We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Day in Tuscany”

Guardastelle Vineyard
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome in our house! Walking distance from San Gimignano, one of the most important towns of Tuscany, during the wine tour you'll discover a part of Tuscany that few people knows. You'll understand how is the countrylife in this part of the world. I won't say what our tour includes or not.....reviews speaks for us! We wait to welcome you, as private or group. Reservation required to tour the farm.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our family paid a visit to this idyllic spot at the base of the amazing Tuscan village of San Gimignano. We were treated to a traditional lunch and sampled both the wonderful wines and delicious olive oil, all the while hosted by the owner/ proprietor who explained the history of this property and their approach to making wine. The setting is pure Tuscany: rolling hills, vineyards, olive trees and a quaint farmhouse feel, all in the shadow of San Gimignano. Had we known that they also offer rooms for overnight stays, we probably would have made plans to stay. We can't wait for a return visit.

1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Guardastelle Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear "Paul H",
so now you have to start to plan another trip to Tuscany to stay at Guardastelle.....what's a shame!! ;-)
Many thanks for your kind visit and your review, I sincerely hope to see you again to have some more nice chat together.

Best,
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fausto and susanna"
in 22 reviews
"wine and olive oil"
in 58 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 102 reviews
"the owner"
in 37 reviews
"making process"
in 9 reviews
"informative tour"
in 18 reviews
"great wine"
in 28 reviews
"delicious lunch"
in 21 reviews
"olive trees"
in 17 reviews
"bruschetta"
in 23 reviews
"b b"
in 18 reviews
"lovely tour"
in 7 reviews
"local honey"
in 6 reviews
"back home"
in 15 reviews
"wine making"
in 14 reviews
"great host"
in 7 reviews
"traditional tuscan lunch"
in 5 reviews
Filter

323 - 327 of 545 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

Ten of us stopped by for the winery tour and lunch on March 26. Fausto greeted us and did an excellent job of showing us the winery, explaining the process and walking us through our wine tasting. Lunch was very good and paired with the wines just right. Afterward, our group visited San Gimignano, which is close by. Altogether, the tour and lunch were a wonderful way to experience a day on Tuscany. Highly recommend!

1  Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Guardastelle Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear "vivian M",
and I think it is the best way to understand the inescapable connection between food and wine in Tuscany!
Many thanks for your visit (you were so kind) and the time you spent to share your experience.

PS: good choice leave your car here and go in town by walk ;-)

Grazie!!
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We forgot to plan ahead and a day before going tomthis winery we looked it up here on Trip Advisor and couldn't have had a better experience. However, we were lucky that it was a fairly slow day, so making a reservation is a good idea. We went over for lunch, which was simple, yet very tasteful. The wines are also good, but the real show stoppers are the view and the friendliness of the people working in the winery. The place is absolutely beautiful: everything you would expect from a Tuscan winery. Definately a 5 star program!

2  Thank Pedro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Guardastelle Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear "Pedro O",
I'm glad that you are satisfied about your visit, this is probably our best reward!
We are very lucky for our location in this immaculate and well mantained countryside.

Hopefully you'll come back some day to enjoy your stay with us at the house.

Regards,
Fausto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

If i could rate it higher i would. The tour of the vineyards and cellar with Fausto was great and he was very patient and answered all of our question. The meal with matching wine was fantastic and i would recommend strongly toanyone staying in Tuscany. The 2008 Chainti is very smooth and we bought a couple of bottles to take home.
This was the cherry on the top of our time in Tuscany.

1  Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Guardastelle Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear "Albywon",
thanks for your great review, you are too kind!
It was a pleasure to let you know our way of living and work. Own a farmhouse is a way of life more than just a job! And it is important for us that you understood that!

Many thanks for your visit and your review. Please keep in touch with us on facebook, just type our name (Agriturismo Guardastelle) on it!

All the best,
Fausto & Susanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed a wine tasting at Sovestro as part of a trip from Florence organised by Ciaoflorence, and after visiting Monteriggioni, Siena (where we had lunch) and San Gimignano. By the time we reached Sovestro we had already formed a friendly relationship with others on the tour. In spite of four languages being spoken by the group, our tour guide, Giulio, kept everyone well informed by his use of Spanish, English and German as well as his native Itallian. At the tasting we enjoyed three of their wines which we were able to purchase afterwards (difficult to resist) in comfortable surroundings whilst having the process of wine production explainded to us. It made an enjoyable ending to a wonderful day and we would highly recommend the total experience.

Thank tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Guardastelle Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear "tony K",
I'm glad that you enjoyed your tour and the stop at our wine cellar. I'm glad because you had only a simple wine tasting, imagine how you could be satisfied with the full tour that you can book yourself.......ok, next time! Hope to see you again, maybe to stay at our accomodation!

All the best,
Fausto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guardastelle Vineyard also viewed

 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Guardastelle Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing