We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous views in wonderful town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cisterna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cisterna Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views in wonderful town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We loved our second visit to La Cisterna. The location of the hotel is terrific and the views once you are in your room of the Tuscan Countryside are amazing. We look forward to our next visit there!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristiana58, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Cisterna Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Madam, it's a really pleasure to know you keep a good memory of our Hotel, we wait you for your next holiday! All our best regards la Cisterna's family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    304
    101
    28
    7
See reviews for
115
400
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The location is in a village at the top of a hill with a no car entry policy. We parked up in the most expensive one closest to the town and dragged our bags up the Main Street at night; not sure where we were going but you can't fault the hotel for being in the centre!

The room had an interesting design scheme; pink with details and gold painted furniture and a light blue bathroom tiling. Definitely not to my taste however I'm sure someone else might would like it. The window view was at some apartments I think, which were pretty close by. Nothing special.

The bed was a single base with two separate mattresses. Not great.

The best parts of the breakfast were the view and the coffee machine. The worst was the poor selection and a weird egg boiling machine and it's set up. The view out over the valley is superb.

We stayed three nights and the town had all the feel of a theme park; day time lots of tourists and once the buses stopped the place calmed down and in the evening it was very pleasant.

The noticeable thing about the town was the shops were small,craft and art oriented and focussed on particular lines and didn't sell tat and rubbish. The hotel was not stylish enough for its surroundings and the breakfast really let it down.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2elephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristiana58, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Cisterna Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam, thank you for your review it helps us to make better. As you saw we have different kind of rooms and some of that have one big double bed (junior suit). At breakfast we have breakfast menu or a free buffet where we serve hot and cold drinks, juices, 4 kind of bread and panini, butter, jam, cereals, yogurth, fresh fruits, home made cakes, croissants, donouts, ham, salami, cheese and fresh eggs that you can cook soft-boiled or hard boiled. For the next time we infom you about our shuttle bus service that you can book in advance (you can find more information on our website). Thank you again for choosing our Hotel. Hoping to see you as our guest next time, we send you all our best regards. La Cisterna's family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Hotel Cisterna has the best location, right in the center of town. Stayed here one night and thoroughly enjoyed San Gimiginano. We got a room facing right out onto the piazza, a little noisy at night but not too bad, really enjoyed the view and people watching.
Room was a good size, bathroom was a little on the tight side but was very clean. Breakfast was good and the view over the Tuscan countryside whilst having our breakfast was an added bonus.
Loved the town and would stay here again, good value for money.

Room Tip: Room facing onto the piazza if your only staying one night.. great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dj4daly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We did not have reservations and expected this hotel to be unaffordable being it was in the center of town. We were traveling with three other couples. They offered us the four terrace rooms with the most incredible views ever! The large, shared, terrace was perfect for our group. We were only there one night and wished we had more time. After walking around all day, it was great to just walk into the hotel and take a break.

Room Tip: Choose a terrace room for an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R2RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Wen you visit San Gimignano, treat yourself to a valley view room at La Cisterna Hotel. This is the only place I will stay when visiting this mountain top village. Each morning you will wake up to the most magnificent views of the Tuscan hills that you can imagine. Rooms 59 and 60 have the best views. The rooms are very large and well appointed with tall French doors that open to a balcony where you can take in the beauty of Tuscany.
The buffet breakfast that is included is the best anywhere. A large variety of breakfast items, eggs, meats, yogurts, fruit, and more. Don't forget the cappuccinos, and views! If you are lucky enough to spend the night in San Gimignano, book room 59.

Room Tip: Rooms 59 and 60 look over all of the Tuscan valley below. Breathtaking vistas you will never forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Excellent hotel. Location brilliant, staff friendly and helpful.
Restaurant on top floor, good value set dinner and stunning views
we booked a room with a balcony, only one down side room 503 is immediately below the kitchen on top floor so a little noisy early evening but this did not detract from stunning views from balcony. Take the offer of bus from car park to hotel, in summer very hot walk up hill!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel della Cisterna is located in the splendid medieval center of San Gimignano and is itself an beautiful historic building and an integral part of the town's main square. We had a "premium" room with a stunning view of Piazza della Cisterna. If location is what matters most (as it was for us), then this hotel may be right for you, however do not expect one of those random jewels that delight travelers to Italy.
The king bed is in fact composed of two uncomfortable military-grade single beds, the bathroom is tiny and barely functional, and service overall indifferent when not outright rude. The hotel clearly operates with the knowledge that they will only get you once anyway .. and the level of care reflects that. A shame, because the position can't be beat.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Piazza will give you great photos but possibly a sleepless night thanks to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexprr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cisterna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cisterna Hotel

Property: La Cisterna Hotel
Address: Piazza Della Cisterna 23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cisterna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cisterna Hotel, located in the earth of San Gimignano, is the right place to be close to the main attractions and to the little shops of the main street. The elegance and simplicity of the furniture is combined with discretion with all modern comforts, a harmonious fusion of past and future. The family's commitment has always been to welcome its guest with hospitality and professionalism. Comfortable rooms with air conditioning, TVsat, mini fridge, hairdryer, safe and Wi-Fi Internet. Buffet breakfast with gluten free products . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cisterna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Cisterna
La Cisterna San Gimignano
La Cisterna Hotel San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing