We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Guardastelle
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver bc
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed in this Agriturismo B&B near San Gimignano for 3 nights May 2010 and wish we had planned a longer visit. Not only was it a perfect spot with lovely views but
the rooms were excellent and only 3 mins by car from San Gimignano itself.
They have their own wine tasting room which hosts bus tours from
time to time but this in no way interfered with us.
Surrounded by vineyards and olive trees gave us a true feeling of Tuscany, and
you are central to many other villages and towns including Siena.
San Gimignano is a lovely old town and being so near we were able to
visit before and after all the other tourists which was a definitely plus.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
164
377
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

a wonderful location, 20 minutes walk from the beautiful town of San Gim which you can see from the breakfast terrace ! accomodation, both self-catering and hotel rooms, all high standard, set in beautiful grounds full of flowers and shrubs, and beyond are the grapevines from which the estate produces its high quality wines. a very friendly welcome from suzanne and fausto, their house is set in pretty Tuscan scenery.
we will be back !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vera022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Not long back from a fantastic week in Tuscany - whilst the weather wasn't always the best the warm welcome and generous hospitality from Susanna, Fausto and Roberta could not have been beaten!
The property has hotel B&B accomodation in 5 rooms in the main house, and a further 5 self-catering appartments (1-3 bedrooms) in the grounds. We opted to stay in one of the appartments and it was great - really well appointed, spotlessly clean and with it's own outdoor seating area under a pergola. There is also a beautiful swimming pool with fantastic views of the Tuscan hills and plenty of sun loungers.
When you're staying there make sure you do the wine tour and wine tasting (the property is set in the middle of a vineyard and Susanna and Fausto produce their own white and red wines (Vernaccia and Chianti), as well as delicious olives!
The property is just down from San Gimignano, and rather than driving we walked up most evenings for dinner. It takes less than 15 mins up the ancient Via Veccio (it's easier coming back down hill at the end of the evening!!) Closer by is the Da Pode restaurant in the hotel by the bottom of the drive. It serves traditional Tuscan food and we had a couple of great meals - strongly recommend the Fiorentine steak which is basically an enormous T Bone steak to be shared by 2+ people.
San Gimignano is almost midway between Florence and Siena - it takes less than 1 hour to get to either. If you're driving up to Florence go in from the Firenze-Certosa exit as this route takes you via the Piazalle Michelangelo which gives fantastic views down over Florence. Other nice trips are to Montereggione, Montalcino (for the Brunello red wine!), Castellina in Chianti, loads of other places, just point the car and go!!
It was always great though to come back to Guardastelle at the end of the day.

Thanks again to Susanna, Fausto and Roberta!! Hope to see you again soon

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Guardastelle was everything we had hoped and more. We cannot wait to go back.
First of all, Susanna and Fausto were fantastic and warm hosts and were flexible to our needs. The property was about a 20 min walk or 2 min drive to town, which was perfect and the surrounding hills are breathtaking. We stayed in the "Perseo" apartment which was maintained to very high standards and fully equipped. The entire property is meticulously maintained. We had an olive oil and wine tasting on the deck over looking the view and enjoyed the delicious breakfast in the common dining room.
San Gimignano was a great landing point to just hang out or day tip to neighbouring towns and villages.
We would highly recommend Guardastelle.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

Pulling up to Guarastelle was simply amazing, you are surrounded by the Tuscan hills and vineyards with an amazing view of San Gimignano. The owners, Susana and Fausto were very hospitable and spoke English very well. We were welcome to roam around their beautiful property and enjoed a bottle of their own wine and delicious olive oil. They were located just a short walk from San Gimignano. It is a must if you plan on visiting Tuscany and San Gimignano, we are planning to return shortly!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

We booked Guardastelle, after researching on the internet.
We went there in December and we loved it.
Weather was beautiful but cold and coming back at night to the appartment was just what we were dreaming of.
Suzanna and Fausto were excellent hosts, they have a small baby as well.
They offered a breakfast on the first day, and some wine.
We even have something as unusual as deep snow, 15 cm in one night.
We took beautiful pictures of Tuscany and san gimignano under the snow.
My husband needed in internet and Suzanna provided us with a cable.
Thanks again for you warm welcome and newxt time we will go in the summer ;-)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bidibule13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#6 of 111 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
4.2 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Guardastelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Guardastelle

Property: Agriturismo Guardastelle
Address: Localita Sovestro, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo is a working farm with accomodation. A farm stay! You'll be welcome by the owners in a rustic and typical Tuscan style rennovated house. We're at only 1 km away from San Gimignano, Tuscany. Wine tour and taste of our own products. Cooking lessons for guests. Come to visit us, we are waiting you!! Fausto & Susanna ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Guardastelle Hotel San Gimignano
Agriturismo Guardastelle San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing