We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wines, pretty vineyard”

Fattoria San Donato
Ranked #51 of 130 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wines, pretty vineyard”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The wines from this vineyard are great value and seriously good. The Vernaccia was one of the best we tried.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate_Mollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    15
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

After about 10 complicated and unsuccessful phone calls to other farms asking for an afternoon of wine sampling and a bite to eat, Umberto at Fattoria San Donato gladly invited us down for some wine and 'a bit of food'. After driving about 10 minutes out of San Gimignano we arrived at the beautiful farm to be greeted by Umberto himself and led upstairs into a gorgeous old farmhouse. Here, we found a huge table set just for the two of us complete with four bottles of wine to sample and a fantastic variety of food all produced at the farm. Umberto took us through how best to taste the wines and explained which drop matched which food. Following that, he took us into the cellar to give us a history of the farm. We paid 12 Euros each! It was so fantastic we came back to the farm the next night for dinner which unlike the day before was packed to the rafters with guests. The food was never ending and absolutely delicious. We drank wine, vinsanto and grappa and sat at a big table with other people from all over the world. I got the feeling Umberto made his prices up on the spot which made the whole experience feel very casual and seeing as they were more than reasonable (and we were there in peak season) I can't speak highly enough of Fattoria San Donato.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful homemade food”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed at San Donato for three days, and the homemade food and wine was absolutely splendid.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn_Ove_Thue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We have been to FSD twice for their...”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We have been to FSD twice for their lunch/wine tasting in the backyard garden, once with a tour group and once with a small group of friends. Both experiences were wonderful. All the food was fresh and wonderfully prepared. The lunch buffet included delicious, fresh, locallly grown vegetables, meats and cheeses of the region, and of course, wine from the Fattoria. The Vernaccia is spectacular and very reasonably priced; we bought a case to go. During the tasting, Frederica's presentation was very good, describing how each wine is made. Our visits to FSD have been a highlight of our trip to Italy, and we can hardly wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“we stayed here for three...”
Reviewed September 16, 2009

we stayed here for three nights on our recent trip to Italy and had dinner and lunch. Outstanding food, much of it fresh from the farm or from local merchants and excellent wine and olive oil. Federica and Umberto were gracious and excellent hosts.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fattoria San Donato also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Fattoria San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing