We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fabio Apartments San Gimignano
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Fantastic apartment with excellent service”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Spent over a week in the apartment Contessa for our honeymoon, and we had the time of our life! The apartment is huge, with everything you need for a great vacation! Old and historical building, the floor in the bedroom is original, so when one get up in the morning it's time to walk around on 800 year old floor. Despite the age the apartment is so fresh and welcoming!

Even more welcoming is the owner Fabio though, I don't think we've ever met such a positive and fantastic person in our life! He picked us up in Poggibonsi when we arrived with the train, and then drove us all the way back to San Gimignano. Then he spent close to 90 minutes in the apartment, giving us all the information we needed about the apartment, about San Gimignano, about the surroundings, about how to get where, when to eat what, where to buy that. I never met anyone so service minded! Not to mention that he took the time to drive all the way to San Gimignano from his place in Poggibonsi to open up the apartment, when I had managed to forget the apartment key inside the apartment when I went out...

The location of the apartments are fantastic, just in the middle of the central parts of San Gimignano. The cathedral is around the corner, the Torre Grossa too, as well as shops, restaurants, post office and more and more and more. The bus station, from where one can take the bus to Florence and Siena, is just 6-7 minutes away.

We'll definitely come back to Fabio's apartments, both to stay there but also to meet up with Fabio and his daughter Sara again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrikLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    29
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
115
143
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Fabio and Sara were a highlight of our stay. Friendly informative and so welcoming. La Contessa is a perfect place to stay right in the heart of this wonderful town. Our full day trip to Volterra was well worth the effort on two busses. Just be aware if you have bad knees there are two flights of stairs and three very steep steps to the kitchen. Otherwise a wonderful home for a week for two Aussies

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turningwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I should have wirtten this review long ago, but I see from the other reviews there isn't much new I can say. Nevertheless - thank you, Fabio, and your beautiful daughter! You have been a fantastic host!
We stayed (4 of us) in one of Fabio's two apartments in September 2012 and I was truly surprised how clean, comfortble, spacious and romantic the apartment is. Fabio and his daughter were absolutely helpful with everything - there really isn't what more to say that was not said before us. We just want to confirm it and reassure everyone looking at this place that it will be a perfect choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandajukova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a long overdue review! We stayed here in 2012 on the Tuscan leg of our Italy trip. We had a fantastic time in San Gimignano and really enjoyed the Italian country side. This town is central enough that you could do day trips to Florence, Sienna, Pisa and a bunch of small and medium sized towns/cities in between.

Sarah was fantastic and gave us a ton of information about the area and where to eat. She went above and beyond in helping us get settled. We didn't get the chance to meet Fabio until the end of our stay and like his daughter, he was kind and helpful in getting us back on the road.

The apartment was way bigger than we thought it would be. Very spacious and almost right in the centre of town so we could enter and exit via either main gate. They also had a well equipped kitchen and a parking spot for our rental car. All in all a great option if you want to be able to sample some of the things you can pick up at the weekly farmers' market. Don't miss out on that although some of the vendors can get a bit touchy if you take a photo for some reason...

The only thing I would improve upon to make this a 5 star would be the internet connection and warming up the apartment a bit. It doesn't have direct sun light so can get a bit chilly and the internet connection was very difficult to connect to. Not a huge deal but would be nice to be able to make some Skype calls to family and friends if you are staying there for a while.

Would definitely recommend this place though, it's a perfect base for the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMore33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our third stay. Fabio's apartments, situated in the centre of San Gimignano, a world heritage Tuscan Hill town, are ideally situated for access to all the town has to offer, and believe us there is so much to see and do. The apartments, fully furnished and spacious, provide that home away from home experience. Added to this is Fabio and his family's warmth and helpfulness in getting guests settled and oriented with the town and the attractions and the best places to see around the country side.

Buses link the town to Sienna, Florence, to name the major cities, which are available from the front gates of the city, a seven minute walk from the apartments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place was a very pleasant surprise. The service of Fabio and Sarah was way above excellent. The apartment was just perfect for my sister, niece and I we had a great time. We were picked up by Fabio and Sarah at the train station they assisted with our bags then showed us all the services the apartment had to offer which was plenty of room in the apartment it was very clean and just the perfect location. We would go back to this apartment again and again and recommend it to ours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this on the internet, and we were concerned it would not be good, how wrong we were. From the time we arrived there was help at hand from Fabio & Sara. Sara spent quite a long time explaining what was available and helping with what we wanted to see, she even booked our first evening meal for us. We stayed in La Contessa and it was home from home. San Gimignano is a charming place to stay, and it is very busy through the day, but by staying there we could travel around through the day and then it was quite after around 16.00 and it was easy to see everything without the crowds. We were there in Sept for 6 nights and we would happily go back today. Many thanks Fabio & Sara for all you help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Pozzo dei Desideri
Al Pozzo dei Desideri
#18 of 66 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de' Potenti
Casa de' Potenti
#60 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Appartementi Casa la Torre - Nomipesciolini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabio Apartments San Gimignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabio Apartments San Gimignano

Property: Fabio Apartments San Gimignano
Address: Piazza del Duomo, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Fabio Apartments San Gimignano 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a central position, but also surrounded by a rare and precious silence, our apartments offer the unique feeling of an ancient building with all the comfort of modern amenities. Car parking is not a problem. On your arrival you will be given a special access permit to reach our apartments. For every apartment a private garage is available few metres far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fabio Apartments San Gimignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabio Apartments San Gimignano Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing