We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cisterna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cisterna Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel was built in the 14th C, but it has modern amenities. The view was amazing and can be seen from the restaurant and from most rooms. It is right in the middle of town, but don't worry about noise. My daughter and I decided to take a walk and to out delight, a market had been set up! This was on a Tuesday, but If you want to go to a market, you might want to check the market day as I had heard it was on Thursday. We ate at the hotel on the main plaza. It was fun watching the people. Two musicians were playing music nearby. I would definitely go back!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    301
    100
    28
    7
See reviews for
114
398
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel was right in the heart of the town, it was so good that we were amazed at how cheap it is!
The breakfast is great and the staff are wonderful

Room Tip: All are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

You can't get a better location in this town. The hotel is directly on the main plaza and easy walking distance to everywhere. The room was neat and clean however not all the rooms have a view particularly the lower priced rooms. If you want a view pay the extra for a room upgrade. The staff were ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is wonderfully situated in the center of this historic town. We spent a little extra to have a room on the top floor with a balcony and views of both the square and vineyards and well this was great the hotel falls short in a few areas. The front reception staff wasn't especially friendly (a bit lazy) and our room had tons of dead flies in the bathroom...gross. Plus, the elevator only goes to the second floor which makes for a lot of lugging if you don't travel light.
All in all it was just okay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1MonthaYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
295 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Hotel is located directly facing the cistern on one of two main squares in San Gimignano. You can drive right up to the front door to unload luggage prior to parking. Unlike other small towns it is an easy almost straight shot on the drive into the wall and old town. I found the staff very accomadating and helpful. My room was a single a not real fancy but was clean and adequate. I ate at the Hotel for dinner and found the restaurant to be excellent. The Interior was neat and the view was to die for. The breakfast was also all you could eat and ask for.

Room Tip: You can request a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We paid for a superior room and weren't disappointed. The room (number 64) was spacious with a lovely bathroom. The view from the window was spectacular, looking out over the surrounding countryside. It is such a popular view that many people stop along the path below for photos, which actually made the room rather noisy with the window open (small price to pay!). The hotel is in a great position too for exploring the rest of the town and just behind it is the great restaurant Dulcisinfundo, which makes for an excellent evening out as you just pop around the corner for a wonderful meal. Breakfast is served in their dining room, again with sweeping views of the valley below.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buttonlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in La Cisterna with a tour group that had reserved a block of rooms. The hotel is in the historic center, very well located for exploratory walks of this beautiful town, and just across the square from The World's Best Gelato, and the competing World Champion Gelato. But we drew the short straw, and our room was dark, cramped, poorly lighted and a bit depressing. It was directly over the square, so it was not possible to keep the windows open to get fresh air if we wanted to shut out the noise. The breakfast room is bright and spacious with a panoramic view, and the selection of food is fine (as long as you aren't hoping for bacon and eggs, which after nearly two weeks in Italy we were not), but there is virtually no service, and bad coffee comes from a machine. Some members of our tour group had larger rooms with a view of the valley, so their experience was better. The staff members at the reception desk were rather indifferent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridRPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cisterna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cisterna Hotel

Property: La Cisterna Hotel
Address: Piazza Della Cisterna 23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cisterna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cisterna Hotel, located in the earth of San Gimignano, is the right place to be close to the main attractions and to the little shops of the main street. The elegance and simplicity of the furniture is combined with discretion with all modern comforts, a harmonious fusion of past and future. The family's commitment has always been to welcome its guest with hospitality and professionalism. Comfortable rooms with air conditioning, TVsat, mini fridge, hairdryer, safe and Wi-Fi Internet. Buffet breakfast with gluten free products . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cisterna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Cisterna
La Cisterna San Gimignano
La Cisterna Hotel San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing