We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing that this restaurant is not among top 10 yet!”

Ristorante Dorando'
Ranked #64 of 126 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Dorando' is a small, intimate Restaurant for whosoever love a good cookery. Is located in the heart of San Gimignano, between two suggestive squares, "Piazza del Duomo" and "Piazza della Cisterna" in a 14 century building. The cuisine, harmonizes with the ambiance presents dishes which are creative and light inspired by old perfumes and tastes of Tuscan Cookery. Dishes prepared with fresh and genuine products. Large choice of Tuscan wines.
Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing that this restaurant is not among top 10 yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The food was exquisite. I had mint pesto pici - and you could distinguish the taste of every single ingredient. I would also highly recommend the girandola di coniglio - amazing taste! The service was excellent, non-intrusive and yet omni-present. The wine recommended by the waitress perfectly matched our different choices of main course.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SasaR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    59
    26
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service-should be rated near the top!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

4 of us went for a friend's Birthday. We got free bubbly on arrival, and appetiser and then went for taster menu's, of which there were 2 kinds-typical and classic. As I'm vegetarian they replaced the meat dishes with other options, no problem at all. Had a couple of great Chianti's and the food was really great. Service was top notch too. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helgatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very fine restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant, which lies just off the beaten track, offers excellent food! On this hot summerday in august the restaurant was pleasantly cooled. Homemade pasta, special courses with local ingredients and a great wine list. Good service and advice on the wine. Prices are high but in accordance with the quality of the food. One of the best restaurants we visites during our stay in Tuscany.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pietreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We found this place by chance recognising the 'Slow Food' logo on the sign. The food was superb, very authentically Italian and of the best local quality. We also enjoyed a very nice bottle of local white wine.

Recommend the plate of local meats as a starter - absolutely beautiful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Odebash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This restaurant should be ranked higher in the TripAdvisor list. We had a delicious meal. the staff were friendly though formal. The quail starter was really good and we had pasta which was well above average. Would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliaa573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Dorando' also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Dorando'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing