We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cum Quibus

Cum Quibus
Reserve with
Cum Quibus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 127 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $90
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best restaurant of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was the best restaurant of our holiday to Tuscany this year. I packed our trip full of highly rated restaurants and this one was definitely best in terms of food and service. We had a table in the courtyard and the atmosphere was lovely. They greeted us with a glass of prosecco and we had the most fantastic food (I went for all truffle options which meant extra shavings of black truffle halfway through the meal - amazing!). This is a must. San Gim is really busy, hot and touristy but actually I would make a trip for this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 115Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,241
    442
    79
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Number One... definitely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

The food is fanatic. Trufflers paradise, but dishes are not overwhelmingly truffly as other places.

The pairings are amazing and the service is incredible. The waitress even caught up with us at the parking lot outside of town to give us a shopping bag we had forgotten. Also the price is very very reasonable!

Helpful?
3 Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heppenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
331 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“We were lucky: the last day before winter closure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

For someone who learned that minced meat sauce of Spaghetti Bolognese is called in Italian is ragout will be most disappointed. Ragout has nothing to do with the Spaghetti Bolognese. And I never had before better self-made pasta with a ragout of beef and bacon. Wonderful. We experienced a very nice service (selection and choice of Grappa) and very good food. Who had no chance to see this restaurant should not tell friends that they have ever been in San Gimignano. And if you have not tried their Bruschetta Tuscany style (more than just tomato and onions on bread...) do not tell anyone you have ever been in the Tuscay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeinBloed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stumbled across the restaurant one evening and managed to get a table without a reservation. The setting in a courtyard is very pleasant and the service is friendly and attentive. The food is very good and we were brought extra things to try during the course of the meal. The restaurant has a well deserved reputation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We visited as we had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and we went with high expectations which were exceeded. Everything was outstanding. The setting in the courtyard is lovely but it is the staff which make this restaurant. Lorenzo is a star and deserves to do well. Nothing is too much trouble and his wine tips are faultless. We made a bad choice by not following his advice as we wanted to try a particular wine but he came up with another bottle, which was divine. The food is inventive and truffles abound but can be avoided if this not your thing. For me the ultimate dish was the baked pear with pecorino ice-cream, I can taste it now.
Book early as you won't get in on the day. We went back for a second meal and my brother who stayed for longer went back a third time! We are seriously thinking of going back just to go to this restaurant that's how good it is and we are lucky to eat at top London restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pickyvisitor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cum Quibus also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Cum Quibus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing