel La Cisterna and would highly recommend it. A perfect position in a charming town.
John Auckland New Zealand

Room Tip: Your choice. Lovely looking over the Piazza or the Tuscany countryside. Piazza view are a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John19442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristiana58, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Cisterna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear John,
thank you so much for your wonderful words, they reach our heart!
It's a really pleasure for us to know you had a great stay in our Hotel and you will keep a good memory of our town! We are happy you liked your room with balcony overlooking the square, it's very spectacular when you open the window and it seems to be in a movie! Was a pleasure for us to give you information about ca park, we can imagine that san Gimignano is not so easy to drive for foreigners people. People can call to have more informations on how reach our Hotel and download a map from our website.
We send you a big hug from San Gimignano! Best regards, La Cisterna family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

San Gimignano is the Jewel of Tuscany and this hotel is right in the heart of this Jewel! I have been to San Gimignano multiple times and have stayed in this very hotel every time. The location can not be better! You walk out of the hotel and you are right in the center of the main Piazza with the best Gelato shops, Pizzerias , Cafes and all kinds of shops within just a few steps. The daily breakfast brunch in a gorgeous part of their award winning restaurant with amazing views is definitely a treat. The rooms are very clean and the ones with a balcony overlooking the Tuscan hills take my breath away every time I open the windows and see the green rolling Tuscan hills. I love San Gimignano and this Hotel makes every experience even more amazing! I highly highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with views overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ellireza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristiana58, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Cisterna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, your review fills us with immense pride. It's important for us to give good emotions and the right facilities for your holiday. Thanks for your loyalty to our Hotel. We are waiting for you soon in our hotel where you will always be well coming! All our best regards La Cisterna's family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We loved our second visit to La Cisterna. The location of the hotel is terrific and the views once you are in your room of the Tuscan Countryside are amazing. We look forward to our next visit there!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristiana58, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Cisterna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Madam, it's a really pleasure to know you keep a good memory of our Hotel, we wait you for your next holiday! All our best regards la Cisterna's family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The location is in a village at the top of a hill with a no car entry policy. We parked up in the most expensive one closest to the town and dragged our bags up the Main Street at night; not sure where we were going but you can't fault the hotel for being in the centre!

The room had an interesting design scheme; pink with details and gold painted furniture and a light blue bathroom tiling. Definitely not to my taste however I'm sure someone else might would like it. The window view was at some apartments I think, which were pretty close by. Nothing special.

The bed was a single base with two separate mattresses. Not great.

The best parts of the breakfast were the view and the coffee machine. The worst was the poor selection and a weird egg boiling machine and it's set up. The view out over the valley is superb.

We stayed three nights and the town had all the feel of a theme park; day time lots of tourists and once the buses stopped the place calmed down and in the evening it was very pleasant.

The noticeable thing about the town was the shops were small,craft and art oriented and focussed on particular lines and didn't sell tat and rubbish. The hotel was not stylish enough for its surroundings and the breakfast really let it down.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 2elephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristiana58, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Cisterna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, thank you for your review it helps us to make better. As you saw we have different kind of rooms and some of that have one big double bed (junior suit). At breakfast we have breakfast menu or a free buffet where we serve hot and cold drinks, juices, 4 kind of bread and panini, butter, jam, cereals, yogurth, fresh fruits, home made cakes, croissants, donouts, ham, salami, cheese and fresh eggs that you can cook soft-boiled or hard boiled. For the next time we infom you about our shuttle bus service that you can book in advance (you can find more information on our website). Thank you again for choosing our Hotel. Hoping to see you as our guest next time, we send you all our best regards. La Cisterna's family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Hotel Cisterna has the best location, right in the center of town. Stayed here one night and thoroughly enjoyed San Gimiginano. We got a room facing right out onto the piazza, a little noisy at night but not too bad, really enjoyed the view and people watching.
Room was a good size, bathroom was a little on the tight side but was very clean. Breakfast was good and the view over the Tuscan countryside whilst having our breakfast was an added bonus.
Loved the town and would stay here again, good value for money.

Room Tip: Room facing onto the piazza if your only staying one night.. great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dj4daly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cisterna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cisterna Hotel

Address: Piazza Della Cisterna 23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range: $96 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cisterna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cisterna Hotel, located in the earth of San Gimignano, is the right place to be close to the main attractions and to the little shops of the main street. The elegance and simplicity of the furniture is combined with discretion with all modern comforts, a harmonious fusion of past and future. The family's commitment has always been to welcome its guest with hospitality and professionalism. Comfortable rooms with air conditioning, TVsat, mini fridge, hairdryer, safe and Wi-Fi Internet. Buffet breakfast with gluten free products . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Cisterna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Cisterna
La Cisterna San Gimignano
La Cisterna Hotel San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing