We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, delicious food and service to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cum Quibus

Cum Quibus
Reserve with
Cum Quibus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 126 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $90
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
St Albans
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful, delicious food and service to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by a local shop keeper having asked, "where is the best place to eat fresh pasta?". And we weren't disappointed, the food was exquisite, each course a minor masterpiece (see photos) and extremely tasty into tha bargain. We ate in the courtyard, which had a nice atmosphere, buzzy without feeling cramped. I would recommend taking an extra layer of clothing just in case, as it did get cold.

The service was also extremely good, friendly, efficient and generous (extra slices of truffle without asking).

Overall, it was the best overall meal we had during 10 days in Rome/ Tuscany.

Price wise it also very reasonable (especially when compared to the UK!).

We were lucky to get a table, so I recommend booking.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,243
    442
    79
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Def the best in san gimi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Make a reservation in advance. The best in this small town. Eat a truffel menu, this is amazing! The service is nice and you can sit inside and outside ( but who cares when the food is that good ;))

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, highlight of our Tuscany trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Hidden away from the tourist traps in San Gimignano is this gorgeous little restaurant. This was without a doubt the food highlight of our trip. If you are looking for traditional Tuscan food, gorgeous wine, great service, in a relaxed setting, this is where you should go. The quality of the produce meant these simple dishes stood out. Make sure you book before you go (we were lucky on the day, but were later told there is up to a 1 year wait list)!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VixG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best meal this trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Hidden off a busy thoroughfare in San Gimignano. Has a cute back garden for dining but as it was rather full when we arrived, we were seated up front. Our waiter was friendly and didn't rush us as we salivated over the description of all the dishes. We eventually settled on a fried egg with truffle as a starter, then some pick with ragu as well as a pappardelle with chingiale. While waiting for the pastas, our waiter brought over a portion of tagliorini with generous shavings of truffle "to try". Then when we ordered coffee, he brought some tiramisu, again "to try". Finally, when we had paid our bill, he gave us some house-made biscotti for our car ride to Florence. In case, we hadn't eaten enough.......... loved the whole experience. Bravo!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevermissameal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic once again!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

What an amazing restaurant we would love to thank Lorenzo,Simona,Raffaele & Sofia for another wonderful evening or should we say two evenings as we just couldn't keep away! We visited in 2013 & Cum Quibus was our first stop on our return to San Gimignano! We just could not believe that Lorenzo remembered us & we got a lovely welcome back glass of prosecco what a lovely touch! The food was every thing we remembered exceptional is the word to describe it! The standard of the food & service is second to none & you really must visit it would be a real sin not too believe me!! We will be back next year & really look forward to seeing everyone thank you Lorenzo for our gorgeous bottle of chianti your kindness was greatly appreciated! Jayne & Paul. X

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cum Quibus also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Cum Quibus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing