We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location, lovely property!”
other travelers have booked this property
I'l Granario - the perfect Tuscan retreat with all the comforts of home!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
I'l Granario - the perfect Tuscan retreat with all the comforts of home!
The well equipped kitchen with integrated appliances The spacious and beautifully furnished master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
I'l Granario - the perfect Tuscan retreat with all the comforts of home!
The well equipped kitchen with integrated appliances
The spacious and beautifully furnished master bedroom
The pool surrounded by gardens and enjoying a panoramic view of the tuscan landscape
The lounge with fireplace, log burner and leather furnishings
Master bathroom showing shower, wc and handbasin. Also contains washing machine.
Upstairs bedroom - en suite bathroom not shown
The lounge with full height patio windows
The dining area with exposed stone wall
The fully fitted kitchen
The panoramic view of the morning mist from I'l Granario's garden
Sunset over the pool!
The view from the gravelled patio showing the comfy chairs and glass topped table
I'l Granario from the patio area
Podere Torricchi - set in rolling Tuscan countryside
The covered gazebo surrounded by flowers - perfect for al fresco summer dining
The poolside terrace and gazebo
l'l Granario at night!
Garden view towards the West
The fabulous skyline of San Gimignano
Local vineyards
The beautiful sunset from I'l Granario's garden
Autumn mist over San Gimignano
View from San Gimignano
View of the Appenine Mountains from the Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CJMESQ
England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, lovely property!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a truly fabulous memorable stay at this Tuscan paradise. Located about 45 mins from Pisa airport by car the scenic journey was the start of our holiday. Instructions by the owner were very clear and easy to follow. The property itself is located away from any roads resulting in a very quiet location, stunning views across the countryside that changed with different weather conditions and the time of day. A good sized swimming pool and lounging area. The house was maintained to a very high standard, very clean and well equipped. A good well equipped kitchen, a lovely lounge, 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms. A good seating area outside perfect for BBQ etc and watching stunning sunsets. As there was almost no light pollution the night sky was very good for star gazers or for myself just an amazing sight. There are plenty of places to visit nearby and a good choice of places to eat. The owner Steve was very helpful throughout and I would therefore highly recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes, the views whether at night or day are truly amazing, especially the night sky when its clear. I'm pleased to hear that you found everything you needed at the house and had such a memorable stay.

Warm Regards

Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Never tire of visiting this place”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our fifth trip in recent years to Torrichi and the third occasion we have rented accommodation from Steve the owner. Those facts speak for themselves and this really is a class place to visit whether just to relax in the peace and tranquility or explore the wonderful towns and countryside. To echo other comments, Steve's management and communication is first class and just enhances a fabulous holiday experience. We will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review. I value the opinion of every guest but as you have been coming to Torricchi for so long and have seen the site 'blossoming' over that time it's especially pleasing to know that you still enjoy your stays so much and wish to return. Thank you for being such a super guest and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnScott
Orange, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“set in quiet picturesque countryside”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Well located for local sorties and day trips to many cities Il Granario sits on hillside with scenic views towards Volterra. Support and helpful information online and in villa from owner was exceptional. Website description calls this a luxury villa - we wouldn't go that far but it was very comfortable for four adults. An essential for us was laundry facilities having been on the road for several days however advertised clothes dryer was a clothes rack only which was disappointing as description itemised washing machine and dryer. Road access was interesting - we live in rural Australia and are used to rough roads but this was challenging. Go slow, hire a vehicle with good clearance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting on the terrace, local wine in hand, superb outlook
Liked least: showers leak over bathroom floor
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments about the service I provided. You will have seen from a more recent review that the access road has now undergone repair, I visited a few days ago and can confirm that the road is in much better condition. It is a gravel surface and this is very common in rural parts of Tuscany but it is now much easier to use. I also note your comments about the clothes dryer. It is very unusual for rental properties to provide electric clothes driers as the drying rack combined with the hot weather is normally sufficient to quickly dry washing. I will however update my website to clarify this.
I hope to welcome you again in the future,
Very Best Wishes,
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alf B
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Tuscany countryside”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just recently returned from our second stay at I'l Granario, set in the spectacular Tuscan countryside, with views and scenery to die for! This is a very comfortable house to stay in, with all necessary modern amenities and comfortably sleeps four adults, with its two bedrooms. A car is a must, however, but allows the towns of Volterra, San Gimignano and Siena to be explored, all of which are well worth a visit. There is a lovely pool area in which you can relax and swim surrounded by panoramic views. Steve the owner goes out of his way to provide first class customer service for his guests and nothing is too much trouble for this very genuine person. We would fully support those other guests who have given this accommodation it's 5 star rating. The 2.5 km gravelled road leading to the property has recently undergone repair work and is now far easier to travel on than was the case last year when we stayed. This was the only minor criticism that others have made of this accommodation, but the recent refurbishment of the gravelled road has now addressed this. We would fully recommend this as an ideal holiday property if staying in beautiful Tuscany.
Mr & Mrs Bean. 15/6/14.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable accommodation in beautiful surroundings
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, I was delighted to welcome you back again. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the house and the amazing views. The access road is shared by other property owners and farmers and I have made every effort to improve its condition so I am pleased that the recent repairs made your journey that much easier and you included this in your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Warm Regards
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarge909
Newlyn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Steve the owner was great to deal with from the beginning to the the end of rental process. Very attentive and available at a moments notice to answer any problems.

The property is extremely well equipped and has everything you would need to support your stay. The location is set in the middle of the Tuscan countryside and within comfortable traveling distance of the major tourist attractions in the area.

There are a number of other properties adjacent to the rented house, but they were empty during our stay (early in the season) which was fine our group. It will obviously get busier later in the season which may not suit everyone.

The sunsets were spectacular. The swimming pool was cold although not surprising given the time of year. The drive to the house some 2.5km off the main road is a challenge.

All in all a super holiday and real value for money

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2014
Thank you for your great review, I am pleased to hear you found my home met your expectations and its always a pleasure to fully support my guests. I can reassure future guests that only four of the properties are rented, the Italian owners of the others do visit occasionally, especially at weekends, but most of the year it is as you experienced. Yes, that road needs to be driven along carefully and its not untypical of roads to rural properties in Tuscany. However it is worth the slight inconvenience to get to such a wonderful setting. I have been negotiating with the other users of the road to have it completely resurfaced so improvements are on the way! Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I appreciate your helpful feedback. Very Best Wishes,
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSalt
John Salt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Owner Support For a Lovely Property”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

As many others have said this is a lovely property with all of the amenities and very close to many tourist destinations and shopping areas. The home is comfortable and clean. If you read all of the other 5 star ratings for this property you will know how we felt about our stay.

What most impressed us is that the owner (Steve) bends over backwards to accommodate. We had originally planned to visit in 2012 but personal circumstances (a very bad accident the day before we were to leave and a week before we were to be in Tuscany) had us cancelling. Rather than just keeping our money Steve did everything he could to rent the property. He was successful and only charged us a nominal admin fee. Incredible!! We were able to travel in 2013 and were not disappointed. Once you arrive you will find extensive information packages prepared by Steve that tell you everything you need and everywhere you might want to go. If you are looking for a beautiful location, a clean and comfortable accommodation and an owner who understands customer service you need to visit and stay at this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uwe N
Acworth, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“You will ove this place - perfect Tuscan vacation villa”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Please see my earlier review - you will not be disappointed by this villa. Great setting with beautiful views, quiet, well equipped. Excellent support by the owner Steve Pitts. Good starting point for trips to Florence, Pisa, Volterra and San Gimignano.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surrounding countryside
Liked least: Gravel road to property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed i'l Granario. Since your stay I have had all the shrubs at the front and side of the private garden removed or cut very low to open up those gorgeous views. I hope that one day you will return and I will be able to welcome you back to this beautiful part of Tuscany.

Warm Regards

Steve Pitts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing