We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view - great food - gluten free options”
Review of Le Vecchie Mura

Le Vecchie Mura
Ranked #12 of 129 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful view - great food - gluten free options”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a great dinner at Le Vecchie Mura, the garden is great with beautiful views! The service was good - better make a reservation in advance. Without reservation you can wait in a small garden until you get seated. The restaurant provides a separate gluten free menu and deales very professionell with the special needs of a celiac.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    463
    118
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirribili
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Romantic, amazing view, Tuscan food”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful evening, amazing food, stunning views. The pasta with walnut was incredible!

Certainly a special place to spend the night

Helpful?
Thank Karen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2 with breathtaking view”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I made a reservation for this restaurant a week in advance via email. Im very glad I did, the restaurant was almost full when we arrived and numerous tourists had to be sent away. The view is amazing - breathtaking. We also really enjoyed the food! It took a while to order and to receive the food but this gave us time to enjoy the great location. The only little downside was some of the service staff - very arrogant. All credit cards are accepted - if we are ever in San Gimignano again, we will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandradB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A great must do experience with just good food and a very good service”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

firstly lets get the food question out of the way as I found reviews contradictory when I was deciding whether to go here. This is very good to just good Italian homestyle simple cooking. which in what may sound like a contradiction to some is designed to be produced in a mass manufactured fashion. if your main concern is a gourmet meal or top-quality Italian food do not come here. Having said that we really enjoyed our meal.

What sets this restaurant apart is the outdoor garden section which overlooks beautiful Tuscan landscape rolling away below as far as the eye can see in each direction. What is even more beautiful as is the case everywhere in Sun Gimignano is that as a light changes towards dusk and sunset the landscape is beautiful a new as if you were at some different location.

The service also that we received was very efficient, professional and friendly. Our waiter (the young man with the Polish girlfriend) was a delight and the maitre d' was extremely professional if in a no-nonsense way. I had booked online over a month before and had not reconfirmed so when I saw that the restaurant was full as we approached and that people were being turned away I was a little apprehensive that we may have been written off.

Exactly the opposite was true. Without even needing to look at his bookings the maitre d' took as to one of the best seats in the house on the edge of the balcony overlooking the valley which said to us that he respected the fact that we had booked so early as he obviously were very keen to eat there.

To sum up – a wonderful and memorable experience we will remember for the rest of our lives.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
548 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Outdoor seating has great views”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We've eaten here before so were looking forward to the return visit. The evening started out well with outdoor seating reservations being made the day prior. The black truffle risotto was excellent having small bits of truffles throughout the dish. The anti-pasta plate was also good.. Next came the main course. My wife had a wild boar plate. I ordered the deer plate. Boar and game dishes are a specialty of Tuscany. While both tasted very good, I was about half way through my meal when I found a long hair in my meal. Totally turned me off for the rest of the dinner.

We will return to San Gimignano in the future. We probably won't return to this establishment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vecchie Mura also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Le Vecchie Mura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing