We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful-Great Accommodation and Winery Tour”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Guardastelle
Certificate of Excellence
Bathurst, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful-Great Accommodation and Winery Tour”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in October 2013 and had a winery tour as well. Despite it raining for most of our time there, we had an amazing time. The accommodation overlooked the vineyard and olive trees as well as the valley. The accommodations were tastefully set out and very comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and of a very high quality. Staff were wonderful and helpful. The area itself was great and easy to access the village of San Gimignano. We didn't have a car and were travelling by rail. The staff easily arranged a taxi to meet us at the bus station and so getting there was not difficult. We felt it was good value for money. We highly recommend staying as well as the winery tour and lunch.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank narayansmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear "narayansmate",
many thanks for your visit, I hope that if you came back some day the weather will be milder.
Next time a nice cooking class at Guardastelle will avoid to go in town for dinner ;-)

All the best,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
178
395
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

One night at Guardastelle turned into two, then three nights. Our time there was relaxing, peaceful, and at the same time energizing. Our lovely room was comfortable with great views, the walk into San Gimignano offered jaw-dropping views and provided us with good exercise. The whole experience was refreshing - Fausto and Suzanne were warm, welcoming and gracious. We were spending a month in an apartment in Cortona and these days at Guardastelle gave us our first visit to this truly wonderful agriturisimo. I have no reservations about recommending Guardastelle. - it was really a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear "SMCW5",
it seems that your first time in a Tuscan agriturismo was good!
Many many thanks for your visit and your review, which is your first!

I know you already spent a month in Tuscany but I hope that you'll be back soon! Next time you'll find a nice cooking class at Guardastelle made by me and Susanna!

Regards,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Guardastelle was exactly what we pictured Tuscany to be and more! Great wine, food and olive oil picturesque surroundings, beautiful view of medieval San Giminano and great accommodations. We're were very pleased with our room and bathroom. Very clean, helpful and friendly staff made our stay very enjoyable. We had a minor issue with our air conditioning unit dripping one day but the staff made sure this was taken care of promptly and we had no further problems. Also we had two two year olds with us and the owners were very accommodating with allowing us to use the fridge for milk etc if needed. The pool is beautiful and breakfast is great. The owners Fausto and Susanna really make you feel welcome and at ease. An overall great experience. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: All the apartments were booked for my visit but would definitely consider this next time with a youn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADRDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear "ADRDAD",
this year we had some problems with air condition. We try to guarantee always the best service as the place is not very big (I mean regarding how many rooms we have) is not possible to move guests in another room like in a big hotel. That's why we always try to be very fast in fixing problems!
This year we're thinking to install small fridge in each room, so....a little but useful upgrade.

I really hope you'll come again to stay with us. In the meantime stay tuned on the fan page on Facebook for offers!

Regards,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at another local lodge but visited here for a couple of hours for a wine tasting after reading about it on TripAdvisor. It was breathtaking, serene and even more beautiful than I'd seen in photos before visiting Tuscany.

The Tuscan countryside views from the property are 360 degrees which was amazing. The vineyards were gorgeous and, in late October, showing signs of fall reds. They even had some grapes still on them which were sweet and delicious.

I can't speak for the lodging accommodations but the outdoor restaurant/property was absolutely ideal and picturesque to the nines. The view of San Gimignano was unbeatable and if it stays the same…someday, I would love to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingGirl512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear "GlobetrottingGirl512",
thank you so much for your visit. I can garantie that also inside Guardastelle reflect the beauty of our region! So I'll wait you back!
The grapes you saw in the vineyards is because thanks the manual harvest we can choose only what is really ripe and maybe come back after few days to harvest what was left.

Best regards and keep follow us on the Facebook fan page!
Ciao
Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

It was our first trip to Italy and we spent a wonderful day visiting the winery and the area. The whole day was fantastic. The day at the winery was filled with friendly people. The staff was accommodating, the food was delicious and we loved the wines, the selection and the quality. And the olive oil was delicious as well! We will definitely return the next time we are in Tuscany and we will also be ordering more products over the internet. Memories of our day there will last a lifetime and we cannot wait to be back for a visit....next time for a longer visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear "saf1214",
seems that everything was delicious....you just missed to try a room with a nap!
So it's a good excuse to come back!!

Thank you so much for your visit and review.
See you again,
Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent two nights in Guardastelle and we had a wonderful time. The owners were very friendly and one of the few people you will meet in Italy speaking so good English. They were happy to answer all our questions and provide infos about the sight-seeing and restaurants. The room was comfortable and clean but you can never avoid nature's effects-small insects. Value for money one of the best agritouristic we met in Tuscany and we searched a lot of them. During our stay we had the chance to participate in one of the wine tours. It was an educated experience and we tasted their very good own products (wine, and olive oil). There is a 15' of a beautiful and safe walk to San Gimignano where you can enjoy the view and drink an espresso. The breakfast was good (international) but not included in the price maybe because there were not many people staying there. There was an everyday room service and the pool was also clean although the weather did not help us to try it out. Finally, the view was great (we could see the village from our room) and the garden was very well cared. Regards from Greece, it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear "maria t",
do you think my English is so good? GRAZIE!
It's a pleasure to help my guests to discover my region and invite them to try our fine cuisine.

In your specific case breakfast was not included in the room rate as you had a very special rate, one of those offer that probably we'll never do again! But who knows....so keep following us on our social media accounts!! ;-)

All my best,
Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We just returned from a marvelous stay at Gaurdastelle. It was our first time in the hill towns, and Agriturismo Gaurdestelle was the perfect place to stay for our vacation. My husband, 2 little kids (2 and 1) and I stayed in one of the apartments, and the view from our front door is exactly what you picture when you think of Tuscany. The grounds are gorgeous and well-maintained. It was the perfect location to explore San Gimignano and surrounding hill towns (we did day trips to Volterra and Montepulciano). Fausto and Susanna were so welcoming to our family. My 1 year-old immediately took Fausto's hand and let him walk her around. Thank you for a memorable stay, and we hope to return someday!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear "ETK88",
the view from ANTILIA's terrace is really beautiful and I'm glad that you enjoyed. Except San Gimignano many other towns are close for a worth visit, even Florence and Sienna!

Your baby is beautiful! I really hope to see her again....and you of course! ;-)
Thank you so much for your visit and this review, very helpful!

Grazie mille,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,192 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,275 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 30 in San Gimignano
612 reviews
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 107 in San Gimignano
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Guardastelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Guardastelle

Property: Agriturismo Guardastelle
Address: Localita Sovestro, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo is a working farm with accomodation. A farm stay! You'll be welcome by the owners in a rustic and typical Tuscan style rennovated house. We're at only 1 km away from San Gimignano, Tuscany. Wine tour and taste of our own products. Cooking lessons for guests. Come to visit us, we are waiting you!! Fausto & Susanna ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Guardastelle Hotel San Gimignano
Agriturismo Guardastelle San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing