We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best attractions in San Gimignano”
Review of San Gimignano 1300

San Gimignano 1300
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.84*
and up
Siena, San Gimignano, and Greve in Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the town of San Gimignano, re-created in miniature, as it appeared in medieval times. It is accompanied by historical dioramas and a fascinaating timeline of the town's history.A new and exciting activity through the streets of the medieval town, solving puzzles, riddles and pitfalls.The protagonists will receive a kit that includes a map of the city as it was in the 1300s, a pen and a 14 page booklet where they will find not only the riddles for the hunt but also detailed explanations on all the towers that still exist today,on the 4 “Contrade” or neighborhoods and the most important families of that period.The treasure hunt is available in Italian, English and French.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best attractions in San Gimignano”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

After the Torre Grossa (highest tower in San Gimignano) this is the next "must see" attraction. The model of the city, as it was in around 1300, is absolutely fantastic, and well worth a visit. The model is set on a low table, so children can get a street level, through one of the many city gates. Adults can get a "birds eye" view of the city or the same "street level view if they crouch down. It feels like going back in time. The background music is very atmospheric and the staff were very pleasant and helpful with a very good English. The display is located on the street parallel with the main street and runs beside the Torre Grossa, and about 100m south of the tower. It is free to get in, but having seen all the years of work that went into making the model, you will be embarrassed to leave without making a sizeable donation. One of the creators of the model is also an artisan potter who is on site creating hand made pottery.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    277
    34
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bird's eye view of the medieval town - San Gimignano”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Located just one block off the main street running the length of San Gimignano, this huge model of the town in the year 1300 is well worth a detour. Free admission and built at eye level for kids, it gives you another perspective of this historic town. Make it an early stop on your visit to the town to get an idea of the city in it's heyday. Helpful and friendly staff will proudly explain the model, hand built lovingly out of clay with wonderful detail. There's no admission but a small donation is appreciated and helps to keep the model (and small attached museum) open.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LovesToTravelSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Seek this out - it's really worth it”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stumbled across this exhibition by chance off a back street. It is a large detailed model of how the town may have looked when the towers were built and a model of the inside of a tower. It makes much more sense of what you see outside in the town. If you crouch down to eye level you feel you are walking back in history and it makes a great photo. Even if you only have a short time to visit the town, this exhibition is worth a quick look.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This does exist and is well worth doing!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We decided to try and track down this elusive attraction and on our first try, couldn't find it at all. After tourist info assured us it was still around but had moved, we went back to try and find it and our persistence paid off.
The model is very good and worth a look at, but the best bit was the treasure hunt!
Although this was the sort of thing we used to do when our son was little, we paid our 8 euros for a map and booklet and off we went in search of clues!
My husband and I had such fun, it took us all afternoon ( with a few beer stops on the way) but we got to see the whole of San Gim and more than we would have done by just randomly walking around, plus we found out about all sorts of little bits of history that we wouldn't have known otherwise. Some of the clues were a bit lost in translation, but and excellent way to spend an afternoon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice city”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very nice city and all is near by good restaurants and nice places to visit very friendly people there are also very nice cities around

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Gimignano 1300 also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to San Gimignano 1300? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing