We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View...Average Food...”
Review of Le Vecchie Mura

Le Vecchie Mura
Ranked #12 of 129 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Seattle
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic View...Average Food...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My rating is based on the VIEW and the service...both were fantastic! The food was average Tuscan fare. We made a reservation, which was a good idea because we got a table right on the wall overlooking the valley below San Gimignano. We were there for the sunset and the moon rise! The service was very good and we were well taken care of. I would highly recommend Le Vecchie Mura for at least one dinner in San Gimignano....there is better food! but no better view!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    463
    118
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Fabulous atmosphere, great pasta, spectacular panoramic view with outdoor dining on terrace. Popular restaurant, not easy to find. Reservations a must along with map.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FranktCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have visited this restaurant on three different holidays when we have been lucky enough to visit San Gimignano. The food is superb, the service is friendly and the location is incredible. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting San Gimignano.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RelleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning terrace with beautiful panoramic views”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a nice experience here but this was mainly due to the setting. The views are wonderful and certainly enhance the food. However, I found the staff to be a little unfriendly. There was a distinct lack of interaction with customers, even those who made a huge attempt to converse with them in Italian. The menu was good and the food was tasty although I found the portions to be a little small. Despite enjoying my food and the the venue, there was a little something lacking in the atmosphere. I am sure it will continue to succeed because of the geographical location but if this restaurant was not in such a prime location it would not be full. I don't believe it is the food that will lure people. The pulling power of this place is the location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serentity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Headed here after checking its high ranking on tripadvisor - we sat inside rather than out on the terrace - very nice brick arched ceiling - rather like a cellar but well lit and a nice atmosphere. Unfortunately, the staff were really quite grumpy and un-welcoming - maybe they had had a long hard day, but still, not great compared with other restaurants we'd been to - had to wait 15 minutes before anyone arrived to offer us a drink. Still menu was excellent and a little bit different too. Food was a bit of a mixed bag - they bought the wrong bruchetta starter and the garlic bread was almost inedibly strongly flavoured with very raw garlic - and we love garlic! Overall the main courses were lovely - but not spectacular. Left without having a desert (or leaving a tip) Shame, as it was the most expensive meal of our visit and can only assume it was an off day for them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vecchie Mura also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Le Vecchie Mura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing