We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find off the main drag”
Review of Peruca'

Peruca'
Reserve with
Peruca' is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 128 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Price range: $25 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: In the wondefoul medieval walled hill of San Gimignano, and its Beatiful Towers, the Perucà Restaurants is waiting for you to discover the authentic delicious Tuscan cuisine made respecting the medieval tradition. This restourant, located in the cellars of one of the oldest building palace, invited you in un amazing and delicious atmosphere of the ancient times.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great find off the main drag”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This restaurant was recommended in the guidebook that we took on our trip but when we got there , only 1 other table was taken. the restaurant is cave like in appearance. Owned by the chef, she has won many awards of her menus and we could see why.
The portions were nicely sized, the choice of smaller bottles of wine excellent and the service very good.
Would absolutely go again if we find ourselves in the town in the future

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,256
    684
    201
    79
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We ate here 2 nights out of our 3 night stay! The wild boar stew was my favourite along with pear and pecorino cheese pasta

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not the best experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Before our trip to Tuscany we wrote down names of the top restaurants according to Trip Advisor in San Gimignano. Strangely, Peruca' was the only one we were able to find (no map, no address). As an appetizer we ordered a selection of Tuscan appetizers. The dish was tasty but a bit overpriced. For the main, they didn’t have any of the dishes we originally picked and therefore we had to choose something else. My pasta with mushrooms and salsiccia was a bit dry and a steak, ordered as medium, came really rare in few places. After we were finished it took the waiter at least 20 minutes to collect our plates and the bill came only after we had asked three times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lussienka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic rustic Italian restaurant”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a fabulous meal there recently....there were 3 couples....food and ambiance was great.... Staff were very friendly and helpful as opposed to some other Italian staff we came across....house wine was fab too....would definitely recommend again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaVIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“They (justifiably) display their Trip Advisor ratting with pride!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This venue was chosen by our companions who had strolled past it earlier that day. A little bit off the main tourist street, they'd been surprised to find that a booking was needed, but the place was certainly very busy when we arrived.
The menu is quite extensive and the pricing is acceptable.
The food did seem to be rather salty for some of us, but none of us could fault the quality.
The wine was delivered and opened in a theatrical manner - and they're obviously very proud of their reputation within San Gimignano. It was a fine meal with great service - attentive without being overbearing) and I would recommend highly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timmy9765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peruca' also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Peruca'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing